Nairobi's Fading Glory

I was scrolling through Elon's app and witnessed this sequence of tweets:
1734420001560.webp

Which, as someone born in Pumwani (kanjo hospital), raised in Buruburu (gava-built estate) and schooled in Upper Hill (public school), and now working in Karen (all in Nai), got me thinking...

We grew up knowing our capital city as the City in the Sun. Even the name Nairobi, derived from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyrobi, means "place of cool waters."

But damn, Kanairo has truly fallen off.

A lot can be said—and dissected—about why this once-proud city, a beacon in the region and a beloved home to many of us, has devolved into a cesspool of filth, inefficiency, and crime. Is it the population boom that overwhelmed its resources and infrastructure? The years of bad governance rooted in City Hall? Or a cocktail of other systemic failures? Whatever the reasons, Nairobi just isn’t what it used to be.

Yes, it’s now a sprawling metropolis stretching into Kajiado, Machakos, and Kiambu counties. Expats rave about its weather, modernity, and uptown vibe. But let’s be real—it’s like putting makeup on a pig. I barely venture into the CBD anymore and when I do, it hurts to see what 047 is turning out to be, amazing pics of the Expressway not withstanding. Even once-pristine neighborhoods like Kilimani, Donholm, and Westlands have been reduced to shadowy, run-down versions of themselves. And the saddest part? There seems to be no solution in sight.

Maybe one day, we’ll see a grand master plan to save the city—perhaps by decentralizing political functions and enforcing strict urban planning. But until then, all we can do is watch helplessly as Kanairo continues to sink, falling further behind cities like Kigali. Sad.

Kilimani and kileleshwa and now glorious pipeline estate. I dislike the current state of Nairobi with a passion.

Very sad indeed. And this won't change any time soon if we continue to let boda boda thugs and other misfits elect our leaders. People like Sakaja should never be let anywhere near the decision-making echelons of leadership. People who own property in Nairobi don't have enough numbers to effect change, and if they do, they never see any need to actively participate in electing their leaders. People who thrive in chaos and disorganization are the ones who turn up to vote, so they give us trash like Sonko, Waititu, and Sakaja. All these fucks know their votes come from the slums. What do we expect? This malaise has spread to the rural areas, where you can buy someone with 200/-. We are fucked.

What happened to Nairobi Metropolitan Services?
They wrapped up their operations once Uhuru Kenyatta left office. Remember, they had been tasked with managing Nairobi after Sonko's ouster. In hindsight, they performed better than any devolved administration before or after, although at the time, many people felt Uhuru was using the military to control Nairobi.

During their tenure, they oversaw the paving of roads, even in slums, improved water distribution, and enhanced street lighting. However, their most controversial project was the development of the Green Park Terminus. While it was visionary, it proved impractical despite consuming nearly a quarter of a billion shillings. They were also the ones who initiated the facelift of Uhuru Park.

Was nairobi ever glorified for those of us who came here in 2017? If so what glory was there?
Systems worked.

Even in Eastlands, one felt and saw the input of the Nairobi City Council. Whenever I visited my relaz in places like Dandora, there would be uninterrupted running water, street lights worked perfectly, social halls were vibrant, trash used to be collected weekly in silver metallic bins with their distinguishable NCC branding, public schools were amazing with huge fields and public transport worked. Bro, Nairobi was amazing. Not perfect, but simply that systems worked. Weekends ukienda place kama Uhuru Park, you would have a jolly time and free of charge. Yes, people might not have had as much disposable income as today, but it felt like a city of dwelling and thriving. I know nostalgia can cloud the mind but even the photos of growing up in 90s Kanairo painted a very different picture.

The rain started beating us mid-90s. As Moi once quiped, siasa mbaya, maisha mbaya.

Systems worked.

Even in Eastlands, one felt and saw the input of the Nairobi City Council. Whenever I visited my relaz in places like Dandora, there would be uninterrupted running water, street lights worked perfectly, social halls were vibrant, trash used to be collected weekly in silver metallic bins with their distinguishable NCC branding, public schools were amazing with huge fields and public transport worked. Bro, Nairobi was amazing. Not perfect, but simply that systems worked. Weekends ukienda place kama Uhuru Park, you would have a jolly time and free of charge. Yes, people might not have had as much disposable income as today, but it felt like a city of dwelling and thriving. I know nostalgia can cloud the mind but even the photos of growing up in 90s Kanairo painted a very different picture.

The rain started beating us mid-90s. As Moi once quiped, siasa mbaya, maisha mbaya.
I have a different take, sisi wale tumelelewa ocha tunaona maisha nairobi iko sawa kabisa, i remember outer ring road being hell on earth now it is a breeze, i remember coming to visit my relatives on mombasa road and thika road was just shitty, we would be forced to hold each others hands because it was the norm that kids would get stolen as well as even getting your watches snatched right from your arms. I still recall hawkers were prevalent in those times, same as today. Matatu za 44 na 45 were more chaotic than today...atleast the roads are way better and more organised today than before.

BTW pia kuna personal responsibility in this matter.
For instance, sijawahi elewa why people pollute and still live in very dirty and inhumane conditions (hi Pipeline) coz at the end of the day, gava has proved that despite taxes being paid and land rates being charged, haitafnya shiet.
Another bit ni over-population and the message of @Field Marshal regarding that.
Lastly, kuna shida zimeletwa na more disposable income. Then, a household with a car was living a very prestigious life...sahii, kuna household ya 4 members ata gari mbili hazitoshi leading to crazy traffic and fumes all over.

For instance, sijawahi elewa why people pollute and still live in very dirty and inhumane conditions (hi Pipeline) coz at the end of the day, gava has proved that despite taxes being paid and land rates being charged, haitafnya shiet.
Another bit ni over-population and the message of @Field Marshal regarding that.
Lastly, kuna shida zimeletwa na more disposable income. Then, a household with a car was living a very prestigious life...sahii, kuna household ya 4 members ata gari mbili hazitoshi leading to crazy traffic and fumes all over.
I also forgot that there are bypasses now and it is easier to now commute in nairobi and traffic jams have reduced unlike before

@Field Marshal alikufa finally?