Ephraim Njenga is definitely a 'whinner'

It is being made to be. Mkulima mdogo hata hawezi zalisha mayai - the feeds too high. Soon maize will be a venture for a few large scale farmers who can mechanize and benefit from economies of scale.
Also increased theft of farm produce by unemployed youth. Where I come from people have given up on chicken farming since kijiji yote waliiba kuku wakamaliza, even avocados are no longer safe

It is being made to be. Mkulima mdogo hata hawezi zalisha mayai - the feeds too high.
What's our opinion on large scale farming being done by external entities in the guise of empowering locals such as Twiga Feeds and these guys doing commercial tilapia farming at the lake?

Hehe...wewe hujai experience life outside karatina and Nairobi, and it shows. I can tell you confidently climate change is the biggest elephant in the room. You can plant without fertilizer but maize will be taller than you if there's sufficient rainfall. But you can use izo fertilizers na mahindi zkufike kwa magoti...ama kiuno. Huko areas za home, almost everyone didn't bother to use certified seeds, till 2009. The yields were much higher than they are nowadays where they buy certified seeds
My fren, I have literally worked in the coffee industry for a couple years, and even today I am still being head hunted by Dormans. I am also the one who helps my father with disease detection and modern treatments in his small 4 acre coffee farm. But what do I know? I have never left Karatina and Nairobi and it shows.

Let me ask you this. What do you think is the reason unga is costing 200 bob or a bag of maize costing 6500+?

1. Reduced supply.
2. Weakening shilling since we import a lot of maize.
3. Expensive inputs.
4. High fuel prices.
They are all answers but I needed the main reason.
Except in 2009 and 2022, I have never heard a situation where farmers have cried for fertilizer subsidies. Ama unataka kuniambia fertilizer was not costing 2500-3k last yr?
Also, unlike in 2017 when we imported from Mexico (note that we have been importing thru and thru), we are importing from neighbors. So we don't need dollars.
The main reason for high unga price is because we are importing maize. And the reason for importing maize is because we didn't produce enough locally. And the reason for low production is failed rains.

They are all answers but I needed the main reason.
Except in 2009 and 2022, I have never heard a situation where farmers have cried for fertilizer subsidies. Ama unataka kuniambia fertilizer was not costing 2500-3k last yr?
Also, unlike in 2017 when we imported from Mexico (note that we have been importing thru and thru), we are importing from neighbors. So we don't need dollars.
The main reason for high unga price is because we are importing maize. And the reason for importing maize is because we didn't produce enough locally. And the reason for low production is failed rains.
Did you read that report some few years ago where it indicated that Kenya had halted the subsidy on fertilizer? I have really tried to look for it but couldn't find it.
That and several other factors led to the spike in the cost of the product.

Am I also seeing you suggest we purchase products from our neighbors using Kenya Shilling and not FX? That doesn't sound right to me.

And yes. I agree rains have affected production. Now add the cost of high inputs to that low yield and you can start seeing how Unga has hit 200 ksh so quickly.

This was inevatible. We can't continue kicking the can down the road. Subsidies should be reduced with an aim of removing them altogether. Neither KK nor Azimio can sustain these subsidies!

If you told wafuasi that the global economy ni mbaya sana saidi, walikuwa wanafoka "Fua* mecho nyanya". Now wafuasi have seen the true lie. They were sold "hope". I'm waiting to see 50 birrions being distributed to hasoras. @The.Black.Templar, mliambiwa mngonje how many weeks?

This was inevatible. We can't continue kicking the can down the road. Subsidies should be reduced with an aim of removing them altogether. Neither KK nor Azimio can sustain these subsidies!

If you told wafuasi that the global economy ni mbaya sana saidi, walikuwa wanafoka "Fua* mecho nyanya". Now wafuasi have seen the true lie. They were sold "hope". I'm waiting to see 50 birrions being distributed to hasoras. @The.Black.Templar, mliambiwa mngonje how many weeks?
But then again, izo taxes ought to be reduced. Fuel that we dont produce locally should never be the main source of govt income, like it is now

Let us wait and see, it is only the second day and the population including yourself is expectant....keep the enthusiasm up

Mr Black

Aiii banah, Njega makes very good points, fertiliser is not the magic bullet, if anything there have been reports indicating fertiliser use in the North Rift region has led to soil acidity and contributed to low yields which gives credence to his assertion that the problem is more complex and needs a more nuanced approach

Assuming providing affordable fertiliser alone leads to higher yields there needs to be a solution to post harvest losses and another one on how to maximising incomes for farmers who get ripped off by middlemen, that is if the rains don't fail which is catastrophic for maize farming or they don't come in hard during harvesting leading to rot which points to a dire need for crop insurance, another solution government needs to help mainstream.

We need multipronged solutions.

Montecarlo

Njenga's tweets of late are reading like that of an egomaniac. Maybe his fame has got into his head or maybe it is just me.

His recent tweet on the fertilizer subsidy is rubbing me the wrong way. While there is truth to what he is saying, you would imagine our agricultural sector is thriving so that we move to implementing his suggestions.

The way I see it, we must start with the low hanging fruit. I have not heard one single farmer crying about the cost of pesticide. However, all are demanding cheaper fertilizer and feeds.

The issue or rains is a non starter. Are we meant not to plant just because it is not raining adequately?

It is going to be a slow reconstruction of our economy before we can get into the nitty gritty of maximizing productivity beyond fertilizer.
Never get angry at policy developers...that is how they are...kuandika copius documents is not difficult since it's all theoretical...get angry at the implementer because they are the ones who are supposed to contextualize a solution based on the environment they find themselves in and political offices are not the easiest in any country.
Wacha wamashamba amalize 6 months tuone kama anajua what he is doing ama he is just monkeying around

Montecarlo

it's just you, the " whiner" has been consistent in his criticism from ages ago, I remember getting into arguments with him in 2015 when he went full blast against the dynamic duo but unfortunately his analysis were proved correct later.

View attachment 76409
Then who was supposed to take over and what was supposed to be their plan? On this Ephraim ameandika a stupid article.
I don't recall wamashamba saying they'll turn around things within a week.....ama fuel subsidy inauma fake middle class? Mtu akatekate guzzler yake kama ku fuel ni shida....petty bourgeoisie