Equity in Big Trouble

Hackers Swipe Ksh 179 Million From Equity Bank Accounts In Massive Card Fraud Scandal
We got our hands on some interesting scoop — a letter leaked to us by a source inside Equity Bank. This letter was addressed to the Director of the Banking Fraud Investigations Department at the DCI. So, what's the big deal? Well, it turns out that Equity Bank is also caught up in a hacking mess just like Standard Chartered Bank. [If you missed StanChart post check it out here: http://tinyurl.com/yc6j7c22] Now, back to Equity Bank. The leaked letter reveals a shocking theft of Ksh 179,677,736 from 551 customers through debit card fraud. The bank's risk department noticed something fishy on April 15, 2024, with a sudden surge in transactions traced back to their MasterCard GL.

Between April 9th and 15th, hackers siphoned off over Ksh. 179 million fraudulently to these 551 accounts. The letter states: 'Early on April 15, 2024, the bank's risk department discovered an upsurge of transactions emanating from the bank's incoming MasterCard GL. Preliminary investigations revealed that between April 9th and April 15th, Ksh. 179,677,736 was paid out from the GL fraudulently to the 551 Equity Bank accounts.' Some Ksh. 63 million went to Safaricom Mpesa and Ksh. 39 million to eleven other banks. Equity Bank is now scrambling to track down where the money went and freeze it to keep it safe. They claim to have locked down over Ksh. 60 million in those 551 accounts and are urgently asking the Banking Fraud Investigations Department to catch the perpetrators. The letter is signed off by Gerald Munyiri, the General Manager of Security & Investigations at Equity Bank.

1713272375907.jpeg

Losing money with equity as an individual can be nightmarish experience. They never admit culpability and will not willingly volunteer evidence to show how the money was lost. They simply promise investigations that drag forever. Too many peasants have silently lost money with the bank.

Though the money is insured !

Mumeamua kumaliza senior citizens ama? Yaani mnakuanga mumetegea mtu ateleze kidogo tu apate blows? Tukuwe na subira kidogo. Hizi vitu zinachanganya sana.

Mimi hushangaa sana na how low the IQ of some Bonobos here is. Seriously, nikujifanya ama ni unugu ya kuzaliwa nayo?

Do you even know what AI is, @shocks, @wandahuhu, na hiyo nyang'au ingine?

Well, let me a 78-year old Guka explain it to you.

AI are super algorithms that can very quickly scan data and learn from it in real time. That data in the case of banks, may be the patterns of how people formula passwords. Or how banks encrypt data. Etc, etc.

Once AI learns from a large enough database, it will eventually be able to crack virtually any code or duplicate any online process. If you are named Shocks Nugu Jinga, born on 23/6/2002, in Gaconjoro, Kiambu, for example, AI can within seconds run all probable passwords you could come up with. Because humans are stupid to use simple thinking to come with passwords/names like Muthokinjo.

Let me give you another fairly basic example. An AI workhorse just needs 10×10 ×10×10, that is just 10,000 attempts, to get your Mpesa Pin number. It can try all of them in a millisecond. If it has any data on your past pins, this could go down to just 100 or so guesses coz it'll get a pattern in the way you formulate your Pins. And with a mirrored SIM card, your account will be cleaned.

Now imagine you nugus are being educated all this by a 79-year old geezer....

Mumeamua kumaliza senior citizens ama? Yaani mnakuanga mumetegea mtu ateleze kidogo tu apate blows? Tukuwe na subira kidogo. Hizi vitu zinachanganya sana.
Nani ameteleza? Mimi hushangaa sana..ama you are another who thinks AI only writes fake essays and funny jingles?

Mimi hushangaa sana na how low the IQ of some Bonobos here is. Seriously, nikujifanya ama ni unugu ya kuzaliwa nayo?

AI are super algorithms that can very quickly scan data and learn from it in real time. That data in the case of banks, may be the patterns of how people formula passwords. Or how banks encrypt data. Etc, etc.

Once AI learns from a large enough database, it will eventually be able to crack virtually any code or duplicate any online process. If you are named Shocks Nugu Jinga, born on 23/6/2002, in Gaconjoro, Kiambu, for example, AI can within seconds run all probable passwords you could come up with. Because humans are stupid to use simple thinking to come with passwords/names like Muthokinjo.

Let me give you another fairly basic example. An AI workhorse just needs 10×10 ×10×10, that is just 10,000 attempts, to get your Mpesa Pin number. It can try all of them in a millisecond. If it has any data on your past pins, this could go down to just 100 or so guesses coz it'll get a pattern in the way you formulate your Pins. And with a mirrored SIM card, your account will be cleaned.

Hehehehehe. Hapa sitacomment. But my 20 year-old computer can do everything you have just described.

Boss, these are very simple examples I have used. Of course any good coder can write a programme that does a certain level of 'AI'.

Current and future algorithms are/will be on another level.

Once those algorithms become self-aware and are somehow married with bio-systems that are self-powered and that can replicate humans will be history (think of a dog implanted with an AI chip that raises it's IQ to 500. Why would the dog want to stay in a kennel? Another simple examples)

Boss, these are very simple examples I have used. Of course any good coder can write a programme that does a certain level of 'AI'.

Current and future algorithms are/will be on another level.

Once those algorithms become self-aware and are somehow married with bio-systems that are self-powered and that can replicate humans will be history (think of a dog implanted with an AI chip that raises it's IQ to 500. Why would the dog want to stay in a kennel? Another simple examples)
You still get credit, on account of vintage and more so for the sake of peace.

Ole Waru

Dictionary, Rainbow tables and brute force attacks are not AI

Boss, I will not engage with little-dicked half-baked cofers who can't see basic sense.

So let me repeat for the last time.

By being able to learn progressively from huge datasets, AI will enable hackers to break into almost any system in real time.

It is already happening.

If you can't understand that then...

Boss, I will not engage with little-dicked half-baked cofers who can't see basic sense.

So let me repeat for the last time.

By being able to learn progressively from huge datasets, AI will enable hackers to break into almost any system in real time.

It is already happening.

If you can't understand that then...
Buda, a 9th century mathematician by the name Al-Kindi did a paper explaning how to break an encryption using what you are describing, the term is "frequency analysis". And there was no AI 1100 years ago. And the encryptions that can be broken using this method, called shift ciphers, are very elementary, they are not in use in the computer age