Kenya Power

@Aviator weka solution hapa including costs
An average of 7 units a day. fridge, instant shower, na bla bla bla zingine.
The need for most kenyan household are practically the same..... weka info.
Here we go. This should serve you for 20yrs. Plan to replace batteries every 5 years.
Screenshot_20200419-201030.png

ile siku nitaweza kuchukua ka loan, instal hii kidude then the monthly service ya the loan iwe comparable to my KPLC bills mtakuwa na biachara kuruka
If you spend 1m over 20 yrs, that's like 4k monthly.
Does it make sense?

And am still replacing the 250K batteries after every 5yrs??? Personally i find solar very expensive, i usually don't see the gain, but that's just me.
Solar isn't cheap.
But small systems ( lighting, TV, fringe, etc ) are cost-effective. Problems start when you include cooking, shower, ironing, etc.

I agree with the OP.

Kenya Power was starting to do very well around 2009 - 2012, and blackouts were becoming a thing of the past, thanks to prudent investments in distribution and the Kibaki Administration's insistence on more transparency.

And then the dynamic duo checked in.

For some reason, they figured that transmitting electricity to people WHO DID NOT NEED IT, HAD NOT APPLIED FOR IT, AND WHO COULD NOT PAY FOR IT was 'development'. That's when you saw manyattas and grass structures being supplied with electricity. After the initial free tokens were finished nobody paid. Lines worth billions are not generating anything. I initially supported the initiative coz I thought these guys had a plan but kumbe! It was populist nonsense that did not make economic sense just like the laptop BS.

But worse was to come.

To create opportunities for rent-seekers and other PC crooks, KPLC was made to take the incredibly retarded decision to replace wooden poles with concrete ones.

Now, anybody who is more than 40 years old knows a wooden pole that has been there since he was born, and is still standing strong. They last forever even when knocked by a car. KPLC was made to uproot very good wooden poles which were just 5 years old to replace them with concrete ones. Elsewhere, as anybody can see on several roads including Langata Road, perfectly working street lights, with one or two defectives, were abandoned, and parallel lines of concrete street lights were set up! (a truly bizarre situation where you now have two sets of street lights that don't work!).

All these shenanigans bankrupted KP. Now, it cannot replace defective transformers or respond in time to breakdowns.

This is the legacy of Uhuru, an inept drunk. If this guy ruled for 24 years like Moi, he would leave similar devastation.

Thankfully, wacha miaka zake ziishe we see whether we can recover. Meanwhile, more blackouts on the way................

That's when you saw manyattas and grass structures being supplied with electricity. After the initial free tokens were finished nobody paid. Lines worth billions are not generating anything. I initially supported the initiative coz I thought these guys had a plan but kumbe!
Come clean and say you supported it coz it was from UK, not because it made any sense to you. Blind support.