Banning scrap metal is like shooting yourself in the foot

Da Vinci

Hao watu wa screp walikuwa wanaiba GATE!!! Unaamka asubuhi unakuta hauna GATE. Hio biashara ifungwe
The government is nobody's friend unless uwe government wewe mwenyewe. Do not be happy because scrap metal was banned. It was not banned to please you. They did it for their own selfish reasons. Guard your gate more jealously. Because scrap metal will be unbanned, eventually. And when they eventually unban it, it is then that you will wonder if there was any point in banning it at all!

It is OK. I agree with you. It's alright.
Sorry if that hurt you.
But bottom line is that the ngavament has failed in providing basic services like security. We, in our folly, are the same ones who recycle these chiethmen.
So of banning scap metal biz will give me a few more restful nights, so be it. Hapa ni mùndù eteithie.

Add prostitution to that Whatsapp group
Allow me for a second to be the Devil’s Advocate and point out that prostitution involves ones body unlike the other two which deals with prohibited goods.
This distinction is very important when thinking of ways to curb them.
Legislating against ones body on issues which involve human basic needs will always be problematic and hard to enforce.

Not forgetting that most men are opposed to criminalisation of prostitution as they are the needy clients.
Bear in mind though that I am not excusing nor supporting prostitution.

Ubongo

Allow me for a second to be the Devil’s Advocate and point out that prostitution involves ones body unlike the other two which deals with prohibited goods.
This distinction is very important when thinking of ways to curb them.
Legislating against ones body on issues which involve human basic needs will always be problematic and hard to enforce.

Not forgetting that most men are opposed to criminalisation of prostitution as they are the needy clients.
Bear in mind though that I am not excusing nor supporting prostitution.
Pale Netherlands....Red district pako aje

@Da Vinci my suggestion is that you guys need to come up with fool proof plans to self regulate and how you are going to police yourselves against the crooks. Thereafter approach the government with solutions. Without that mtangoja sana. Government is now too busy with elections and next year it will be too busy constituting the new government

Sambamba

Question is, does it make sense for a country to have a 50kg transformer worth 2m vandalized and sold for 500bob as scrap metal which makes deformed bars worth 20k?
Who is gaining except the smelter? At the expensive of a country's crucial infrastructure?
Unless we learn to collect scrap as it is meant to be, then nitasema hii sector ifungwe for the time being.
Nduthi pia.
Apart from the cost of replacing the transformer, ongeza the indirect economic loss. Vinyozis, chomeleas and so many businesses will be counting huge losses mpaka the vandalized transformer ikue replaced.

Scrap metal dealers are economic saboteurs masquerading as businessmen.

Da Vinci

@Da Vinci my suggestion is that you guys need to come up with fool proof plans to self regulate and how you are going to police yourselves against the crooks. Thereafter approach the government with solutions. Without that mtangoja sana. Government is now too busy with elections and next year it will be too busy constituting the new government
Ama we simply go to hell, si ndio?
We can as well commit suicide for all you care!

Like, I said, Uhuru didn't have to ban the business in toto, and you all know that. Regulations have been there all along. Implementing the regulations is their work and they just don't want to do it the hard way. And how can I make you people realise that it is Kenya power and Kenya railway employees who steal the most, more than anyone can think? How many ordinary people know how to disconnect a transformer other than Kenya Power employees!? You can put all the measures you can think of to stop customers from stealing from your supermarket, but if the thieves are your trusted employees? If the police were to resolve to eradicate crime crime wil be gone in no time. What is one to do if it is the police themselves who perpetuating the crime or enabling and colluding with the criminals?

Da Vinci

Uhuru could have made a few heads to roll, he could have warned Matiangi himself and the top cop in no uncertain terms, and that vice could have been dealt with like a miracle. Has Uhuru ever fired any one of his officers for ineptitude and corruption reasons rather than political reasons? Which one? All those in his government are his buddies and he cares for them, kabisa. I always ask myself, if this was Magufuli's Tanzania, what would he have done? How would he have dealt with with the issue of vandalism, given that he has hundreds and hundreds of thousands of security men under his command?

Da Vinci

Kenyans wanadharau kazi za wengine sana. Kenyans will only respect a businesses if the owner of the business is driving a more expensive car than theirs.

Da Vinci

Toa Habari Kwa Polisi?
Boss, unafanya kazi gani? Si uniajiri niachane na wizi? I would be very glad to do a better job, a job that's free of stigma.
@Mwalimu-G
@Aviator
@Okiya

Please help! Nimechoka na vandalism,. Nimechoka kuiba magari ya watu. I want to do a job that is more acceptable to you all, my good friends! Everyone, including you guys, think that those who deal with second hand items and scrap metal are thieves and lesser human beings. Stigma.

Boss, unafanya kazi gani? Si uniajiri niachane na wizi? I would be very glad to do a better job, a job that's free of stigma.
@Mwalimu-G
@Aviator
@Okiya

Please help! Nimechoka na vandalism,. Nimechoka kuiba magari ya watu. I want to do a job that is more acceptable to you all, my good friends! Everyone, including you guys, think that those who deal with second hand items and scrap metal are thieves and lesser human beings. Stigma.
lol
Didn't call you a thief. You indicated that 99% of those who vandalize KPLC are either employees or former employees meaning that as an industry insider you know what happens. Just wondered why you can not pass on that info to the cops. Help clean up the industry. Is that a hard thing to do?

Oh,by the way,I am a carpenter. Kazi ya watu hawajasoma.

lol
Didn't call you a thief. You indicated that 99% of those who vandalize KPLC are either employees or former employees meaning that as an industry insider you know what happens. Just wondered why you can not pass on that info to the cops. Help clean up the industry. Is that a hard thing to do?

Oh,by the way,I am a carpenter. Kazi ya watu hawajasoma.
Kwa nini mnaongea kama nyinyi ni wageni hapa Kenya? If we were to follow the same reasoning, what have you, as a citizen, done about corrupt traffic police officers?