DIY Mechanics

Riva

Very nice, how did you know that it needs replacement? and where did you source the parts. Also i would have given it an underside wash first, getting rid of the dust and grime helps make inspection easier.
You’re right on the underside wash. Should have done that first. The vehicle had a noisy clunking noise whenever i was on a rough road, so I lifted it and did the bearing hub test (checking the wheel for play horizontally and vertically) and there was very huge play, so I knew it was the bearings. Got parts from Mass East Africa. I always buy parts from them coz they have original Subaru parts. Did some research on the job, I.e what size ‘boxes’ I needed, then I found time for the job. It’s not a quick job especially when you’re not an expert but if you have enough time it’s doable. But overall it’s an excellent learning opportunity to know about your vehicle and the mechanics of it.
Youtube is a very good resource for this kind of thing.

Magreb

Way to go bro. Hakuna kitu huniudhi kama kuona mwanaume mzima anapelekea fundi gari over simple issues za maintenance. As a side note, invest in a 3ton floor jack and jack stands. You can get them at carrefour for about 21k. Will osha you mesho tomorrow with my set.

Riva

Way to go bro. Hakuna kitu huniudhi kama kuona mwanaume.mzima anapelekea funding gari over simple issues za maintenance. As a side note, invest in a 3ton floor jack and jack stands. You can get them at carrefour for about 21k. Will osha you mesho tomorrow with my set.
Nice. I’ll get those. Hii jack niko nayo huchokesha sana.
I’ll be looking forward to kuosha mecho.

Nilikaza fiti, I’ve actually been on a long trip out of town without any issues. But my next tool to get is a torque wrench nianze kukaza based on manufacturer recommended torque.
You could get a cheap one (2500) from jiji.co.ke since you will be using it infrequently. It is the best insurance.

Ole Waru

You could get a cheap one (2500) from jiji.co.ke since you will be using it infrequently. It is the best insurance.
I wouldn't recommend that, torque wrenches are precision equipment and they are usually calibrated at the factory and can easily go out of calibration depending on use, in fact it's recommended to take them for re-calibration once in a while. I doubt the accuracy of a cheap jiji one. The last thing you want is destroying your fasteners because of an inaccurate torque wrench, mind you a difference of 20nm is very huge

Torque values are always given as a range e.g. A given fastener may have the recommended torque as 30Nm-35Nm. This is a value range you can hit even with the most imprecise wrench, sometimes by feel for experienced workers. The kind of accuracy you have in mind belongs to laboratories and jet engines.

Ole Waru

Torque values are always given as a range e.g. A given fastener may have the recommended torque as 30Nm-35Nm. This is a value range you can hit even with the most imprecise wrench, sometimes by feel for experienced workers. The kind of accuracy you have in mind belongs to laboratories and jet engines.
My opinion is that if you are going to do something, you better do it right, that's one of the pros of DIY, the kind of accuracy i'm talking about is not out of reach, just buy a well calibrated torque wrench from amazon and make sure you treat it well. Also accuracy is very important in some areas, e.g aluminium heads with steel fasteners, pressing gaskets, braking and steering components, a small mistake could cost you lots of money, time or even your life.

Trust me, you will never need the kind of accuracy you are gunning for. Even the original vehicle manufacturers don't need it.

Magreb

Balderdash. With time, your hand just gets the grasp and there is so much torque you will apply on a fastener with your hand.

Ole Waru

Balderdash. With time, your hand just gets the grasp and there is so much torque you will apply on a fastener with your hand.
I won't argue since everyone is entitled to their opinion, but try rebuilding an engine without a torque wrench, what you feel with your hand to be the correct tightness might not be enough to contain the pressure inside and you end up with a blown gasket or it might be too much to strip the threads or cause the mating surfaces to warp. I have seen even wheel nuts being tightened until they squeal, very unnecessary, This attitude of you just screw it until it is tight is why i feel we will never advance as quality technicians, it should not be a matter of feeling by hand it needs to be measured. Fasteners have recommended loads and tolerances if you don't at least pay attention to these things then you are still a quack, DIY doesn't mean being careless as some think.