Mugithi....Sgr

Budspencer

We are looking at the 24 billion loss but it's also possible that the port of Mombasa is more efficient due to fast container evacuation and also for the importers it might be an advantage to them too .We might be saving more that the 24 billion indirectly .Less trucks on Mombasa - Nairobi highway also means less maintenance costs for the tarmac .
My 2 cents thinking regarding the SGR .
Mod hukuona hii sarakasi illustrated by Maddo?
FB_IMG_1636785894586.jpg

Mr Black

I don't know how many times am gonna try to educate bonoboz that infrastructural projects like roads, railways and power grids are not supposed to accrue a direct profit....niwachemshie kama soup ama?

Mbona hamnanga...?
Let's forget profitability, is it sustainable? How much cost savings are we enjoying and is the opportunity cost worth the huge outlay?

Sustainability: We are subsidising the trains' operations, over and above repaying the loans and paying the chinese to run the trains, triple jeopardy.

Cost savings: it is patently more expensive than trucks, no savings to pass on to consumers, if anything it is killing jobs in trucking and driving truckers into insolvency.

Opportunity cost: It is part of our huge dollar dominated debt portfolio weakening our shilling.

And how much more positively impactful projects could have been financed to completion with Kes 500Billion? Brand new national referral hospitals cost between 3B - 5B, 50Billion only would have built atleast 10 new ones reducing our specialised treatment costs, same amount invested in dispensaries and health centres would dramatically improve access to healthcare, how many kilometres of roads in mashinani or dams would 250B do?

Opportunity costs is where the proper shafting is happening, won't change even after we repay that debt, we will still need to subsidise it's operations, it is indefensible this one.

Mr Black

We are looking at the 24 billion loss but it's also possible that the port of Mombasa is more efficient due to fast container evacuation and also for the importers it might be an advantage to them too .We might be saving more that the 24 billion indirectly .Less trucks on Mombasa - Nairobi highway also means less maintenance costs for the tarmac .
My 2 cents thinking regarding the SGR .
Unfortunately, the data says we are bleeding money, that lossmaker is running off with enough money to maintain all 18,406kms of our highways in one year. Ongeza subsidy hapo, machos tu.

Link: https://allafrica.com/stories/202109020261.html

An excerpt: In the Annual Public Roads Programme for the 2021/2022 financial year, the Kenya National Highways Authority (Kenha) plans to build and maintain 18,406km of roads across the country, at a staggering cost of Sh24.03 billion

I don't know how many times am gonna try to educate bonoboz that infrastructural projects like roads, railways and power grids are not supposed to accrue a direct profit....niwachemshie kama soup ama?

Mbona hamnanga...?
yea tell them that they can spend as much as is needed as long as the country progresses

I find it more interesting you did not mention Gideon Moi?
I am sure you know the Kenyatta family own a percentage of shares in KPLC. One would question why the general health of the company would not be of interest to Uhuru Kenyatta.
The percentage they own is a matter of public knowledge. Put it here...

I find it more interesting you did not mention Gideon Moi?
I am sure you know the Kenyatta family own a percentage of shares in KPLC. One would question why the general health of the company would not be of interest to Uhuru Kenyatta.
And where is Gedion coming in?

yea tell them that they can spend as much as is needed as long as the country progresses
Very true.
He May also add that street lights aren't expected to bring in a profit. But they are necessary for security.
So it's ok to install them, even at a cost of 50m each, as long as security improves.
In any case, security is so important it can not be monetized, donge?

Let's forget profitability, is it sustainable? How much cost savings are we enjoying and is the opportunity cost worth the huge outlay?

Sustainability: We are subsidising the trains' operations, over and above repaying the loans and paying the chinese to run the trains, triple jeopardy.

Cost savings: it is patently more expensive than trucks, no savings to pass on to consumers, if anything it is killing jobs in trucking and driving truckers into insolvency.

Opportunity cost: It is part of our huge dollar dominated debt portfolio weakening our shilling.

And how much more positively impactful projects could have been financed to completion with Kes 500Billion? Brand new national referral hospitals cost between 3B - 5B, 50Billion only would have built atleast 10 new ones reducing our specialised treatment costs, same amount invested in dispensaries and health centres would dramatically improve access to healthcare, how many kilometres of roads in mashinani or dams would 250B do?

Opportunity costs is where the proper shafting is happening, won't change even after we repay that debt, we will still need to subsidise it's operations, it is indefensible this one.
Unfortunately, the data says we are bleeding money, that lossmaker is running off with enough money to maintain all 18,406kms of our highways in one year. Ongeza subsidy hapo, machos tu.

An excerpt: In the Annual Public Roads Programme for the 2021/2022 financial year, the Kenya National Highways Authority (Kenha) plans to build and maintain 18,406km of roads across the country, at a staggering cost of Sh24.03 billion
Nimetoa pedestrian goggles sasa ndio nipate kuelimika .

Ubongo

The other major advantage is that accidents have reduced drastically in that highway, saving so many lives.
Most of us behave abnormal in our roads.
The Western locomotives will also be fully booked when they begin

The percentage they own is a matter of public knowledge. Put it here...
Indeed it is at 0.11%. 2.2 million shares. The question remains, wouldn't she be bothered that the company is going down while her son is president or maybe she doesn't care because, 1: A bailout is readily available or 2: That is not their main source of revenue at KPLC.
And where is Gedion coming in?
The Moi family own or owned one of the IPP companies which they apparently sold to a foreigner a few years ago. Who is to say they did?
Why has the IPP contract issue delayed for so long? It is obvious that a few familiar and friendly faces are smack in the middle of the chaos at KPLC. J

This is classic whataboutism. How many feeder roads would the 40b used to construct Thinks Rd have built? How many dispensaries would the money used to jenga KICC have constructed? How many people would have the money Nasa used to go to the moon pulled out of poverty? Ujinga na upuzi mtupu.

If the SGR is so useless how come it's booked for the next two months? How many hours does it take to move a container to Brb using the SGR compared to roads? How many passengers - doctors, farmers, engineers, teachers - who we have educated at high cost have died on the SGR compared to say 2014 on Mombasa highway?

Mimi siwaelewangi...

CAN YOU BUILD AND MAINTAIN 18,000KM OF ROADS WITH 24B? Seriously guys, ni akili hamna ama ni nini?

Last edited by a moderator:

Lets do simple maths.
24bn/18000kms is approximately 1.3m per km.
Let's now argue whether that amount can build/maintain a road 1km.
Show me any tarmac road, even a simple two-lane one, that can be built at that cost. And remember Kenya deals with HIGHWAYS, not simple village paths...

Mr Black

If the SGR is so useless how come it's booked for the next two months? How many hours does it take to move a container to Brb using the SGR compared to roads? How many passengers - doctors, farmers, engineers, teachers - who we have educated at high cost have died on the SGR compared to say 2014 on Mombasa highway?
Have you seen the numbers ama ni kupayuka tu?

sgr.jpeg

Passenger revenues are a blip really as expected because the SGR was built primarily for cargo evacuation, it's bread and butter and it's performance in this segment has been consistently poor despite government forcing all imports on it.

I am pretty sure it wouldn't cost 370billion to save a few dozen lives on Mombasa road if we tried, I wonder how many kilometres of NMT lanes that figure would build:unsure::unsure::unsure: which would save pedestrians who are actually the biggest number of casualties from road accidents accounting for more than half of all fatalities.