Mpesa

I'm starting a personal go slow against Mpesa after carefully studying my transaction charges over many months and realising that this mpesa thing is too damn expensive. Little wonder why even though mpesa is world famous, it cant go global. No mzungu would be willing to pay 10% transaction charges. So now unless necessary, mambo itakuwa paying in cash or swiping using visa..

Resist. Viva.

I'm starting a personal go slow against Mpesa after carefully studying my transaction charges over many months and realising that this mpesa thing is too damn expensive. Little wonder why even though mpesa is world famous, it cant go global. No mzungu would be willing to pay 10% transaction charges. So now unless necessary, mambo itakuwa paying in cash or swiping using visa..

Resist. Viva.

Mkubwa,

10%??? Wacha uongo na ufungue Airtel Money, which nobody knows. Or you just stop transacting at the lowest regions of the table. :D

Sahii solution ni card tu, but there are many places, even some sorry excuses of petrol stations that don't have PDQs.

If you were Mpesa and had the market pretty much cornered, what would you charge?
I agree with you by the way, I'm just saying if you use it for every thing you do, it is very expensive, though you don't realise.
No one ever realized until, we all got dependant on it.
It's very convinient and they got the market share by the balls, so charges will be at their pleasure.

Long for the day WeChat money or Alipay will get here because Safaricom needs to be tamed!
But banks in Kenya wamelalia maskio sana they are comfortable just selling expensive loans to ya instead of coming up with new innovations.Though I have seen KCB (Vooma) has started something similar to Mpesa and the charges are better let’s see how it goes.