AOB Saturday Outage Endishen

Wadau nini hii mitoto imeweka Kwa simu wangu?
Screenshot_20200509-084513.png

National grid was vandalised last night
Aki watu wa nyumba !
Expound. I heard Kenya Power explain and show us "an insulator" that "failed" causing a "fault" that led to a "cascade of problems" down the lines.
Indeed, it was a failure of the insulator. When such happens, this creates a "short" which is registered at the nearest generation station. The station goes offline. Since this is a sharp decline in supply, the remaining grid is overloaded and goes offline as well.

Once the "short" is rectified, you have to restart the stations in phases. The first one to restart is given time to attain full load, then the supply is switched kidogo kidogo. Once you near 70%, you switch on the second station. Now this is tricky coz it has to be synchronized to the first one. Synchronization means the phase sequence and frequency at the two stations are same. This takes time,and once fully synchronized, you wait to achieve full load generation and start switching on more supply. This process is repeated till all the stations are online and fully synchronized.

That is the reason it takes quite a lot of time to restore supply countrywide.

Can
Indeed, it was a failure of the insulator. When such happens, this creates a "short" which is registered at the nearest generation station. The station goes offline. Since this is a sharp decline in supply, the remaining grid is overloaded and goes offline as well.

Once the "short" is rectified, you have to restart the stations in phases. The first one to restart is given time to attain full load, then the supply is switched kidogo kidogo. Once you near 70%, you switch on the second station. Now this is tricky coz it has to be synchronized to the first one. Synchronization means the phase sequence and frequency at the two stations are same. This takes time,and once fully synchronized, you wait to achieve full load generation and start switching on more supply. This process is repeated till all the stations are online and fully synchronized.

That is the reason it takes quite a lot of time to restore supply countrywide.
Can sees you are conversant with Power generation and transmission .
The main grid from olkari- dandora was vandalised at sasini estate at kiambu county . This triggered off the generators