Close call at Makwapa Roundabout

A near tragedy in Mombasa at Makupa Roundabout. Firstly thank you Mombasa County for investing in proper CCTVs at key spots . Back to this chilling clip where a speeding truck driver drove around the bend like he is riding a Tuk Tuk and off the container was flung out. I would like to comment as follows. 1. Firstly it's by the grace of God that the salon car was missed by the falling container. What a close shave to the point that the driver was too shocked to even move. 2. This is NOT the first time a container is falling off a truck. In the past we have had needless fatalities both in Nbi & Msa. 3. The truck operators include those tractors that ferry empty containers minus basics like reflectors are all disasters waiting to happen. Why would any sensible government such contraptions on our roads. 4. A few days with a driver from my office he warned me not to get too close to a semi trailer with a similar container since he could tell if the container was not latched. They just placed it on the flat bed. Criminals they are. 5. Traffic cops including traffic marshals are busy with chasing Tuk Tuks and Matatus while these potential killers operate with impunity. Way forward: Any trailer where the container is NOT secured should be fined heavily and the drivers license suspended for sometime. Only when they feel the pain in the pocket is when they take action. The salon car with its occupants would have been a stat, it could have been anyone even a matatu with full of passengers or a family headed their way for festive break. This is chilling and that mad lorry driver didn't even notice that his container is off his truck. Must be high on some cheap weed. These driver ought to be charged with attempted murder through reckless driving . As always I choose to remain an optimist that there will be a crackdown on all these truck operators who behave like we have no laws in Kenya. My Bro Onesimus Kipchumba Murkomen get very tough and KPA and CFS should NOT be allowed to handle trucks where containers are not well secured. These short cuts will kill Kenyans. Over to you Kenya Police Service Directorate of Criminal Investigations - DCI County Government Of Mombasa
Mohammed Hersi
Mombasa

cc @kingolonde

I know a ka mzee who doesn't drive next to trailers on any bend, I think amewai ona hii mambo live live

Original name for makupa creek was Makwapa,
as there was no bridge original mombasites used to cross over when the tide was Makwapa high, makwapa coz they were mainly businessmen with their goods which were on their heads. hense the name Makwapa.
over the centuries the name evolved to makupa.
btw, do you know we had a fort too at Makupa

Original name for makupa creek was Makwapa,
as there was no bridge original mombasites used to cross over when the tide was Makwapa high, makwapa coz they were mainly businessmen with their goods which were on their heads. hense the name Makwapa.
over the centuries the name evolved to makupa.
btw, do you know we had a fort too at Makupa
Sande sana mkubwa