A thought on CBC

One time, I was running a college offering some international certifications.
Guys wa MOE came and told me I shouldn't offer a curriculum that hasn't been approved by the ministry. I asked them who is their authorizing officer, his qualifications and if he's better qualified than the system developers themselves. Wakakuja mkia.
These guys are one big letdown.
The GCE system is what Kenya need . Lakini corruption is messing every sector in this country !

DeepInYourMind

The best time to judge CBC I would say is when the current lot are done with school and contributing to society. What I know is Kenyans complain about anything and everything, even the few positive things in the public sphere.

At least it allows the kids use their hands and minds from an early age, good for creativity. Typical classroom education usually dumbs down their natural curiosity and energy, forcing them to sit still and stare at blackboards and books.

I do not know much about the system but if it is meant to return parenting to parents ni sawa. During the Covid crisis thousands of girls have gotten pregnant and boys become thugs because their parents just did not know how to handle them - they had sub-contracted parenting to teachers/gavament for so long mpaka wakasahau.

Nimesema na nitaendelea kusema wadau; your children are your responsibility. Haukuzalia serikali ama the general public. You must have a roadmap and the resources to bring them up, including uni fees.

Otherwise wewe ni no better than a chimpanzee..................

CBC is not entirely bad but shida ni implementation most probably by teachers who dont know exactly they are doing. Resumption of home science
, art and craft would have worked.
CBC is trying to get rid of this...

“Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.” Albert Einstein is often credited with this wonderful quote, but it may actually have come from a variety of different sources, which is quite fitting given its subject matter.

But in any venture there will be teething problems...and society is known for resisting things that get them off their comfort zone in spite of benefits.
A neighbour who is a teacher confided that some of her colleagues are giving assignments that are difficult for parents with aim of raising a hue and cry - and hopefully lead to an abandonment of the program which has a bigger workload (as opposed to where they would just go to class and make pupils cram some things!).

Krushka

All i know is nothing good can come from the current government and the incoming government of The 5th DP DR WSR PHD (in a science based course UON).

The best time to judge CBC I would say is when the current lot are done with school and contributing to society. What I know is Kenyans complain about anything and everything, even the few positive things in the public sphere.

At least it allows the kids use their hands and minds from an early age, good for creativity. Typical classroom education usually dumbs down their natural curiosity and energy, forcing them to sit still and stare at blackboards and books.
CBC is not entirely bad but shida ni implementation most probably by teachers who dont know exactly they are doing. Resumption of home science
, art and craft would have worked.
Correct . A number of primary school teachers have experienced their views, even the holidays seminars can't prepare them to handle comfortably.

Kdawg254

kuna part pia mta ambiwa you record your kid as they're washing utensils then send to school ,then you take a family photo also. But I think all these shenanigans ni private schools are following every line in cbc book and literally implementing them .
This raises issues with data privacy!
How secure is it to send your entire family/household using a public forum like WhatsApp which the school has no control over where the data passes or stored!!

Kdawg254

One way or the other the children will need to learn....or they will be as dumb AF.

P/s - I am involved with mentorship programs for college kids and I am disgusted at how little they know of the world around them.
In my opinion,I actually think this is a good thing.
Check the two most richest countries in the world (USA and China) they have citizens who are very ignorant of things around them that don’t concern their line of work/state/locality etc.
I don’t think knowing a little bit of everything while not being a specialist in anything is better!