Expressway Test Runs:Ksh 440 For 7 Minutes

There is another factor in productivity we tend to ignore: time.

Saa zingine time may not be on your side, in such a situation, utatoboka tu. Ni kama kujaribu kuenda Busia na kadudu ndio usitumie mafuta mingi lakini kitambo ufike umechoka kama punda. Ungetumia a 2.4l Vanguard can get you there quicker and less fatigued, and probably having similar consumption figures to the dudu.

Only pay tolls when time is not on your side.
There is a bigger picture. If the owner of the expressway does not make the projected income, your taxes will be used to make up for the deficit, for thirty good years. In those thirty years, the government cannot undertake infrastructure developments that could affect negatively the earnings of the expressway. The most painful part is that up to Nyayo stadium, the expressway takes up space that could have been used for the future expansion of Mombasa road. In other words, it was possible to double the capacity of Mombasa road up to Nyayo stadium using the normal budget for infrastructure.

Kdawg254

There is a bigger picture. If the owner of the expressway does not make the projected income, your taxes will be used to make up for the deficit, for thirty good years. In those thirty years, the government cannot undertake infrastructure developments that could affect negatively the earnings of the expressway. The most painful part is that up to Nyayo stadium, the expressway takes up space that could have been used for the future expansion of Mombasa road. In other words, it was possible to double the capacity of Mombasa road up to Nyayo stadium using the normal budget for infrastructure.
Tulikuwa tuanambiwa there is no room for expansion that itabidi sijui wa demolish very many buildings akina sameer park,SG,Nextgen Mall etc then all of a sudden wamepata space wajenge barabara yao!

mkurugenzi

Tulikuwa tuanambiwa there is no room for expansion that itabidi sijui wa demolish very many buildings akina sameer park,SG,Nextgen Mall etc then all of a sudden wamepata space wajenge barabara yao!
Mombasa road was to be expanded like thika road by kina standard group, sameer etc opposed the project saying they dont want to lose their investments. That is why govt decided to build barabara/expressway ya gorofa. It helped govt fit mor lanes on the space and also avoid compensation ya all those buildings along mombasa road.

There is another factor in productivity we tend to ignore: time.

Saa zingine time may not be on your side, in such a situation, utatoboka tu. Ni kama kujaribu kuenda Busia na kadudu ndio usitumie mafuta mingi lakini kitambo ufike umechoka kama punda. Ungetumia a 2.4l Vanguard can get you there quicker and less fatigued, and probably having similar consumption figures to the dudu.

Only pay tolls when time is not on your side.
Pajero.

Wait for public outcry once the novelty wears off and city residents realize nothing has improved.

Mombasa road was to be expanded like thika road by kina standard group, sameer etc opposed the project saying they dont want to lose their investments. That is why govt decided to build barabara/expressway ya gorofa
Mdau , the specific part you are mentioning expressway (not on those fat pillars) iko chini if i am not wrong so the same number of lanes that are now would still have fitted .Ideally the viaduct ingeanza hapa Stantech / Mantrac .This way we would have accomodated BRT .Right now we have elevated road without BRT and the old road squeezed to even not fit BRT too and if they do only one lane will be left for other vehicles . Ask yourself how we can get rid of traffic if BRT will only be on Thika road .
NaMATA by design they have a line named Ndovu ,starts at Kangemi mpaka Imara Daima .Where will this dedicated lane be with the ordinary raia road ?
Am i making sense ?

Kdawg254

Mombasa road was to be expanded like thika road by kina standard group, sameer etc opposed the project saying they dont want to lose their investments. That is why govt decided to build barabara/expressway ya gorofa. It helped govt fit mor lanes on the space and also avoid compensation ya all those buildings along mombasa road.
But at both those places it passes down on the middle so means space was available there!

Kdawg254

Mdau , the specific part you are mentioning expressway (not on those fat pillars) iko chini if i am not wrong so the same number of lanes that are now would still have fitted .Ideally the viaduct ingeanza hapa Stantech / Mantrac .This way we would have accomodated BRT .Right now we have elevated road without BRT and the old road squeezed to even not fit BRT too and if they do only one lane will be left for other vehicles . Ask yourself how we can get rid of traffic if BRT will only be on Thika road . Am i making sense ?
Mwambie sycophancy requires some bit of intelligence!

Mr Black

I actually think it will be successfully challenged in court but let’s wait.
I hope the court also penalises everyone involved in birthing that useless monstrosity.

It is unjustifiable to choose going down a road that costs north of 100billion as a privately owned tollroad when taxpayers could have spent less than 40B to expand and improve the existing public road.

Leo kwa hustle hapa na pale nimejipata Westlands and specifically Naivas .I was surprised that the expressway contractor amefence the toll area inbound from the mall all the way past the mugumo tree . Right now Naivas ,Waumini house and oilcom service station hawana a service road .If the contractor manages to build a service road then there will be no on street parking . Right coming from the post office heading to Naivas lazima uingie oilcom service station .
The old public road inbound is sandwiched between the viaduct and the fence . So utashukishwa na matatu but then you are boxed and you have to walk back to what used to be the westlands roundabout . The expressway design is totally disregarding the common man .
The fence runs the entire length I have highlighted in red .
Interesting times ahead , anyway @QuadroK4000 ,I assume you are a regular user of waiyaki way . Stage ya Westlands itakuwa wapi now that the original place is fenced ?
Screenshot_20220329-215310~2.png

Leo kwa hustle hapa na pale nimejipata Westlands and specifically Naivas .I was surprised that the expressway contractor amefence the toll area inbound from the mall all the way past the mugumo tree . Right now Naivas ,Waumini house and oilcom service station hawana a service road .If the contractor manages to build a service road then there will be no on street parking . Right coming from the post office heading to Naivas lazima uingie oilcom service station .
The old public road inbound is sandwiched between the viaduct and the fence . So utashukishwa na matatu but then you are boxed and you have to walk back to what used to be the westlands roundabout . The expressway design is totally disregarding the common man .
Interesting times ahead , anyway @QuadroK4000 ,I assume you are a regular user of waiyaki way . Stage ya Westlands itakuwa wapi now that the original place is fenced ?
View attachment 58090
There is enough space huko juu from stage ya sarit hadi kwa roundabout, sio lazima you park opposite naivas or waimini hse

It's not about parking , it's how to access those business . Alafu stage itakuwa wapi .When did you last visit the area ?
Hii stage ya Sarit ni gani , ile iko Kwa highway next to safaricom or the one where there was a curio market ?

Kdawg254

View attachment 58090
Done same thing hapo Museum hill!
Vile ungetoka museum ushuke na hapo boulevard hotel ungilie town now you can’t do that without walking on the road (free).They have fenced right to the edge of the road leaving no walkway for pedestrians!

It's not about parking , it's how to access those business . Alafu stage itakuwa wapi .When did you last visit the area ?
Hii stage ya Sarit ni gani , ile iko Kwa highway next to safaricom or the one where there was a curio market ?
every weekday I use that road . You will access all those buildings by foot .
Will past a camera shot Kesho lala salama

The other problem is we are about to witness an increase in pedestrian deaths, wamefunga lots of places bila kupatia watu bridges. Sasa game nimeona next gen is people are crossing hapo mahali kuna toll gates, lakini the diverging and merging lanes zitahakikisha watu wamegongwa.
Uzuri hako ka fence won't last 6 months esp scrap ikifunguliwa