Corona virus is not a scam lakini I have a query

If you have been following closely the Ministry of Health COVID announcements, you must have noted that off late the announcements are something like this below:

DEATHS: 26 deaths have been reported in the last 24 hours with 3 of them having occurred in the 24 hours and 23 having occurred on diverse dates in the last one month. This now pushes our cumulative fatalities to 2,420.

Now to my query:-

You will notice the number of deaths reported in the last 24 hours is usually a small figure. Last year, the number of deaths reported would be a larger figure.

So what changed that now we are reporting less deaths in the last 24 hours despite having a bad strain of COVID 19?

The reports are not very accurate considering the deaths are only of known hospital admissions. Many people are dying out here and not being recorded.

Ubongo

Last year watu walikuwa wanangoja mass deaths and they never came, hata saa hii bado watu wanatufuta sigbs za mass deaths na hakuna evidence, just scare mongering
It's not about mass deaths but few individual cases of people that are well known. It's no longer scare mongering msitooo

Luther12

If you have been following closely the Ministry of Health COVID announcements, you must have noted that off late the announcements are something like this below:

DEATHS: 26 deaths have been reported in the last 24 hours with 3 of them having occurred in the 24 hours and 23 having occurred on diverse dates in the last one month. This now pushes our cumulative fatalities to 2,420.

Now to my query:-

You will notice the number of deaths reported in the last 24 hours is usually a small figure. Last year, the number of deaths reported would be a larger figure.

So what changed that now we are reporting less deaths in the last 24 hours despite having a bad strain of COVID 19?

From Dec 2020 to Feb 2021 HCWs all around the country were mostly on strike. There was still COVID at the time and many died out of it and other infections. In short, data quality analysis and audit.

As per the info released in March, there was no Brazilian strain in Kenya and very few cases (I think they were around 5) of the S.African strain had been identified. The strain we have today, as per that data, is the same as what we had last year. It however is reported that for a certain period we had stopped genotyping the virus and reporting the same to WHO.

It has also been reported that COVID19 is at the moment mutating in such a way as to evade detection via the commonly used tests. So we have people whose COVID test results are -ve but they display all the classic signs of the disease. Many have been diagnosed via CT Scans.

Finally, one of the effects of COVID19 infxn is blood clot formation. A clot in the brain will give you stroke, in the lungs pulmonary embolism, in the heart heart attack, etc all with potentially fatal outcomes. It's quite possible for the immediate cause to be a blood clot in these organs with COVID as the remote cause. In the absence of posthumous testing....

Luther12

But even if we use records from known hospitals only, how come fewer deaths are now being recorded in the last 24 hours
Because we have had a whole year now to learn about the disease and cater to our patients. For instance right now all +ve patients are put on anti-thrombi medication which is something we didn't know and weren't doing a year ago.

From Dec 2020 to Feb 2021 HCWs all around the country were mostly on strike. There was still COVID at the time and many died out of it and other infections. In short, data quality analysis and audit.

As per the info release in March, there was no Brazilian strain in Kenya and very few cases (I think they were around 5) of the S.African strain had been identified. The strain we have today, as per that data, is the same as what we had last year. It however is reported that for a certain period we had stopped genotyping the virus and reporting the same to WHO.

It has also been reported that COVID19 is at the moment mutating in sucg a way as to evade detection via the commonly used tests. So we have people whose COVID test results are -ve but they display all the classic signs of the disease. Many have been diagnosed via CT Scans.

Finally, one of the effects of COVID19 infxn is blood clot formation. A clot in the brain will give you stroke, in the lungs pulmonary embolism, in the heart heart attack, etc all with potentially fatal outcomes. It's quite possible for the immediate cause to be a blood clot in these organs with COVID as the remote cause. In the absence of posthumous testing....
Hii corons kwani inacheza hide and seek, now you see me now you don't? Na blood clot si ni ya wale wamejipeleka castration

DeepInYourMind

As per the info release in March, there was no Brazilian strain in Kenya and very few cases (I think they were around 5) of the S.African strain had been identified. The strain we have today, as per that data, is the same as what we had last year. It however is reported that for a certain period we had stopped genotyping the virus and reporting the same to WHO.

It has also been reported that COVID19 is at the moment mutating in sucg a way as to evade detection via the commonly used tests. So we have people whose COVID test results are -ve but they display all the classic signs of the disease. Many have been diagnosed via CT Scans.

I thought blood clots were associated with the AstraZeneca vaccine?