Fever ya Kujenga

Dranya

Vipi Wadau,

I am a resident who made a decision to rent a house in one of the areas where majority of neighbors are people who own their houses or have idle land lying there. For icognito purposes, naishi Riverside, ama Kitengela, ama Utawala ama Syokimau ama Lukenya.

Sasa kizungumkuti ni nearly all my close friends or family members had bought plots / pieces of land close to where I live and ni kama wote wameambiana it is time to jenga.

What I can say so far is good progress to them, and this has made me to re-think if should join the band wagon and try get a plot within metropolitan ama I decide to go to Nakuru where I have a ka shamba and build there.

Wife ndio huyo ameniweka pressure on how she can get some 600k somewhere, I look for cash to top up and we look for a plot karibu na Nairobi.

Is this pressure worth it wadau? Nimemsho we go with our own pace ndio we get a better place and avoid buying a plot with more than 3 people claiming to be possessing it but amekuwa na pressure kibao sana.

Mnaona aje?

Anyway, kwa mada yako ningekwambia kwamba there is satisfaction that comes from owning your own place and seeing the avocado seedling you planted in the corner grow and start giving you fruits. It gives you a sense of accomplishment and the motivation to do even more.

Vipi Wadau,

I am a resident who made a decision to rent a house in one of the areas where majority of neighbors are people who own their houses or have idle land lying there. For icognito purposes, naishi Riverside, ama Kitengela, ama Utawala ama Syokimau ama Lukenya.

Sasa kizungumkuti ni nearly all my close friends or family members had bought plots / pieces of land close to where I live and ni kama wote wameambiana it is time to jenga.

What I can say so far is good progress to them, and this has made me to re-think if should join the band wagon and try get a plot within metropolitan ama I decide to go to Nakuru where I have a ka shamba and build there.

Wife ndio huyo ameniweka pressure on how she can get some 600k somewhere, I look for cash to top up and we look for a plot karibu na Nairobi.

Is this pressure worth it wadau? Nimemsho we go with our own pace ndio we get a better place and avoid buying a plot with more than 3 people claiming to be possessing it but amekuwa na pressure kibao sana.

Mnaona aje?
Just go by her idea, one day you will not only own you own house but the trust and family bond hutasahau ! Hurry up my brother !

Dranya

Anyway, kwa mada yako ningekwambia kwamba there is satisfaction that comes from owning your own place and seeing the avocado seedling you planted in the corner grow and start giving you fruits. It gives you a sense of accomplishment and the motivation to do even more.
Thanks mwarimu, this is the feeling I am longing for...

Not good. Go at your own pace. Dont give up to pressures, even if your partner is contributing whatever fraction it is, you are the sole person here, which I beleive you have good intentions. Live your life.
Understood Kiongos!

What are your long-term plans? What will you be doing in 10-15 years? Kama ni town or the farm then put up a house there.
To be honest sina long-term plans buda. My life has not had a manual for the past 10 years. If you asked me this question five years ago, I would have told you that all I want is to be alive, 2 years down the line, niko na ka bizna, then someone was very impressed by the way I served them kwa hiyo biz, kidogo kidogo akani ungamisha job ya kubeba ma gunia inda, then mdosi wa warehouse was impressed na job yangu. Sahi niko cooperate mse na ka managerial position all thanks to the most High and mama prayers. What I am trying to say is I am not planning to be a farmer but I am sure if I take that path, God will be my guidance and shield though it is not something I have decided yet that I want to pursue

Ramses

Wisdom right there.
@Ramses ulikua wapi 7yrs ago unipee hii advice
Learning from my mistakes brother, put up a pigsty in a far-flung duty station town, ingine nikaweka kwa rentals (singles and doubles) in kisurai, now am renting close to my farm while I always knew that 4th floor ingenipata kwa farm....... Though this pandemic hastened my move from town to the farm and lazima nijenge kwa farm

Budspencer

Learning from my mistakes brother, put up a pigsty in a far-flung duty station town, ingine nikaweka kwa rentals (singles and doubles) in kisurai, now am renting close to my farm while I always knew that 4th floor ingenipata kwa farm....... Though this pandemic hastened my move from town to the farm and lazima nijenge kwa farm
My dad's last born bro(sometimes called our first born bro) had his stars aligned. Was bright, made it, and now is now a well known and dependable neurosurgeon west of Kenya. Alijenga kwake like 20yrs back on a three-eighth piece of plot in the vicinity of MTRH. Sahii anasema it was a bad, bad decision and hates his house vibaya sana. Too much hooting and shooting around. Me thinks kufika is relative.

I will give you an overall picture since either way you're gonna put up a house.
My advise is, put up a nice bungalow, don't get excited and set up a big house.
Kumaliza isn't a joke.
Kitu size tu, that won't cost you alot. Do a lot of planning and research before starting.
All the best, always put your family first.

Not good. Go at your own pace. Dont give up to pressures, even if your partner is contributing whatever fraction it is, you are the sole person here, which I beleive you have good intentions. Live your life.
Let me steal you a little secret. Men, especially cautious men, fear making that first move. They need some pushing. I have been there and done that. Just Do It.

To the OP, look for a book called Shut Up, Stop Whining and Get a Life: A Kickbutt Approach to a Better Life. Read towards the end.

Vipi Wadau,

Mnaona aje?
Building an own house just to fit in with friends is a bad idea. Building should not subject you to financial and other stressors. A house does not count for much when your financial future is not secured. If you lost your job tomorrow with 1 million in cash, you will easily transition to your next hustle. If you did so with the money sunk into a building, you might end up selling the house at a loss. Build only when you can do so comfortably without jeopardizing your other life plans.