Jack Ma the greatest

Hujasoma kwamba hiyo mask haiwezi kukusaidia kama mraiya unless wewe ni doktari au caregiver?

Health Experts Are Telling Healthy People Not to Wear Face Masks for Coronavirus. So Why Are So Many Doing It?

Close
293884104_6128626647001_6128630225001-th.jpg

BY MANDY OAKLANDER

MARCH 4, 2020
As the new coronavirus COVID-19 spreads in the U.S., people who are well want to stay that way. But since no vaccines are currently available, the strongest weapons Americans have are basic preventive measures like hand-washing and sanitizing surfaces, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
The simplicity of those recommendations is likely unsettling to people anxious to do more to protect themselves, so it’s no surprise that face masks are in short supply—despite the CDC specifically not recommending them for healthy people trying to protect against COVID-19. “It seems kind of intuitively obvious that if you put something—whether it’s a scarf or a mask—in front of your nose and mouth, that will filter out some of these viruses that are floating around out there,” says Dr. William Schaffner, professor of medicine in the division of infectious diseases at Vanderbilt University. The only problem: that’s not effective against respiratory illnesses like the flu and COVID-19. If it were, “the CDC would have recommended it years ago,” he says. “It doesn’t, because it makes science-based recommendations.”
So social distancing is more effective than putting the protective mask on?
Why do medics and people at high risk areas adorning them?

If the masks can protect the medics, why can't they protect the masses?

There are not enough of them to go around. Medics are at a higher risk of infection so we should prioritize them. Washing hands and social distancing has been shown to be effective if not more effective than masks for the masses .

Why do medics and people at high risk areas adorning them?
Surgical mask
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to navigationJump to search
For other uses, see Respirator.

A surgical mask, also called a FFP (filtering facepiece particles)

A medical professional wearing a surgical mask during an operation
A surgical mask, also known as a procedure mask, medical mask or simply as a face mask,[1][2] is intended to be worn by health professionals during surgery and during nursing to catch the bacteria shed in liquid droplets and aerosols from the wearer's mouth and nose. They are not designed to protect the wearer from inhaling airborne bacteria or virus particles and are less effective than respirators, such as N95 or FFP masks, which provide better protection due to their material, shape and tight seal.
Surgical masks are popularly worn by the general public all year round in East Asian countries like China, Japan, South Korea and Taiwan to reduce the chance of spreading airborne diseases and to prevent the breathing in of airborne dust particles created by air pollution.[3] Additionally, surgical masks have become a fashion statement, particularly in contemporary East Asian culture bolstered by its popularity in Japanese and Korean pop culture which have a big impact on East Asian youth culture.[4][5] More recently, due to the rising issue of smog in South and Southeast Asia, surgical masks and air filtering face masks are now frequently used in major cities in India, Nepal and Thailand when air quality deteriorates to toxic levels.[6][7][8] Additionally, face masks are used in Indonesia, Malaysia and Singapore during the Southeast Asian haze season.[9][10] Air filtering surgical-style masks are quite popular across Asia and as a result, many companies have released masks that not only prevent the breathing in of airborne dust particles but are also fashionable

Surgical mask
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to navigationJump to search
For other uses, see Respirator.

A surgical mask, also called a FFP (filtering facepiece particles)

A medical professional wearing a surgical mask during an operation
A surgical mask, also known as a procedure mask, medical mask or simply as a face mask,[1][2] is intended to be worn by health professionals during surgery and during nursing to catch the bacteria shed in liquid droplets and aerosols from the wearer's mouth and nose. They are not designed to protect the wearer from inhaling airborne bacteria or virus particles and are less effective than respirators, such as N95 or FFP masks, which provide better protection due to their material, shape and tight seal.
Surgical masks are popularly worn by the general public all year round in East Asian countries like China, Japan, South Korea and Taiwan to reduce the chance of spreading airborne diseases and to prevent the breathing in of airborne dust particles created by air pollution.[3] Additionally, surgical masks have become a fashion statement, particularly in contemporary East Asian culture bolstered by its popularity in Japanese and Korean pop culture which have a big impact on East Asian youth culture.[4][5] More recently, due to the rising issue of smog in South and Southeast Asia, surgical masks and air filtering face masks are now frequently used in major cities in India, Nepal and Thailand when air quality deteriorates to toxic levels.[6][7][8] Additionally, face masks are used in Indonesia, Malaysia and Singapore during the Southeast Asian haze season.[9][10] Air filtering surgical-style masks are quite popular across Asia and as a result, many companies have released masks that not only prevent the breathing in of airborne dust particles but are also fashionable

Thanks for this article. People should face the facts.

My friend check on Mauritania, Chad and Mali na uniambie kama combined cases sio tongweno

According to WHO, both Chad and Mauritania have reported cases of Corid-19 infection. I didn't find any data for Mali, which is experiencing a war. Now back to our discussion. What can Kenya failed to do that has been tried elsewhere successfully?

Ban inbound international flights, ground national career, close all borders. But because it would have impacted on the business interest of a few....tuko kwa the current situation. Like i said up there, do a comparison of the econimic cost then and compare that to the situation a month from now.

Governments require taxes to run. Citizens need jobs. Sbutting down has huge economic implications, that is why all governments have been hesitant and have been resisting. Check Drumpf, Boris, Kagame and even M7.

FYI, KQ landed in Free Town after declaring the first cases back in Nairobi wakaambiwa hivo vile wamekuja warudi tu hivo. Ni mafuta waliongezewa tu. Despite such stringent measures, they have declared 12-month state of public health emergency

As for Mali, whose president made it clear that the whole airspace is banned after France toyed with their initial ban, naona umesema ati they're in a state of war. Why not for Burkina Faso, Niger and Chad who are affected by the same terrorists? Huwezi tetea ujinga kama huu. KQ is allowing flight upto tomorrow! Personal interest my friend.

It's better to lose a bit financially but uonekane uko na spine than let in all manner of uchafu juu ya pesa.

Governments require taxes to run. Citizens need jobs. Sbutting down has huge economic implications, that is why all governments have been hesitant and have been resisting.

Take your time

FYI, KQ landed in Free Town after declaring the first cases back in Nairobi wakaambiwa hivo vile wamekuja warudi tu hivo. Ni mafuta waliongezewa tu. Despite such stringent measures, they have declared 12-month state of public health emergency

As for Mali, whose president made it clear that the whole airspace is banned after France toyed with their initial ban, naona umesema ati they're in a state of war. Why not for Burkina Faso, Niger and Chad who are affected by the same terrorists? Huwezi tetea ujinga kama huu. KQ is allowing flight upto tomorrow! Personal interest my friend.

It's better to lose a bit financially but uonekane uko na spine than let in all manner of uchafu juu ya pesa.

Mali closed its airspace last week on 19th. This is a whole three weeks after the first regional case in Nigeria on 28th February. That is dodging a bullet. Sheer luck.

Regarding the economy, just listen to what people are saying huko mtaani and even kwa hii kijiji. Lockdown is and will be disastrous to the economy. It's not a light decision.

Yet the police are forcing citizenry to stay indoors? Can you make up your mind

Its you who hasn't made up his mind on this issue. You say that shutdown should have been done earlier. With hindsight, I agree. However I disagree that the government was negligent in hesitating to shutdown. It's disastrous to the economy even if it only involved foreign travel. Think of the domino effect. Show me a government that shutdown without evidence of immediate threat and I will shut up.

Its you who hasn't made up his mind on this issue. You say that shutdown should have been done earlier.
International flights (including KQ grounding) and border shutdown should have been done earlier, are we together?

However I disagree that the government was negligent in hesitating to shutdown. It's disastrous to the economy even if it only involved foreign travel.
I told you to do a comparison of the cost to the economy then and now, iko wapi?

Show me a government that shutdown without evidence of immediate threat and I will shut up.

Why would a government shutdown WITHOUT sensing a threat? Are you implying there was no immediate threat? Don't play around with words to save face. Kwaniii, when we got our first corona case, there wasn't evidence of immediate threat week/months before? A flight from Guangzhou, the second biggest epicenter of the virus in the world at the time, wasn't an immediate threat enough for us to shut shop? I want you to go back and look at the sequence of events. Nairobi and Addis being hubs in Africa should have been the first to act to save Eastern Africa. Some quarters nearly lynched that Abdi guy who worked at JKIA's airside. Days later Macharia put his big foot into his even bigger mouth. Right now Health CS is begging Kenyans to stay indoors, something which they should BTW. As we speak, there are inbound flights which might be having this thing.

I've already given you examples of countries who banned flights to their countries on sensing the virus drawing closer and saved the day, LIKE WE OUGHT TO HAVE DONE!

International flights (including KQ grounding) and border shutdown should have been done earlier, are we together?

I told you to do a comparison of the cost to the economy then and now, iko wapi?

Why would a government shutdown WITHOUT sensing a threat? Are you implying there was no immediate threat? Don't play around with words to save face. Kwaniii, when we got our first corona case, there wasn't evidence of immediate threat week/months before? A flight from Guangzhou, the second biggest epicenter of the virus in the world at the time, wasn't an immediate threat enough for us to shut shop? I want you to go back and look at the sequence of events. Nairobi and Addis being hubs in Africa should have been the first to act to save Eastern Africa. Some quarters nearly lynched that Abdi guy who worked at JKIA's airside. Days later Macharia put his big foot into his even bigger mouth. Right now Health CS is begging Kenyans to stay indoors, something which they should BTW. As we speak, there are inbound flights which might be having this thing.

I've already given you examples of countries who banned flights to their countries on sensing the virus drawing closer and saved the day, LIKE WE OUGHT TO HAVE DONE!
Quite sensible , ata mtu wa mjengo alikuwa anasema hizo ndege zisiingie . Biashara la familia lazima ingeendelea mpaka kesho midnight