teen parents explosion

Out of 10 girls aged 10 to 19 in Bomet County, four of them fell pregnant in 2021. The county was also leading in teenage pregnancy, going by data from the National Council for Population and Development (NCPD).

The data released yesterday reveals that 17 counties have this year recorded an increase in adolescent pregnancy.

Mandera came second with 32 percent, followed by Kisii County (29 percent), Nyandarua (28 percent), Baringo (26 percent), Kakamega (25 percent), Kitui (23 percent), Migori (21 percent) and Kirinyaga (19 per cent).

A monthly trend analysis on the teenagers at antenatal clinics indicates a 15 percentage increase in the numbers for adolescents aged 10 to 14, and 15 to 19

In Kenya’s history, 2018 recorded the highest number of teenage pregnancies at 427,135. By September this year, 23,117 girls between the ages 10 and 19 were pregnant.

In the last five years, the figures have remained unchanged and it looks like there is nothing happening in the country to reduce the numbers.

Going by the actual numbers, five counties led with high cases of pregnancy among teenagers in 2021, including Nairobi (2,379), Homa Bay (1,530), Kajiado (1,496), Mandera (1,370) and Bomet (1,041).

Nine counties -- Nairobi, Kajiado, Homa Bay, Meru, Kericho, Narok, Kisii, Mandera and Bomet contributed to 56 per cent (20,803) of the total teenage pregnancies among adolescents aged 10 and 14 years.

What could be the major contributing factor?

Lack of discipline at home.
Lack of conversations among parents and kids.
Do they teach these things in school these days?

To me its the Era of easy access of everything online and over sexualization of everything.

Team pregnancies pia zinasumbua. Watu wajitolee wasaidie hapa.

I am a single mother of three and I am pregnant with the fourth. My issue is that I am broke and I can't seem to catch a break workwise. I have tried from domestic work, mama fua, selling vegetables, I had a daycare then corona came and had to shut it down,farming, rearing pigs but I sold my last kabatch so that I can start my smokie business. I don't want to give my child away or sell as my friend insists that I should do but I want to raise him/her but ata pesa ya nhif maternity wear ama za mtoto sina. Mum has already thrown me out and I have nowhere to go. If there is a good kind man preferably who cannot conceive and not married I am open to giving him my child to raise as his own. Or if I can get any kind of support even if it's newborn clothes not in use any more I will be grateful. My child is not unwanted...just unplanned for but I love my baby.

Team pregnancies pia zinasumbua. Watu wajitolee wasaidie hapa.

I am a single mother of three and I am pregnant with the fourth. My issue is that I am broke and I can't seem to catch a break workwise. I have tried from domestic work, mama fua, selling vegetables, I had a daycare then corona came and had to shut it down,farming, rearing pigs but I sold my last kabatch so that I can start my smokie business. I don't want to give my child away or sell as my friend insists that I should do but I want to raise him/her but ata pesa ya nhif maternity wear ama za mtoto sina. Mum has already thrown me out and I have nowhere to go. If there is a good kind man preferably who cannot conceive and not married I am open to giving him my child to raise as his own. Or if I can get any kind of support even if it's newborn clothes not in use any more I will be grateful. My child is not unwanted...just unplanned for but I love my baby.
Hapa unafungua pandora's box. Wacha tushughulikie teenage pregnancies kwanza.

Tunahitaji usaidizi was sociologists ndio tujue kiini halisi ni nini. Only then can we come up with a lasting solution. Hapa hata nikisema ni internet, I don't think the girls in Mandera wako na fibre to the home ama wanarushiwa mbandos na sponsors. The rest naweza sema ni randy young men, sana sana wa boda boda, with nothing to do.

Dude safaricom has coverage all over this country. You may be viewing North Eastern KE a bit ignorantly.
Technology has reached all corners.
Though in regards to teenage and early pregnancy, it's the responsibility of the state and the society to educate the teenagers.
We had all that but, you'll still have the pregnancies. Issue is to reduce the numbers as stopping isn't realistic.

What could be the major contributing factor?

Lack of discipline at home.
Lack of conversations among parents and kids.
Do they teach these things in school these days?

To me its the Era of easy access of everything online and over sexualization of everything.

I wholeheartedly disagree.

The problem is the taboo surrounding sexual education.

Sexual education and the preventative methods of getting pregnant.

Making available condoms and dispelling myths surrounding the act of sex.

This is complete failure on the parts of the parents and mostly the community.

Listers, if you are a parent, take the time to talk to your child about sex.

How people have sex.

About consent.

About being your brother's/sisters keeper.

About making available a jar of condoms and P2 pills etc at home and teaching boys how to use them.

About not judging them for having sex early. (Abstinence is good. But if it was so effective, many of us would not be here today.)

Everyone here was once a horny teenager.

Don't deflect the blame for natural biology to "To me its the Era of easy access of everything online and over sexualization of everything."

As parents, we are our children's teacher and most trusted figure.

Don't outsource this VERY IMPORTANT TOPIC to your child's teacher!

HERE IS A GOOD RESOURCE TO REFER TO.

How people have sex.

About consent.

About making available a jar of condoms and P2 pills etc at home and teaching boys how to use them.

About not judging them for having sex early. (Abstinence is good. But if it was so effective, many of us would not be here today.)

Don't deflect the blame for natural biology to "To me its the Era of easy access of everything online and over sexualization of everything."

You wrote a bit too much, that is where I mentioned conversations parents and kids and educating in schools. Those are the discussions topics, condoms, abstinence.....

How people have sex.

About consent.

This is the western-liberal angle, which lead to an explosion of breakdown in family and single parenthood in developed economies. I'll get my sources together to support this. But think about this in the meantime. Why are abortion rights such a big issue in developed nations? If sex education was effective, that would not be an issue.

Yes, teach kids what sex is, and where it is appropriate (in a committed relationship).

No, don't teach teenagers that sex is a fun recreational thing to do without any consequences. Even if pregnancies don't happen, there's massive psychological changes that it causes.

Dude safaricom has coverage all over this country. You may be viewing North Eastern KE a bit ignorantly.
Technology has reached all corners.
Though in regards to teenage and early pregnancy, it's the responsibility of the state and the society to educate the teenagers.
We had all that but, you'll still have the pregnancies. Issue is to reduce the numbers as stopping isn't realistic.
I disagree with the comment that it is a responsibility of the state. It is a responsibility of families and communities to educate its offspring. The state should supplement this. The state is a large, slow moving, inflexible entity that provides solutions for the lowest common denominator of problems in society.

No, don't teach teenagers that sex is a fun recreational thing to do without any consequences. Even if pregnancies don't happen, there's massive psychological changes that it causes.

I never said this.

I agree. Sex must be taught as a natural act that carries consequences.

Not just for girls, but for the boys as well.

But like I said. Despite our best intentions, these teenagers will still do what they want.

So if they are going to engage in such acts, make it known that there are condoms available. That the morning after pill is an option.

That there are all manner of safe habits to carry.

Because this teenager will be an adult in a few short years.

And teaching them the basis of healthy sexual activity now will serve them in the long run as adults.

We are forgetting a very big equation in the discussion, the nduthi guys factor, when you work in hardship area they're the only source of motorable transport, for you to be ferried to and fro as a young girl, give them your coochies.