gate keeping

This is very unfortunate simply because one didn't get a B in English in KCSE, some requirements need to be thrown out.

Why gatekeep yet there's nothing special by being a lawyer?

A man with three university degrees has lost his battle to become an advocate.

Paul Maina completed his law degree from Riara University in July 2023 with second class upper division.

He is also a 2015 graduate of Egerton University, with a Bachelor of Commerce (Banking and Finance option) and where scored second class upper division.

Maina also earned a Master of Business Administration (Strategic Management) degree from Mount Kenya University July 9, 2022.

He applied to be admitted for the advocates training programme at the Kenya School of Law, a one-year prerequisite for one to be called to the bar.

But KSL declined his application, telling him that his low scores in English and Kiswahili in his KCSE exam were inadmissible.

Maina scored a mean grade of C+ in KCSE and C- in English and B-in Kiswahili, the key subjects whose minimum scores determine legal training.

He got admission at Riara for the law degree in 2019 while pursuing his master’s degree at Mount Kenya University.

According to the Kenya School of Law Act, admission to the advocates training programme requires a valid law degree, a minimum KCSE grade of C+ and a B plain in English or Kiswahili.

Upon his rejection by KSL, Maina appealed at the Legal Education Tribunal arguing that the school outstepped its bounds in its decision.

The tribunal eventually held that the law requires an applicant for ATP must demonstrate that they have a law degree and the mandatory KCSE scores.

I thought in this era such laws need to be repelled.

Amooti

Saw some brave things in Uganda. If you are businessman doing well in business and you were say a primary school dropout and you wanted to join a university to study business related courses, they just interview for language proficiency and admit you.
In Uganda still, if you were a traditional midwife and has been delivering kids for a certain time, and you wanted to study in a related field they will admit you to their nursing schools.
This is the right way to do things. Hii ya kukwamilia certificates that you have overcome already is none sense.

algorithm

KSL is right. The law is the law and must be followed.

Maina scored a mean grade of C+ in KCSE and C- in English and B-in Kiswahili, the key subjects whose minimum scores determine legal training.

According to the Kenya School of Law Act, admission to the advocates training programme requires a valid law degree, a minimum KCSE grade of C+ and a B plain in English or Kiswahili.

algorithm

If you are businessman doing well in business and you were say a primary school dropout and you wanted to join a university to study business related courses, they just interview for language proficiency and admit you.
In Uganda still, if you were a traditional midwife and has been delivering kids for a certain time, and you wanted to study in a related field they will admit you to their nursing schools.
This is the right way to do things. Hii ya kukwamilia certificates that you have overcome already is none sense.
So the successful hawkers and mitumba sellers should be appointed to head the treasury? And the successful miti shamba, mganga kutoka Kwale types to head ministry of health?

We already have petrol station attendants who don't know the difference between GDP and population growth headed to be ambassadors. Maybe making money is their talent so we shouldn't expect them to know commonsense economics.