This is Guka - My Dear man Upepo...

Field Marshal said:
Too much bile clouds judgement. Kuna watu hapa naona watakua psychiatric cases very soon.
Don't be quick to judge. That could be you a few months from now. Given the eagerness to align with the West, we could soon be fighting other people's battles, as we revert to that era where Western companies had a field day delivering air in government contracts.

Like Reply

--------

This was your reply in another thread. For the record, you are emerging as one of the most sensible contributers here, in my view.

So, let's engage.

There has been a lot of petty, chicken-brained noise about the cost of Ruto's state visit to the US.

I have repeatedly made the accusation that the criticism has come from bitter, little people whose intellectual deficiencies do not allow them the bandwidth to understand the basics of statecraft.

(My personal surprise in this has been @mzeiya, a young man I consider exceptionally gifted).

But even in my delusory dismissal of the chicken-brain horde, I have agreed with our default fear of all things beberu. Make no mistake, these guys just want to trap us into their orbit. They are in an existential struggle with China. We need to be smart while dealing with them.

In fact, my concern has been to wonder whether Ruto has the geostrategic thinking that would allow us to benefit from the ongoing global struggle. Complaining and whining endlessly about Sh150m used to hire a plane like two-dollar hoes pale Mlolongo is just downright stupid. It shows a remarkably imbecilic poverty mentality.

Through you sir, allow me to challenge the small-minded critics to list the value of the deals so far signed by the president in the US, including the helos and armoured vehicles for the KDF and the support to the police.

Of course there are also the dodgy PPP things like Mombasa road, but let's have a global view of the trip so that we can establish whether the 150m was worth it.

And that's even before we talk about the marketing of Kenya. Can somebody tell me how much a two-minute marketing clip costs on CNN or BBC? We got tonnes of free universal coverage!

Don't be quick to judge. That could be you a few months from now. Given the eagerness to align with the West, we could soon be fighting other people's battles, as we revert to that era where Western companies had a field day delivering air in government contracts.

Like Reply

--------

This was your reply in another thread. For the record, you are emerging as one of the most sensible contributers here, in my view.

So, let's engage.

There has been a lot of petty, chicken-brained noise about the cost of Ruto's state visit to the US.

I have repeatedly made the accusation that the criticism has come from bitter, little people whose intellectual deficiencies do not allow them the bandwidth to understand the basics of statecraft.

(My personal surprise in this has been @mzeiya, a young man I consider exceptionally gifted).

But even in my delusory dismissal of the chicken-brain horde, I have agreed with our default fear of all things beberu. Make no mistake, these guys just want to trap us into their orbit. They are in an existential struggle with China. We need to be smart while dealing with them.

In fact, my concern has been to wonder whether Ruto has the geostrategic thinking that would allow us to benefit from the ongoing global struggle. Complaining and whining endlessly about Sh150m used to hire a plane like two-dollar hoes pale Mlolongo is just downright stupid. It shows a remarkably imbecilic poverty mentality.

Through you sir, allow me to challenge the small-minded critics to list the value of the deals so far signed by the president in the US, including the helos and armoured vehicles for the KDF and the support to the police.

Of course there are also the dodgy PPP things like Mombasa road, but let's have a global view of the trip so that we can establish whether the 150m was worth it.

And that's even before we talk about the marketing of Kenya. Can somebody tell me how much a two-minute marketing clip costs on CNN or BBC? We got tonnes of free universal coverage!
For any government, there will always be 100% extremist supporters and critics. These two groups are so entrenched that they will never entertain anything that contradicts their belief or position. I could rightly place you in one of these groups at one time or the other (Kibaki’s term). Then we have the middle group, those who will attempt to interrogate issues from an analytic angle, while trying to stay clear of emotions.

Although it is easy and satisfying to deride extremists and their views, there is always a possibility, no matter how slim, that they could be right. I am reminded of how the ODM camp was scoffed at for suggesting that people were carting money away from the NYS, only for it to be proven true. So, as we call out extremists, we should also be apprehensive of what it would mean if they were right. Maybe we should read them with the requisite moderation to account for their bias and not dismiss them out rightly.

For any government, there will always be 100% extremist supporters and critics. These two groups are so entrenched that they will never entertain anything that contradicts their belief or position. I could rightly place you in one of these groups at one time or the other (Kibaki’s term). Then we have the middle group, those who will attempt to interrogate issues from an analytic angle, while trying to stay clear of emotions.

Although it is easy and satisfying to deride extremists and their views, there is always a possibility, no matter how slim, that they could be right. I am reminded of how the ODM camp was scoffed at for suggesting that people were carting money away from the NYS, only for it to be proven true. So, as we call out extremists, we should also be apprehensive of what it would mean if they were right. Maybe we should read them with the requisite moderation to account for their bias and not dismiss them out rightly.
Wueh, umeniweza with your reasoned response.

Now that I have slept over it, I am starting to think that while Ruto's trip has more than paid for itself, we got a raw deal.

The deals we signed are worth less than $150m to us, but more than $4 BILLION to the US.

Beberu has screwed us, as I feared.

Hope I am wrong.....

Exactly. You cannot close a 15 million deal at muthaiga golf club but you were dropped by a boda

This small mindedness. Any deal you close should be backed by necessary competence, capacity and resource relevant. Hii ingine ni vitisho. No one checks how you travelled to a location before giving you an opportunity unless of course they belong to your school of small mindedness

My Twitter timeline is just...
1000090238.jpg

checks how you travelled to a location before giving you an opportunity

What i came to learnt the hard way is that most people particularly the baby boomers and generation x in corporate world are are very bureaucratic and are stickler of protocol. They still view dreadlocks as dirty and if you're not in a suit ,you don't look like someone who can deliver. If your car is not polished , you look like a joker.

Unfortunately they are the folks with most say and influence currently!

Like Reply

--------

So, let's engage.

When the late kibaki took over the government, the jungus were not happy
He took to east and Chinese flooded every corner in this country ! We can see what the did , sasa tungoje tuone Ruto na Whitehouse.
By the way between Nairobi -mombatha and Nairobi - mau summit , which is a priority ? ? ?

When the late kibaki took over the government, the jungus were not happy
He took to east and Chinese flooded every corner in this country ! We can see what the did , sasa tungoje tuone Ruto na Whitehouse.
By the way between Nairobi -mombatha and Nairobi - mau summit , which is a priority ? ? ?

You go first.

You tell us.

What do you think?