2023 Cars Without CVTs

kiks25

If you want to avoid a CVT for any reason, here are the 2023 models that are not equipped with the transmission.

Acura: Only the Integra comes with a CVT.

Audi: No modern Audi is equipped with a CVT.

Alfa Romeo: No modern Alfa Romeo is equipped with a CVT.

BMW: No modern BMW is equipped with a CVT.

Buick: The Encore (AWD only), Cascada, LaCrosse, Regal, Enclave and Envision are not equipped with CVTs.

Cadillac: No modern Cadillac is equipped with a CVT.

Chevrolet: The Bolt, Camaro, Corvette, Cruze, Impala, Sonic, Volt, Blazer, Equinox, Tahoe, Suburban, Trailblazer, Traverse, Trax, Colorado and all Silverados are not equipped with CVTs.

Chrysler: No modern Chrysler is equipped with a CVT.

Dodge: No modern Dodge is equipped with a CVT.

Fiat: No modern Fiat is equipped with a CVT.

Ford: Every Ford except the Escape and Fusion hybrids and their truck lineup (except the Maverick hybrid).

Genesis: No modern Genesis is equipped with a CVT.

GMC: No modern GMC is equipped with a CVT.

Honda: The Civic Type R, Honda Fit (with the manual option), Honda Passport, Pilot, Ridgeline and the Odyssey are not equipped with CVTs.

Hyundai: The Sonata, Ioniq, Veloster, Palisade, Santa Fe and Tucson are not equipped with CVTs.

Infiniti: The QX30, QX60, Q50, Q60 and QX80 are not equipped with CVTs.

Jaguar: No modern Jaguar is equipped with a CVT.

Jeep: No modern Jeep is equipped with a CVT.

Kia: The Cadenza, Optima, Stinger, K900, Sportage, Niro, Sorento, Telluride, Sedona and Forte (Optional) are not equipped with CVTs.

Lamborghini: No modern Lamborghini is equipped with a CVT.

Land Rover: No modern Land Rover is equipped with a CVT.

Lexus: Every non-hybrid is not equipped with a CVT.

Lincoln: The non-hybrid Corsair and non-hybrid MKX are not equipped with CVTs.

Maserati: No modern Maserati is equipped with a CVT.

Mazda: No modern Mazda is equipped with a CVT.

Mercedes-Benz: No modern Mercedes is equipped with a CVT.

Mini: No modern Mini is equipped with a CVT.

Mitsubishi: The Mirage with the manual option is the only non-CVT car from Mitsubishi.

Nissan: The 370Z, GT-R, Leaf, Armada, Frontier and the Titan are not equipped with CVTs.

Porsche: No modern Porsche is equipped with a CVT.

RAM: No modern RAM is equipped with a CVT.

Subaru: The manual Impreza and the BRZ are the only non-CVT cars from Subaru.

Tesla: No modern Tesla is equipped with a CVT.

Toyota: The 86, Avalon (non-hybrid), Mirai, Supra, 4Runner, Highlander, Camry (non-hybrid), Corolla (manual only), Yaris (manual only), 4Runner, Highlander (non-hybrid), Land Cruiser, rav4 (non-hybrid), Tacoma and Tundra are not equipped with CVTs.

Volkswagen: No modern Volkswagen is equipped with a CVT.

If CVT is that bad why are most manufacturers using it ? Hii mentality ya some people deserves two awards .
Service you car vile manufacturer ameandika na hii porojo yote ita isha . I would buy a car with CVT any day.

If CVT is that bad why are most manufacturers using it ? Hii mentality ya some people deserves two awards .
Service you car vile manufacturer ameandika na hii porojo yote ita isha . I would buy a car with CVT any day.
Good luck.
The problem isn't service. It's the quality of the CVT fluid, coupled with lack of skills by our mechs in grogon.
I would never touch a CVT. From unreliability to low power to sudden death... I kent

Pseudonyms

From unreliability to low power to sudden death

Hii ndio porojo inasemwa.

Magari za CVT zinaingia Kenya zikiwa zishaendeshwa up to 8 years and 100k-plus kilometers, and they are then subjected to similar or harder usage before iwekelewe kwa mawe, if ever. That's like 15 years.

Kama hio ndio unreliability sijui reliability yako inakaa aje.

Hii ndio porojo inasemwa.

Magari za CVT zinaingia Kenya zikiwa zishaendeshwa up to 8 years and 100k-plus kilometers, and they are then subjected to similar or harder usage before iwekelewe kwa mawe, if ever. That's like 15 years.

Kama hio ndio unreliability sijui reliability yako inakaa aje.
The quality of service here can't be compared to Japan where we source most cars from. Then the sensitivity of the gearbox to mistreatment or foreign fluids makes it a slay queen.
Hapo kwa mech nakubali but on fluid quality we have the best brands available locally from the quoted vendors as shared last year.
Problem is the fakes. And not just on fluids, but mpaka mataa, plugs, filters, etc. And these fakes are also availed from reputable service centers including one with a big name that I won't mention.
And since the CVT is too proud to work with fakes, then death is inevitable.

Hapo kwa power, do you agree?

Problem is the fakes. And not just on fluids, but mpaka mataa, plugs, filters,
Yes fakes are everywhere ,hapa nakubaliana na wewe and that's why my reply indicates the dealers pahali hauwezi nyoroshwa.
And these fakes are also availed from reputable service centers including one with a big name that I won't mention
Sema to express ama wacha tu
CVT is too proud to work with fakes, then death is inevitable.
Try DCT and you will be on IV drips and you will realise CVT si slay queen .
kwa power, do you agree?
Most TCM's that control CVTs are designed in a way that they limit initial torque to avoid breaking the belt /slipping . Have you ever driven a Sienta or Mazda Axela BL ?
On CVTs Aisin gearboxes are as good as regular automatic.

Fact : did you know you can get Mobil CVTF 3320 locally and the fluid is manufactured in Japan . That specific fluid meets the specifications for Toyota ,Daihatsu,Suzuki,Mazda CVT gearboxes . Its available pale Toyota Kenya ikiwa kwa can as below .
1674815612876.png

For those with Subaru Lineatronic CVT , Idemitsu /Jaguar Petroleum should be on your speed dial . Idemitsu is the company that makes "oils" for Subaru if you like to stick to OE fluids .

kiks25

most if not all german vehicle manufacturers dont have cvts. coz they know its shit. even the most basic of an audi,vw or benz haina cvt. but when we go to japan the only high performance engines ndizo wanakosa kuweka coz wanajua hakuna mtu in their right mind would buy a lexus with cvt or a subaru brz with a cvt or even a nissan skyline with cvt. but all these other cheap tins wanazieka cvt.hata mazda waliona hio cvt ni trash and they decided to engineer an automatic gearbox thats even superiour than a cvt. ndio maana watu wananunua the cx5, axela, atenza. i bet you drive a nissan note so you cant really know these things.

i bet you drive a nissan note so you cant really know these things.
Infact i have two just incase moja ikuwe na gearbox failure .

most if not all german vehicle manufacturers dont have cvts. coz they know its shit. even the most basic of an audi,vw or benz haina cvt.
They have DCT which is equally shit if you run your car on shoe string budget .

Gathee zoea kununua fluids/parts legit atakama ni za baiskeli .

FYI : torque determines the ideal gearbox to use .

Sema to express ama wacha tu
Yes, those ones
Most TCM's that control CVTs are designed in a way that they limit initial torque to avoid breaking the belt /slipping . Have you ever driven a Sienta or Mazda Axela BL ?
On CVTs Aisin gearboxes are as good as regular automatic.
Never driven those. But have had a Noah with auto and another with CVT. CVT ni kama punda.

kiks25

Infact i have two just incase moja ikuwe na gearbox failure .

They have DCT which is equally shit if you run your car on shoe string budget .

Gathee zoea kununua fluids/parts legit atakama ni za baiskeli .

FYI : torque determines the ideal gearbox to use .
If you understand why this happened on this video you understand the workings of a cvt gearbox

Attachments

Yes, those ones

Never driven those. But have had a Noah with auto and another with CVT. CVT ni kama punda.
Noah na CVT hapo ni noma, and most probably ulikuwa na passengers .
If you understand why this happened on this video you understand the workings of a cvt gearbox
What exactly is your point why are comparing a VW Golf with a Subaru Outback ?
1. Keep left unless overtaking
2. Flashing headlights is not a signal to race ,ukiflashiwa lights na TVS do you behave the same ?

Lets educate one another with facts .

kiks25

2. Flashing headlights is not a signal to race ,ukiflashiwa lights na TVS do you behave the same ?

Well maybe alikuwa anamflashia lights coz hakuwa amefunga seatbelt ama zip. That subaru wanted to intimidate the golf. Cvt ikafanya ile kitu.

kiks25

Point is the guy alikuwa amekuja na ubaya sana from behind. When the golf pulled away the outback also tried to pull but an sure aliskia cvt imeanza kunuka ikabidi ameze mkia

alikuwa anamflashia lights coz hakuwa amefunga seatbelt ama zip. That subaru wanted to intimidate the golf. Cvt ikafanya ile kitu.
Point is the guy alikuwa amekuja na ubaya sana from behind. When the golf pulled away the outback also tried to pull but an sure aliskia cvt imeanza kunuka ikabidi ameze mkia
Naona we are drifting from the initial CVT conversation .
You win,Team Automatic wins ,CVT sucks .

kiks25

Naona we are drifting from the initial CVT conversation .
You win,Team Automatic wins ,CVT sucks .
hehehe....nilikuwa nachocha tu. but to be real japan car manufacturers need to rethink the cvt, i dont understand how a brand like subaru with a car like an outback and forester,those are semi off road cars thus their ground clearance. but it cant offroad due to cvt. how i was looking forward to owning a subaru legacy wagon due to its engine size, and roomy interior and durability only for them to now come with a cvt.