Economic effects

Meet Kibet, a teapicker in Tegat, Belgut Subcounty of Kericho County, his late father sold off their family land leaving him with 0.3 acre of land, He earns his living by working in individuals farms earning 7 shillings per kg picked on average he and his wife picks around 50 Kgs each, with the Corona Virus some of his customers are no longer employing him and his wife, one of his best clients is accessing free labour from their 5 kids, one in university two in secondary and two in upper primary. For these reasons only those with large parcels of land are employing teapickers.

Nanjala a mgisu (Uwes kin) who specialises in domestic chores of washing clothes, utensils and house cleaning, is also suffering the same fate in uthiru, the teenage kids of most of her clients are home and doing household chores. Leaving her with single guys(most likely the MCAs in misri) who are fond of demanding other services not minding that she is married.

Those who are having a booming business are the cereals and other foodstuffs sellers in the estates. What are your observations and experience in the Covid19 times?

Wegrow

Today we were taking with this guy and discussing the adverse affects of corona and one thing we agreed on is that we will have to live with a new abnormal normal.
Say on Monday schools are opened, how many will take their children since most homesteads are now having to do with just a meal per day so no reporting with packed lunch meaning no school. Many have gone to their reserves so intake will be quite high for public schools. I know 2 private schools which have been closed with no chances of ever opening up. The owners who have leased the plots the schools occupy have converted them to single houses. I know a school owner selling masks so you can imagine how the teachers he had employed are fairing. Those teens who have tasted quick bucks in small hustles like motorbikes and hawking might never report in the future as they will embrace those livelihoods.
Public vehicles will be forced to do away with the third seat in each row. Remember during Michukis rules enforcement we had four seats per row, one was removed and we forgot about it.
Landlords have started reducing rent by a huge margin. In our area one bedrooms were going for 12 - 14 k, right now they are even accepting 8k with no deposits charged. This means bedsitters will start charging between 4 to 5k. Others will upgrade leading to non occupancy to mabati shanties which will eventually be demolished with owners opting for bed sitters. Real estate dealers are having it rough trying to sell non moving land. You might have seen offers by agents reducing those tu eighth by 100k, na bado.
Churches have started experiencing reduction of attendants on Sunday even after increasing the number of worshippers. I for one am in that category. The reason being that we feel disillusioned by our blind faith and feeling a sense of hopelessness which God should have pre-empted.
Weddings and such gatherings will be strictly a few guests to reduce the budget. Remember even those attending are having it rough in life while others see it as an opportunity of free lunch.
Only those with budget hotels will be a bit lucky.
Fwack Gathica for thicing as TN (ta Ngui)!

Today we were taking with this guy and discussing the adverse affects of corona and one thing we agreed on is that we will have to live with a new abnormal normal.
Say on Monday schools are opened, how many will take their children since most homesteads are now having to do with just a meal per day so no reporting with packed lunch meaning no school. Many have gone to their reserves so intake will be quite high for public schools. I know 2 private schools which have been closed with no chances of ever opening up. The owners who have leased the plots the schools occupy have converted them to single houses. I know a school owner selling masks so you can imagine how the teachers he had employed are fairing. Those teens who have tasted quick bucks in small hustles like motorbikes and hawking might never report in the future as they will embrace those livelihoods.
Public vehicles will be forced to do away with the third seat in each row. Remember during Michukis rules enforcement we had four seats per row, one was removed and we forgot about it.
Landlords have started reducing rent by a huge margin. In our area one bedrooms were going for 12 - 14 k, right now they are even accepting 8k with no deposits charged. This means bedsitters will start charging between 4 to 5k. Others will upgrade leading to non occupancy to mabati shanties which will eventually be demolished with owners opting for bed sitters. Real estate dealers are having it rough trying to sell non moving land. You might have seen offers by agents reducing those tu eighth by 100k, na bado.
Churches have started experiencing reduction of attendants on Sunday even after increasing the number of worshippers. I for one am in that category. The reason being that we feel disillusioned by our blind faith and feeling a sense of hopelessness which God should have pre-empted.
Weddings and such gatherings will be strictly a few guests to reduce the budget. Remember even those attending are having it rough in life while others see it as an opportunity of free lunch.
Only those with budget hotels will be a bit lucky.
Fwack Gathica for thicing as TN (ta Ngui)!
So sad and well elaborated, especially on private schools, my neighbor owned a private school/academy, she gave up on paying rent for it back in may, we shall adapt and improvise.

Pamba 1

Supposing wamashati decides to open education sector in September, how many parents have school fees to send back kids to school?

Wegrow

Supposing wamashati decides to open education sector in September, how many parents have school fees to send back kids to school?
How long is long enough do you think parents will have money for their kids school fees. Wacha zifunguliwe then Tupate idea za kuzitatua, even if they are opened in January bado hatutakuwa na fee

Hehehe a colleague was joking that ashakula fees ya third term, the reality is that as @Wegrow said that children who were previously in private school will join public schools, and most won't get a slot. We are in turbulent times, the government (let me join the sirikali saidia brigade) has to bring in interventions, if we are to ensure that the school enrollment remains constant.

How long is long enough do you think parents will have money for their kids school fees. Wacha zifunguliwe then Tupate idea za kuzitatua, even if they are opened in January bado hatutakuwa na fee
Free education shall be free in reality, not the theoretical one that's going on. Capitation shall have to suffice without additional funds from the parents as it's the norm.

Wegrow

Free education shall be free in reality, not the theoretical one that's going on. Capitation shall have to suffice without additional funds from the parents as it's the norm.
Kama saa hizi free day Secondary funds have been disbursed 5150 per student. Fare ya kurudi shule kutoka migori to Nairobi school utatoka wapi

The current instructions are for students to go to the nearest school/ learning centers, Mambo ya boarding kaput!

Ramses

Hawa vijana wanafanya kazi vizuri sana bila kusumbua, I have engaged 3 in the farm who have displaced older guys. Was telling them that schools will re-open in September, na hawataki hiyo story

kids are something else, Hata mjengo site nimepata watatu wakichangamka Ile mbaya. Resumption of schools shall be marked by poor turnout of students.