Is Maize a political wedge in Rift Valley ?

MkukiMoto

The Star: Ruto allies accuse Uhuru of punishing Rift Valley maize farmers

In Summary
• The DP lieutenants claimed the decision to stop buying maize for the Strategic Food Reserve is a manoeuvre to cut the DP down to size.
• Maize is an emotive subject in the expansive Rift Valley region, which is considered as the country's food basket.

The last time the government set aside funds for maize it was eaten by a man and his few cronies. The man then went on to tell the farmers to stop bothering themselves and grow avocado instead. A PS who oversaw the stealing off the maize money went on to boast to his rural community that he stole the enemy's money.

The Star: Ruto allies accuse Uhuru of punishing Rift Valley maize farmers

In Summary
• The DP lieutenants claimed the decision to stop buying maize for the Strategic Food Reserve is a manoeuvre to cut the DP down to size.
• Maize is an emotive subject in the expansive Rift Valley region, which is considered as the country's food basket.

in 2018 waliambiwa wapande avacado hawakuskia

"
Governor Mandago said his administration is educating maize farmers on the importance of diversification.

“We have launched awareness campaigns on the need for crop diversification instead of relying on maize alone, which is no longer profitable,” he said"

Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen has said he is quitting maize farming for Avocados.

In a post on his Facebook page, the Senator claimed he had not received payments of the maize he delivered to the National Cereals and Produce Board (NCBP) six months ago.

"Until now, I haven't been paid," reads part of his post.

According to Murkomen, he has made it clear that he will not plant maize again and he will be moving to plant avocados.

He, however, regretted why he planted maize yet he has no contract with anyone to feed.

The last time the government set aside funds for maize it was eaten by a man and his few cronies. The man then went on to tell the farmers to stop bothering themselves aand grow avocado instead. A PS who oversaw the stealing off the maize money went on to boast to his rural community that he stole the enemy's money.

President Uhuru's reign has been characterized by a chronic inability to achieve the objectives set out in his manifesto and policy decisions, he has become an expert at throwing the baby with the bath water so this move isnt the exception.

Evidence can be critical and important
Hata mimi nangoja evidence. In the current jubilee wars, farmers should be left out. How was the money eaten yet those who had delivered maize to NCPB got paid? You say you will no longer buy maize from farmers yet you go ahead and import 4m bags? By now tungekua tumepata subsidized GoK branded top dressers(nice mixture of Urea and CAN) @1500-1600 bob per sack. Sahii ni kuenda kwa muhindi with 2300. Isorait, but sielewi why extend the spite to the farmer.

Heneway, growing maize for sale is a thankless job. Whoever said people need to diversity to things like Avocado was damn right, unless you're growing it for silage.

President Uhuru's reign has been characterized by a chronic inability to achieve the objectives set out in his manifesto and policy decisions, he has become an expert at throwing the baby with the bath water so this move isnt the exception.

Join me in Thirdway Alliance.

Hata mimi nangoja evidence. In the current jubilee wars, farmers should be left out. How was the money eaten yet those who had delivered maize to NCPB got paid? You say you will no longer buy maize from farmers yet you go ahead and import 4m bags? By now tungekua tumepata subsidized GoK branded top dressers(nice mixture of Urea and CAN) @1500-1600 bob per sack. Sahii ni kuenda kwa muhindi with 2300. Isorait, but sielewi why extend the spite to the farmer.

Heneway, growing maize for sale is a thankless job. Whoever said people need to diversity to things like Avocado was damn right, unless you're growing it for silage.
We've been talking about maize with you since misri and you even told us you've gone to silage instead. Now you want to bury your head in the sand and play politics too?

Leta evidence that money allocated for NCPB was eaten by an individual. Playing politics?? Are you kiddding me?? You say you'll no longer buy maize from farmers then go ahead and import. Last time when Kiunjuri was at the helm, I remember you vehemently opposed importation of maize. I guess it's OK to import now, ama?

Truth is, the farmer is a pony in these party wars.

Leta evidence that money allocated for NCPB was eaten by an individual. Playing politics?? Are you kiddding me?? You say you'll no longer buy maize from farmers then go ahead and import. Last time when Kiunjuri was at the helm, I remember you vehemently opposed importation of maize. I guess it's OK to import now, ama?

Truth is, the farmer is a pony in these party wars.
I hope you are not blinding yourself to the fact that it is not the government importing but millers.

:ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
Kwani kuna wakati ni serikali did the importation directly? Hata ile ya Mexico was by private companies only that import tax was waived.

Bado hujajibu swali yangu. Is it OK to import now that Kiunjuri was ousted coz last time ulipinga kabisa. Again why extend jubilee wars to farmers? Pia nangoja evidence ya pesa kuliwa by an individual.