Economic experts gather around

Our productivity is low so we are not earning much from exports. For the rate to go to 130 the CBR rate will need to be increased. That will hurt other sectors of the economy. If interest rates are maintained, dollar will be 140-150
The assumption then is that the dollar hit 160 overnight because we were not exporting much?

Also, the only reason the interest rates were raised was to increase demand for the shilling after the FED raised their rates due to inflation. Consequently, when the US cuts rates, CBK should follow and cut rates in Kenya not a moment before.

However long term strategies around taxing imports that we can produce locally as well as building internal capacity for cooking oil production will reduce our import bill. By solving the import problem we can equally fix the export problem. We might be exporting cooking oil in a few years.

And btw, shilling is now down to 132 against the dollar. Has the demand dissipated?

No I'm not whining. I'm opening your eyes and mind so that next time you don't the mistake of waking up at 4am to vote such characters

View attachment 94564

Ile machos iko Juja inaweza jaza seven forks bwana . He has cost Juja so much in terms of developments from the county government. I understand some funds meant for Juja wards have been reallocated to other wards in Kiambu.
1713814216995.png

petlava

Our productivity is low so we are not earning much from exports. For the rate to go to 130 the CBR rate will need to be increased. That will hurt other sectors of the economy. If interest rates are maintained, dollar will be 140-150
I really hope and 'pray" Not. I cant wait for it to shuka to somewhere around 100 or lower (wishful thinking) then maisha ya mwananchi will be much more affordable. I long for the days that it never passed beyong 120 for years.

I find such kind of arguments kiddish. What's the big deal in you sharing the exchange rate? Is it state secret?
Didn't you just post a screenshot from google as a fact of the matter? Which tells me you didn't bother to apply any context to what is happening with the exchange rate. Yours is just whining. If unga goes up by 10 bob tomorrow will you be here posting pictures ad whining as if market forces don't exist?