About time!

Karma_mama

Australia nightclub bans staring at strangers without verbal consent
‘We do this to make everyone feel safe and to ensure our patrons are comfortable.’ (Stock image)
1‘We do this to make everyone feel safe and to ensure our patrons are comfortable.’ (Stock image)
Saman Javed
August 25 2022 04:39 PM

A nightclub in Australia has announced it will remove customers who are caught staring at someone without that person’s consent.

Club 77 in Sydney recently updated its zero-tolerance policy on harassment to include unwanted attention from strangers.

Outlining the change in a post to its Instagram page, the venue said its duty of car must go beyond implementing practices to deal with incidents after they have already happened.

“We also have an obligation to educate new club-goers and help them understand what is considered unacceptable behavior inside the venue and on the dance floor,” the post read.

As a social venue, the club’s owners said they encourage interaction between strangers, but all and any engagement “must begin with verbal consent”.

“This also applies if you are, for example, staring at someone from afar. If the attention you are giving someone is unwanted, that is considered harassment,” they said.

The club has employed an additional security guard, who acts as a “designated safety officer”. The officer is recognisable by their pink high-vis vest.

“They have been trained to handle complaints and concerns. If you’re being harassed by another person or receiving unwanted attention, please seek them out or tell our staff immediately,” Club 77 said.
If we receive reports of any behaviour that has made someone feel uncomfortable, the reported individual will be removed from the venue and the police will be called.

“We do this to make everyone feel safe and to ensure our patrons are comfortable approaching staff if anything has made
them uncomfortable or feel unsafe.“

Earlier this year, the British Transport Police said it has seen an increase in the number of people being reported for intrusive staring on trains following a campaign by Transport for London.
The campaign aims to tackle inappropriate behaviour and sexual harassment of women and girls on the London underground.

Posters put up across the city state that “intrusive staring of a sexual nature is sexual harassment and is not tolerated”.

Australia nightclub bans staring at strangers without verbal consent
‘We do this to make everyone feel safe and to ensure our patrons are comfortable.’ (Stock image)
1‘We do this to make everyone feel safe and to ensure our patrons are comfortable.’ (Stock image)
Saman Javed
August 25 2022 04:39 PM

A nightclub in Australia has announced it will remove customers who are caught staring at someone without that person’s consent.

Club 77 in Sydney recently updated its zero-tolerance policy on harassment to include unwanted attention from strangers.

Outlining the change in a post to its Instagram page, the venue said its duty of car must go beyond implementing practices to deal with incidents after they have already happened.

“We also have an obligation to educate new club-goers and help them understand what is considered unacceptable behavior inside the venue and on the dance floor,” the post read.

As a social venue, the club’s owners said they encourage interaction between strangers, but all and any engagement “must begin with verbal consent”.

“This also applies if you are, for example, staring at someone from afar. If the attention you are giving someone is unwanted, that is considered harassment,” they said.

The club has employed an additional security guard, who acts as a “designated safety officer”. The officer is recognisable by their pink high-vis vest.

“They have been trained to handle complaints and concerns. If you’re being harassed by another person or receiving unwanted attention, please seek them out or tell our staff immediately,” Club 77 said.
If we receive reports of any behaviour that has made someone feel uncomfortable, the reported individual will be removed from the venue and the police will be called.

“We do this to make everyone feel safe and to ensure our patrons are comfortable approaching staff if anything has made
them uncomfortable or feel unsafe.“

Earlier this year, the British Transport Police said it has seen an increase in the number of people being reported for intrusive staring on trains following a campaign by Transport for London.
The campaign aims to tackle inappropriate behaviour and sexual harassment of women and girls on the London underground.

Posters put up across the city state that “intrusive staring of a sexual nature is sexual harassment and is not tolerated”.
Isn't this very subjective? How would "seeking verbal consent" work without it being seen as "unwanted attention"?

What problem are they trying to solve here?

Ramiran

Isn't this very subjective? How would "seeking verbal consent" work without it being seen as "unwanted attention"?

What problem are they trying to solve here?
1661457293570.png

Imagin a weirdo like this seating 2 tables away from you in the club and doing nothing but staring at you.

The you look at other people and see they all notice the weirdo looking at you.

How comfortable is that ? especially for wimens

Karma_mama

Sijui, mimi ni ndume and wouldnt even notice what he is looking at. 😁

@Karma_mama, is this the problem that you are facing?
I have on occasion felt like I was getting more attention than I deserved.
From a young age we teach kids it's bad manners to stare.

It is unsettling because there are people who have mental health issues and you don't know what their next move might be.
Even as a man, imagine someone staring at you for a whole 2hr train journey. You'd have to feel intimidated or angry.

Some people use it as a form of bullying or passive aggression that is quite difficult to prove.

It is unsettling because there are people who have mental health issues and you don't know what their next move might be.
Even as a man, imagine someone staring at you for a whole 2hr train journey. You'd have to feel intimidated or angry.

Some people use it as a form of bullying or passive aggression that is quite difficult to prove.
I agree it might be unsettling or even upsetting to have someone staring at you for two hours. This is anti social behaviour. Perhaps we can look at it from the perspective of a business owner who wants to create a suitable environment free of anti social behaviour. It could work especially well for a night club is patronized by the more upmarket younger professional women. But, how widespread is this problem? Does it occur 1% of the time? 0.001% of the time?

It could also be possible that these guys were making a publicity stunt.

Karma_mama

I agree it might be unsettling or even upsetting to have someone staring at you for two hours. This is anti social behaviour. Perhaps we can look at it from the perspective of a business owner who wants to create a suitable environment free of anti social behaviour. It could work especially well for a night club is patronized by the more upmarket younger professional women. But, how widespread is this problem? Does it occur 1% of the time? 0.001% of the time?

It could also be possible that these guys were making a publicity stunt.
The prevalence of incidents is on the rise. I think for now emphasis are on raising awareness more than penalising. Following lessons learnt from not taking stalking or coercive control seriously in the past, the aim is to nip it in the bud.

Bae wetu, si kustare. Ni kuappreciate every contour of your beautiful body, every inch of your glowing skin, every sweet, promising bump.

God's artwork must be appreciated before we join in Congress, siyo kurukia mtu kama mongrel ya mtaa ( no pun intended)...

But there's a huge difference between admiring and staring.
It's men nature to admire women and it comes just by default , hauwezi zuia, mwanamke kama ako sawa lazima tu utajipata umeangalia tu.

Women don't know what they want !