194 people have died in Kenya due to floods

Kenyans living in flood-prone areas have been asked to relocate immediately as danger is lurking.

The ongoing heavy rains, resulting in raging floods have claimed 194 lives so far.

According to Devolution CS Eugene Wamalwa (pictured), another 30 people have died in the last 24 hours due to floods.

As such, various cabinet secretaries have this morning cautioned people living in flood-prone areas against remaining there as the rains will continue to worsen.

Those living close to rivers, for instance, River Nzoia and Tana whose banks have burst, have been asked to move to higher grounds.

“For those asking where they will move to, note that County commissioners are helping people to move. We are currently using some closed schools as shelter grounds for the affected families,” CS Wamalwa said.

Interior CS Fred Matiang’i stressed on the need of moving saying that the government is moving people away from danger using public resources.

Matiang’i: “We do not have an option. We are moving people by force even if it means putting them in lorries ourselves.”

In the coming days, people living in Garissa, Tana River, and the coastal region are likely to be the most affected as the Meteorological department projects more rains.

Dams

Water levels in some dams across the country have risen to unprecedented levels.

According to Energy CS Charles Keter, water levels at Masinga dam, Kenya's largest hydropower dam have risen to 57.86 meters above sea level, the highest since the dam was built.

This poses a high risk to people living in surrounding areas, and the CS has appealed to those living downstream to relocate as soon as possible, as things are worsening.

The same goes for people living upstream along Turkwell dam, before the rising waters cause more destruction.

Government ministries will continue providing food and water aid to the displaced families, including cash transfers.

An update by the Kenya Meteorological Department (Met) on Tuesday said that heavy rainfall is expected in parts of West Pokot, Trans Nzoia, Keiyo-Marakwet, Bungoma, Uasin Gishu, Nandi, Vihiga, Kisumu, Kericho, Nyamira, Kisii, Narok, and Samburu for the next week.
d1db0ce4-aadb-4452-a595-5108c258c30f.jpg
bac7f059-9d60-4a87-b61f-6eec36c24c4f.jpg
4d29b456-1a6f-46cc-9eb0-699545314b80.jpg
d95e77ce-3587-46cc-b31e-ed7a73845354.jpg
fa248086-3672-4c6f-ab1a-9ac536fcc8d0.jpg
88655001-fe5e-4c0f-8890-d33307086a54.jpg

So this is like the fifth plague, right? Drought and famine, locusts, floods, virus and now floods. What else do we need for kenyans to be set free? Seems more is coming. Before tufike kumi we will have revolted!!

Tribal

The government is trying hard lakini kitu mbaya nikua help had no reached them early for the to escape the foods 😢😢😢😢😢😢but Rip to them 🙏
Kenyans living in flood-prone areas have been asked to relocate immediately as danger is lurking.

The ongoing heavy rains, resulting in raging floods have claimed 194 lives so far.

According to Devolution CS Eugene Wamalwa (pictured), another 30 people have died in the last 24 hours due to floods.

As such, various cabinet secretaries have this morning cautioned people living in flood-prone areas against remaining there as the rains will continue to worsen.

Those living close to rivers, for instance, River Nzoia and Tana whose banks have burst, have been asked to move to higher grounds.

“For those asking where they will move to, note that County commissioners are helping people to move. We are currently using some closed schools as shelter grounds for the affected families,” CS Wamalwa said.

Interior CS Fred Matiang’i stressed on the need of moving saying that the government is moving people away from danger using public resources.

Matiang’i: “We do not have an option. We are moving people by force even if it means putting them in lorries ourselves.”

In the coming days, people living in Garissa, Tana River, and the coastal region are likely to be the most affected as the Meteorological department projects more rains.

Dams

Water levels in some dams across the country have risen to unprecedented levels.

According to Energy CS Charles Keter, water levels at Masinga dam, Kenya's largest hydropower dam have risen to 57.86 meters above sea level, the highest since the dam was built.

This poses a high risk to people living in surrounding areas, and the CS has appealed to those living downstream to relocate as soon as possible, as things are worsening.

The same goes for people living upstream along Turkwell dam, before the rising waters cause more destruction.

Government ministries will continue providing food and water aid to the displaced families, including cash transfers.

An update by the Kenya Meteorological Department (Met) on Tuesday said that heavy rainfall is expected in parts of West Pokot, Trans Nzoia, Keiyo-Marakwet, Bungoma, Uasin Gishu, Nandi, Vihiga, Kisumu, Kericho, Nyamira, Kisii, Narok, and Samburu for the next week.
View attachment 11781View attachment 11782View attachment 11783View attachment 11784View attachment 11785View attachment 11786

The government is trying hard lakini kitu mbaya nikua help had no reached them early for the to escape the foods 😢😢😢😢😢😢but Rip to them 🙏
Warnings have been sounded, but kama kawaida know it all wananchi disregard it. Imekuwa forceful evictions ndio zinatumika.

Bro, this is what I keep saying and people keep calling me names. We in this country seem to have a special case of stupid. And it is not only me who says it. Michael Joseph said it with his 'peculiar comment and he was called a racist. Even Mutahi Kagwe has said it, as well as many more.

watu wanaambiwa wahame, hata kama ni kwa muda, waende kwa jamaa zao mpaka mvua ipungue wananyeta. The next thing they-ve been swept away na ni 'serikali saidia'.

Same way I have been giving the example of condoms. For 30 years now we have been telling Kenyans wavae condoms but know what? WE STILL HAVE ONE OF THE HIGHEST INFECTION RATES IN THE WORLD!!! And then of course, "serikali saidia na dawa na chakula pia kwa sababu hizi dawa lazima mtu akunywe kama amekula".

Guys are lucky that I'll never make president, I swear...............

Bro, this is what I keep saying and people keep calling me names. We in this country seem to have a special case of stupid. And it is not only me who says it. Michael Joseph said it with his 'peculiar comment and he was called a racist. Even Mutahi Kagwe has said it, as well as many more.

watu wanaambiwa wahame, hata kama ni kwa muda, waende kwa jamaa zao mpaka mvua ipungue wananyeta. The next thing they-ve been swept away na ni 'serikali saidia'.

Same way I have been giving the example of condoms. For 30 years now we have been telling Kenyans wavae condoms but know what? WE STILL HAVE ONE OF THE HIGHEST INFECTION RATES IN THE WORLD!!! And then of course, "serikali saidia na dawa na chakula pia kwa sababu hizi dawa lazima mtu akunywe kama amekula".

Guys are lucky that I'll never make president, I swear...............
Relax, its just a sign. As I said, much more is still coming. Probably worse. Earthquakes, war, even burning bushes. Then we'll be liberated forever.