Asanteh sana. You are an encourager and an inspiration.Great to see progress. Keep going
Dope, that grass needs some tending to avoid encountering snakesI have glad tidings for all those Senators practicing husbandry or interested, however remotely, to matters agrarian.
Anyway, greetings and warm regards from my orchard here by the shadows of the Mountain.
I am busy tilling the land and keeping away from trouble.
As you are no doubt very much aware, I ventured into pomology three years ago.
I haven’t looked back since despite coming face to face with multitudes of challenges and struggles, some borne of ignorance whilst others, frankly and unashamedly, of my own making.
Briefly, the lengths and the shorts are that I have Avocados and the Macadamias.
The Hass Avocados have since flowered, blossomed and produced the very first fruits.
The next few months will hopefully see them produce fruit on a commercial scale.
View attachment 102002
View attachment 102003
View attachment 102004
The Macadamias however will need at least two more years to commence yielding as they generally takes a bit longer to mature.
They are nevertheless thriving and doing quite well.
View attachment 102005
View attachment 102006
There have been many challenges with this undertaking not least pests and infestations but the biggest headache has been aqua.
I was stupid and naive to commence this project without my own water source.
I made a terrible miscalculation by not drilling my own borehole - all this against best practices’ and advice, I must admit.
All said and done though, I am deriving a lot of joy and pleasure from this endeavour.
I wish to thank all the Listers who have been encouraging me all along, particularly @Mwalimu and @Amooti.
It is time you gave your coordinates so that I bring the avocados over.
@mzeiya, Rev. Fr @Liberty and @The Black Templar, I know you are great connoisseurs of makondobia.
Kindly pin up your lokeshens please for prompt delivery.
Thank you.Dope, that grass needs some tending to avoid encountering snakes
Did you keep some bees?Thank you.
You could be right. However that land is quite sloppy and vulnerable to water and wind erosion.
The Experts have advised that I keep the some grass cover to prevent this.
You might also consider some contour trenching to reduce water speed allowing to percolate, hence reducing your need for supllemetary watering during dry spells.The Experts have advised that I keep the some grass cover to prevent this
Siku dementia itakuongoza ufungue hii kitu ndio utaona mwoto.
I am missing one in my plate today, nun forgot to add in my menu. I am having rice and beens just now. I love avocados, good work keep up pleaseI have glad tidings for all those Senators practicing husbandry or interested, however remotely, to matters agrarian.
Anyway, greetings and warm regards from my orchard here by the shadows of the Mountain.
I am busy tilling the land and keeping away from trouble.
As you are no doubt very much aware, I ventured into pomology three years ago.
I haven’t looked back since despite coming face to face with multitudes of challenges and struggles, some borne of ignorance whilst others, frankly and unashamedly, of my own making.
Briefly, the lengths and the shorts are that I have Avocados and the Macadamias.
The Hass Avocados have since flowered, blossomed and produced the very first fruits.
The next few months will hopefully see them produce fruit on a commercial scale.
View attachment 102002
View attachment 102003
View attachment 102004
The Macadamias however will need at least two more years to commence yielding as they generally takes a bit longer to mature.
They are nevertheless thriving and doing quite well.
View attachment 102005
View attachment 102006
There have been many challenges with this undertaking not least pests and infestations but the biggest headache has been aqua.
I was stupid and naive to commence this project without my own water source.
I made a terrible miscalculation by not drilling my own borehole - all this against best practices’ and advice, I must admit.
All said and done though, I am deriving a lot of joy and pleasure from this endeavour.
I wish to thank all the Listers who have been encouraging me all along, particularly @Mwalimu and @Amooti.
It is time you gave your coordinates so that I bring the avocados over.
@mzeiya, Rev. Fr @Liberty and @The Black Templar, I know you are great connoisseurs of makondobia.
Kindly pin up your lokeshens please for prompt delivery.
Huku ni Kieni ama chaka? How do you deal with ants infestation, the sesya/mugaa/acacia tree is beloved by ants.
I will bring you some if you are still at Consolata Cathedral Nyeri.I am missing one in my plate today, nun forgot to add in my menu. I am having rice and beens just now. I love avocados, good work keep up please
Now that I have your attention, kindly tell me where I could get a few saddle wood seedlings please. Asanteh sana @ClemensHuku ni Kieni ama chaka? How do you deal with ants infestation, the sesya/mugaa/acacia tree is beloved by ants.
Bado niko Consolata Cathedral NyeriI will bring you some if you are still at Consolata Cathedral Nyeri.
I need to do some penance and confession with an understanding and compassionate Father like yourself as, truthfully speaking, I have been a bad Girl.
I am not far from Nyeri and my ticket won’t break the bank so I don’t need to ask you to “send fare”.