Sadness of life

You leave your prado to a mechanic, then later you are told it has been written off and the mechanic is dead. What happens after this? Insurance italipa?

20220328_144421.jpg
20220328_144418.jpg
20220328_144415.jpg
20220328_144410.jpg

The Garage, which employed the late Driver, is vicariously liable for the acts and omissions of their said Driver.
Employers are responsible for negligent acts and omissions carried out by their employees in the scope and course of their employment.

However, if the mechanic was self employed (Jua Kali) and independent of the Garage, the car owner will have to go for the Mechanic’s Insurance and if he didn’t carry any insurance, he will have to sue the Mechanic’s estate for the loss.

The Garage, which employed the late Driver, is vicariously liable for the acts and omissions of their said Driver.
Employers are responsible for negligent acts and omissions carried out by their employees in the scope and course of their employment.

However, if the mechanic was self employed (Jua Kali) and independent of the Garage, the car owner will have to go for the Mechanic’s Insurance and if he didn’t carry any insurance, he will have to sue the Mechanic’s estate for the loss.
what happens when you are comprehensively insured? the word comprehensive must mean something......like paying no matter the circumstances behind the accident?

As much as it is cheap and convenient to use a Jua Kali for minor repairs, it can end up being very tragic and expensive if the Jua Kali collides and kill or maim some road-user(s).
You could get sued for the loss occasioned as the Mechanic was carrying out your business with your permission.

On the other hand, what would you do if you decided to sue the poor Mechanic estate only to discover that his entire estate has nothing of value to cover your losses? No land, no house, no shares or savings and on top of that, a widow and 5 children.
What do you do in such a scenario?

You can only do one thing under such circumstances: count your losses and move on.

As much as it is cheap and convenient to use a Jua Kali for minor repairs, it can end up being very tragic and expensive if the Jua Kali collides and kill or maim some road-user(s).
You could get sued for the loss occasioned as the Mechanic was carrying out your business with your permission.

On the other hand, what would you do if you decided to sue the poor Mechanic estate only to discover that his entire estate has nothing of value to cover your losses? No land, no house, no shares or savings and on top of that, a widow and 5 children.
What do you do in such a scenario?

You can only do one thing under such circumstances: count your losses and move on.
Hii pesa alitoa kwa mashaitan,the poor mechanic ni sacrifice, sasa mashaitan watapatia owner WA hio gari helicopter

what happens when you are comprehensively insured? the word comprehensive must mean something......like paying no matter the circumstances behind the accident?
Comprehensive Insurance policy covers the insured person, his vehicle as well as other involved in an accident.
The policy may also sometimes cover any other vehicle a policy holder drives.

But they do not cover your vehicle being driven by another person. Not especially when it is being repaired by a third party.

And this is what happens here in UK. Don’t know how it works in Kenya.

Hizi advice ati usiwache gari kwa mech / car wash huwa hazimake sense, most times mimi huona hutoka from people who have never owned a car. Sasa ni kazi utafanya, ni mbili utakamata with friends, ni mtoto uta baby-sit au ni gari utakalisha. People should learn to value their time

Comprehensive Insurance policy covers the insured person, his vehicle as well as other involved in an accident.
The policy may also sometimes cover any other vehicle a policy holder drives.

But they do not cover your vehicle being driven by another person. Not especially when it is being repaired by a third party.

And this is what happens here in UK. Don’t know how it works in Kenya.
I think it should cover your vehicle with no questions asked, that is why they pay whether or not you are at fault and even give you an extra charge of the excess protection

Hizi advice ati usiwache gari kwa mech / car wash huwa hazimake sense, most times mimi huona hutoka from people who have never owned a car. Sasa ni kazi utafanya, ni mbili utakamata with friends, ni mtoto uta baby-sit au ni gari utakalisha. People should learn to value their time
The advice comes from people and their experiences...anybody who leaves their car with their mech must have built years and years of trust with them

if he wasn't at fault third party ya the at fault car will cover so your insurance will pay and claim
It’s not always straight forward and clear cut.
Insurance companies are particularly averse as to whether at the time of the accident the vehicle was being used in a business sense, which this transaction clearly was.

I have witnessed motorists denied insurance payments because at the time of their accidents they were delivering mails, items or food or as taxis which people do as side hustle and fail to declare to insurance companies.

Hapo, mimi sijui. Naona Mr Karanja atoe hio jacket awekelee kwa mabega aende zake tu pole pole akiimba kale kawimbo cia arûme ciûragîra kûingî! After all, a tried billionaire doesn't have to, but he is the one who, at a certain point in time, lost some or all of his money/property whether by accident or misadventure, and still lives on to make even more billions, somehow.