The one man, one shilling, one vote debate

The above mentioned ongoing debate that's taking an ethnic angle, reminds me of pre-2005 ndizi and chungwa shenanigans, the Central Kenya elite always thrive on creating a siege mentality on their own, that doesn't resonate well with the rest of the country.
Emotional and social intelligence of central Kenya leadership is always off, and they have never gauged the perceptions of others, sometimes I think it must be something in the waters or the African sausage tree(muratina) that has been imbibed years long. For example Kakamega, Kisumu, Mombasa, Machakos, Uasin Gishu, Bungoma and Kericho counties being more populous than say Kirinyaga, Murang'a, Nyandarua and Nyeri counties would benefit more from the call.
But funny thing you wouldn't hear a pip from the leaders from those areas, they're socially intelligent enough to appear opposing it publicly, but secretly hoping that it comes to pass, it would have a two-pronged effect, make a pariah out of the central politicians, while benefiting them in the long run.
We all watch as you fools tighten the noose upon your collective necks, at the same time galvanising the rest of Kenya against you. A question I would ask, does the leadership of central Kenya have political and economic advisors? And most importantly do they take time to listen to them? I have been following the financial and maths wizards from the mountain, the likes of Ephraim Njenga and Mungai Kihanya and the advice given is contrary to the clamour of your top politicians.
Have a sitting with your politicians and ask them to stop leading you to a cliff.

The above mentioned ongoing debate that's taking an ethnic angle, reminds me of pre-2005 ndizi and chungwa shenanigans, the Central Kenya elite always thrive on creating a siege mentality on their own, that doesn't resonate well with the rest of the country.
Emotional and social intelligence of central Kenya leadership is always off, and they have never gauged the perceptions of others, sometimes I think it must be something in the waters or the African sausage tree(muratina) that has been imbibed years long. For example Kakamega, Kisumu, Mombasa, Machakos, Uasin Gishu, Bungoma and Kericho counties being more populous than say Kirinyaga, Murang'a, Nyandarua and Nyeri counties would benefit more from the call.
But funny thing you wouldn't hear a pip from the leaders from those areas, they're socially intelligent enough to appear opposing it publicly, but secretly hoping that it comes to pass, it would have a two-pronged effect, make a pariah out of the central politicians, while benefiting them in the long run.
We all watch as you fools tighten the noose upon your collective necks, at the same time galvanising the rest of Kenya against you. A question I would ask, does the leadership of central Kenya have political and economic advisors? And most importantly do they take time to listen to them? I have been following the financial and maths wizards from the mountain, the likes of Ephraim Njenga and Mungai Kihanya and the advice given is contrary to the clamour of your top politicians.
Have a sitting with your politicians and ask them to stop leading you to a cliff.

For any society to progress somebody gotta do the dirty work. Remember the clamour for multipartyism, fight for independence and the new constitution - the "terrorists/villains" became the heros once it was achieved. Though you raise very valid points - there is probably a more mature way to bring the issue to the table.

I mistook you for kasaman for a moment and that made my heart skip.

You are right. I think it's all populism. To make the masses rally behind you, 1. Identify their enemy, and 2. tell them what they'd want to hear. If truly the one shilling one vote was to be adopted, most of the resources and constituencies will be allocated to Nairobi, Bungoma, nakuru, Mombasa and Ruiru. Furthermore Constituencies like Othaya, Tetu, Ndaragwa and such would have to go. I don't think there'd be any significant revenue the so called mt. Kenya counties can get.

IMG_20240610_134949.jpg

I didn't find lies here

While I don't support the agenda, there is a conversation to be had. Especially in the education center. The idea that you can have a student in central kenya being posted to a high school in North Eastern and vice versa is just crazy to me. Just because NE governors have failed to invest in their own infrastructure. On top of that, the CDF is spread more generously to students. Yaani unaskia mtoto amelipiwa full scholarship and central mtoto anapewa 3k. Something has to give.

Furthermore Constituencies like Othaya, Tetu, Ndaragwa and such would have to go. I don't think there'd be any significant revenue the so called mt. Kenya counties can get.
Don't mix issues. This is an issue of equitable revenue sharing, not boundary delimitation.

Dont they go hand in hand? Didn't Uhuru try to protect them with the infamous BBI?
They don't. If we devolved resources to the ward level we wouldn't have any need of extra constituencies. Remove CDF all together.

Also, Uhuru didn't try to protect anything. It was a sweetener to draw kikuyu referendum votes so they could pass other heinous laws, like the executive changes.

They don't. If we devolved resources to the ward level we wouldn't have any need of extra constituencies. Remove CDF all together.

Also, Uhuru didn't try to protect anything. It was a sweetener to draw kikuyu referendum votes so they could pass other heinous laws, like the executive changes.
This article suggests otherwise
IMG_20240610_164445.jpg

This article suggests otherwise
View attachment 96453
The idea here is that the more constituencies = more MP's = more representation = more resources.

But if you think about it, why must resources be attached to a representative? That is the falacy. But if you do away with CDF and turn it into a ward development fund, then the resources go to the smallest divisible unit.

If it weren't for the pathetic leadership credentials of most MCA's it would be perfect. MCA's also don't need to travel to Nairobi to 'legislate'. So you are saving a lot.

Wewe ni kama saitoti ,rumbwa rwa ngwaci

Like which one.
A mature way would be not pretending to fight for your community when you are under siege politically. Fight your battles!

I personally think the key proponent of the idea is just using it in order to cover for other nefarious reason(s).

Let the proponents come in good faith to the public, parliament or both.

Equality is a recipe for chaos, let each reap as they sow.
One man, one vote one shilling is the way to go.
Should Bungoma benefit more than say Kirinyaga, then the leaders who prefer to stay mum are anything but intelligent.
This usual spinning of Mt Kenya Elites boogeyman tactic worked dismally in the recently concluded general elections, this time around it will be a hard sell without the personification of the Mt Kenya Elite in the government.