D- redeems himself

KDF sina shida nao, na sijawahi tafuta placement even though familia from my grandfathers, my own father, literally are and were wakubwa huko, including one recent head of public affairs at DOD. Sitasema ni yupi.

That being said, kwa sababu I was born into a family of KDF commissioned officers, haimaanishi sitaongea kuhusu unyama na ukatili polisi wanatendea Wakenya kwa kunyanyasa wakitafuta hongo. That would be hypocrisy to try and pretend that the police are not the hand of evil in this country.

Hata ikiwa ni KDF wametenda huo unyama, sitaogopa kusema eti kwa sababu natoka kwa familia ya wanajeshi.

Na tusijaribu kujifanya hongo sio motisha kubwa kwa polisi kunyanyasa na hata kuua wakenya.
Since this thread is about the police, let's focus on them. We have almost 100 thousand police officers. How many of them do you interact with? How about the rest that you dont know about?

JazzMan

Since this thread is about the police, let's focus on them. We have almost 100 thousand police officers. How many of them do you interact with? How about the rest that you dont know about?
I try very hard to stay away from them. I've never met one who didn't want kitu kidogo. Yes, there may be some who do their jobs diligently, but it doesn't mean hawatadhulumu mwananchi given the opprtunity. That's just what the police have shown us.

It's no secret that police are meant to protect the who's who in this country since the days of colonialism, not serve the hoi polloi. Some units like GSU were bred specifically to defeat the armed forces if a coup was attempted, and others to beat down local uprisings before they gather steam.

I try very hard to stay away from them. I've never met one who didn't want kitu kidogo. Yes, there may be some who do their jobs diligently, but it doesn't mean hawatadhulumu mwananchi given the opprtunity. That's just what the police have shown us.

It's no secret that police are meant to protect the who's who in this country since the days of colonialism, not serve the hoi polloi. Some units like GSU were bred specifically to defeat the armed forces if a coup was attempted, and others to beat down local uprisings before they gather steam.
You mostly interact with the traffic police who are mostly corrupt. Wanachoma jina sana. However, we have a lot of other officers who are not on front desk duties. We have some securing our borders, others fighting al Shabaab, others investigating crime.

The policemen and women are recruited from this society, they live in this society. This society believes in kitu kidogo.

Tafakari

JazzMan

You mostly interact with the traffic police who are mostly corrupt. Wanachoma jina sana. However, we have a lot of other officers who are not on front desk duties. We have some securing our borders, others fighting al Shabaab, others investigating crime.

The policemen and women are recruited from this society, they live in this society. This society believes in kitu kidogo.

Tafakari
Yes, this is a societal problem. But knowing this, don't the police receive training to sensitise them of this?

And considering the poor pay they receive, and the poor resources they get, what stops that police officer from harassing the people they are supposedly meant to protect?

Again, with the ones protecting the border and facing IEDs and still not getting the resources they need, what stops them from being vulnerable to bribes from people who want to smuggle things and people across the borders?

And why is it that the police have to kill people in the name of enforcing law and order?

Is it not common knowledge that with a few bundles of cash, whatever crime you commit can be swept under the rag? It's not traffic cops who do this, is it?

Yes, this is a societal problem. But knowing this, don't the police receive training to sensitise them of this?

And considering the poor pay they receive, and the poor resources they get, what stops that police officer from harassing the people they are supposedly meant to protect?

Again, with the ones protecting the border and facing IEDs and still not getting the resources they need, what stops them from being vulnerable to bribes from people who want to smuggle things and people across the borders?

And why is it that the police have to kill people in the name of enforcing law and order?

Is it not common knowledge that with a few bundles of cash, whatever crime you commit can be swept under the rag? It's not traffic cops who do this, is it?
@Pamba 1, I think you guys are trained in 'gradual escalation' I have seen some drills kuja uelemishe kijiji.

My point in pointing at the society(no pun intended) is that the police represents the whole society. A pastor may kill his wife and that story will get tucked away on some corner on a newspaper. The police deal with some people who are violent or even suicidal. some of the police officers have problems requiring regular appointments with shrinks. But we have neglected mental health.