Kanziku

The land doesn't have a title. But they have official parcel numbers.
Indeed, its a gamble coz you never know when the ngafament will gazette the area as part of the park. Bit in the meantime, utakua umeikulia vilivyo.
No wonder it's 15k per acre. Renting. If you get 10 years with the returns you calculated hapo juu, uko sawa.

Two parcels @500k = 1m
Animals = 100k
6 visits and overheads per year @25k = 150k

Total 1250

6 'sales' @75k every 2 months = 450k/year

You'll break even in year 3, assuming no drought or pilferage. Do not call the 30k you collect every 2 months profit until you have cleared you investment costs.

Pioneer ni wewe!! (y)

emali

Watu wawache kufanya kazi mababu zao walifanya. These jobs should be left to village people. You need to justify the education investment we spent on you. Rusheni mawe.
this is as close as you will get to passive investment..hakuna mtu amesema ataenda kulisha mbuzi huko..as a matter of fact, you are actually creating employment to all parties involved..

Watu wawache kufanya kazi mababu zao walifanya. These jobs should be left to village people. You need to justify the education investment we spent on you. Rusheni mawe.
Real money is made at the bottom of the pyramid...(remember Maslow)? Only the methods should be modernised...so start thinking of how we can grow greenhouse goats (said with a very light touch).

No wonder it's 15k per acre. Renting. If you get 10 years with the returns you calculated hapo juu, uko sawa.

Two parcels @500k = 1m
Animals = 100k
6 visits and overheads per year @25k = 150k

Total 1250

6 'sales' @75k every 2 months = 450k/year

You'll break even in year 3, assuming no drought or pilferage. Do not call the 30k you collect every 2 months profit until you have cleared you investment costs.

Pioneer ni wewe!! (y)
And 2 parcels of 15 acres each will go for ½m, not 1m.

For this investment to make sense, this is my advice based on 7 months' experience.
1) plan to have a herd size of 50 or thereabouts. Start with 25 males and 25 females. That is 90k. Within 6 months, your herd will have doubled, especially because the goats give birth to two or 3. And they breed like rats.
2) get at least 2 parcels not far from each other. Each around 15 acres. Every 3 months, move your herd to the other parcel. That's 450k. Add structures and miscellaneous and donkey, so call it 500k.
3) every visit there will cost you around 10k. And every month you spend like 7k on salt, meds and salos.
4) plan a visit every 2 months. Utapata at least 15 goats ready for market. Those will pay your expenses.
In the two months, you will have spent like 15k plus 10k for the trip, so 25k total. Each goat will fetch 5k in Nairobi wholesale price. So you have 75k. A net of 50. Restock 10 @1800, so you can comfortably count a profit of 30k every 2 months.
And your herd is forever increasing.
And its a good holiday out of nairobbery.
na nani ata makesure the chief and header don't decide to make the goats theirs?

mkanyi1

What's the guarantee that the goats will be secure.Maybe the herdsmen watauza zote,nifike siku moja nipate ni miti mbili ya fence pekeyake ndo nimepakishiwa.

RANDY $

I have bn following this guy for minute has some good insight on goat farming......ningekua nimeanza kitambo but procrastination inanimaliza.....
Appproximate cost ya kuleta izo mbuzi nairobi ni howmuch?