A Landlord in Machakos town has been beaten to death by defiant tenants

I don't think so.

The other precedent that was set was that you can go to remand and later be jailed for murdering your landlord. Your wife and kids will be leaving that flat sooner than you know. The rest of the tenants will be paying rent to his heirs.
Its regrettable that some tenants are trying to weasel out of their contracts without sufficient justification. That leaves landlords with very little wiggle room to accommodate genuine cases. Mwalimu wa TSC hataki kulipa, a policeman hataki kulipa, mama mboga pia. While they all pay their other obligations.

Did landlords build their properties using taxpayers money?

The French revolution started with peasants decapitating their landlords.
Read history kijana. We dont have a feudal system in Kenya. The last time I checked, a landlord has a militia called 'the auctioneer ' at call backed by the full authority of the state via court orders and police. Usipotii, anangoa mlango.

Nobody owes you anything here in Nairobi.

MkukiMoto

What is your take-away from this episode?
Actually a lot .
One needs to answer your question in it's most basic form so every Kenya is part of this conversation. Kenyans need to openly appreciate how different parts of our economy are inter-depended.
  • Tenants pay rent based on ability to get income.
  • Most landlords build rental apartment from bank loans.
  • Banks would be out of business if people stop paying their loan.
  • Government revenue from tax collection suffers if the tenants and landlords have no income to spend in the economy.
  • It is in the best interest of political leaders to ensure every part of the economy is working like a well oiled machine
  • The rule of law is an important glue that keeps our society together. So we can not have tenants killing landlords.
  • The political economy of Kenya is more complex but in every discussion you need a starting point. Even before one gets to Economic#101 education.
At the end the day, I think we should just use common sense when confronting our challenges.

Lerionka

Tell us more.
We say viruses do not have a cure. What happens is that viral reproduction is curbed by drugs called antivirals.
The strategy is to allow the body develop immunity by production of antibodies against the virus.
A special group of people called asymptomatic patients exist. The asymptomatic is a stage where one is infected with a virus but does not show any symptoms. What happens is that the person may develop symptoms later eg. HIV develops into AIDS after 10 years while COVID asymptomatic phase is about 14 days. The other group is the rare asymptomatic cases who will never develop symptoms. I'm sure you heard of sexual workers in Nairobi who were studies in the early 2000s because they displayed this trait.
So. For an asymptomatic person, you will generally just isolate them and offer standard viral treatment. They are not strictly sick they are infectious. Hence the difference in cases between the recovered and the hospitalised. Interesting case is emerging in New York where it is believed that 1 in 5 residents may have contract Corona but remained asymptomatic.

Internet

At this point, caretaker and watchie can join them in exterminating your selfish butt from the face of the earth. That's the way it works when things get really bad.
No. You're being emotional about it which is clouding your sense of reality.
The job of a caretaker is to collect rent and evict delinquent tenants. The landlord doesn't have to do this because he can employ somebody to do this.
Emotions nyingi sijui ni za nini

Doc oga

Unfortunately that is how the world works. Watchmen rush their lives protecting the wealth of the rich. Poor people put their lives on the line in exchange for a livelihood. It's not right but it is just how it works.
Peasants work for money while for the wealthy money works for them. Can there be a world where there's no money?

Read history kijana. We dont have a feudal system in Kenya. The last time I checked, a landlord has a militia called 'the auctioneer ' at call backed by the full authority of the state via court orders and police. Usipotii, anangoa mlango.

Nobody owes you anything here in Nairobi.
My friend. What you are quoting is the old way of doing things. We are now in an era of business unusual. Ebu Google rent strikes USA and see for yourself. The rent strikes happening in USA have a likelihood of being replicated to other parts of the world.

No. You're being emotional about it which is clouding your sense of reality.
The job of a caretaker is to collect rent and evict delinquent tenants. The landlord doesn't have to do this because he can employ somebody to do this.
Emotions nyingi sijui ni za nini
Sawa boss. I don't know what kind of units you have, but caretakers are not agents and auctioneers everywhere.

My friend. What you are quoting is the old way of doing things. We are now in an era of business unusual. Ebu Google rent strikes USA and see for yourself. The rent strikes happening in USA have a likelihood of being replicated to other parts of the world.
I sympathize with those who have lost livelihoods. A humane landlord will find a way of accommodating those tenants that have always been paying on time by helping them go through this rough patch. Lakini hizi mang'aa zingine that are still earning a paycheck na wanakataa watafukuzwa bila huruma. We live in a capitalist society remember.

Internet

Peasants work for money while for the wealthy money works for them. Can there be a world where there's no money?
Even before cash economy there were always people who control the resources and used those resources to get people to do as they wish.

ShabbaRanks

He is either a landlord or a cop hence his combative response to a very simple statement.