Getting ‘left behind’ leads to social pressure

Ever wondered why a professional e.g doctor, lawyer, auditor earning hundreds of thousands etc gets overtaken by a wise and disciplined kangez who never earned more than 3k on his best day??
The kangez has learned to survive on 1k and invest the rest. Meanwhile, the professional works with colleagues who give him/her social pressure to live in specific addresses, travel to specific destinations, rave at specific clubs, and drive specific vehicles.
In 5 years, the kangez has saved enough for a downpayment of a ma3 and he understands the business in and out. The ma3 biz is scalable. Once he buys that first ma3 the sky is the limit. In another five years he has three and has started his RE retirement plan with money hustled from his ma3s.
Meanwhile, the professional has been living like a king paycheck to paycheck despite having all the advantages to get ahead in life. By the time he realizes his mess in his late 50s, it is too late to catch up with the kangez.

Una describe makanga wa route gani? The makangas who I knew (and they are many) squander their money like a nonsense.

Afadhali useme mwalimu

Una describe makanga wa route gani? The makangas who I knew (and they are many) squander their money like a nonsense.

Afadhali useme mwalimu
Nimesema a disciplined and wise makanga. I fully agree with you that most never really get ahead in life because they are not smart financially. The example I used is an exception, not the norm. I wanted to show how someone with a typical hustle can outperform a professional in the long run with some financial discipline.

100%. I have seen it first hand. Some people have even developed mental illnesses as a result of feeling left behind. I lost an aunt to suicide as a result of it.

Life is an interesting balance. Being satisfied in your situation makes you lazy. Being too ambitious makes you susceptible to those feeling of not being good enough. A healthy balance is what you should aspire.

Once you hit your goals start working on something else or start helping other people achieve theirs. Never stop working or solving problems.

Ever wondered why a professional e.g doctor, lawyer, auditor earning hundreds of thousands etc gets overtaken by a wise and disciplined kangez who never earned more than 3k on his best day??
The kangez has learned to survive on 1k and invest the rest. Meanwhile, the professional works with colleagues who give him/her social pressure to live in specific addresses, travel to specific destinations, rave at specific clubs, and drive specific vehicles.
In 5 years, the kangez has saved enough for a downpayment of a ma3 and he understands the business in and out. The ma3 biz is scalable. Once he buys that first ma3 the sky is the limit. In another five years he has three and has started his RE retirement plan with money hustled from his ma3s.
Meanwhile, the professional has been living like a king paycheck to paycheck despite having all the advantages to get ahead in life. By the time he realizes his mess in his late 50s, it is too late to catch up with the kangez.
I know several guys who were farmboys-makanga-dere-matatu owner, one is now a Landlord meanwhile a bank teller or middle level manager is struggling to school his kids, service loans and pay for a plot after years of "good life".

Very thought provoking.
Pressure from the standardised life course.

"There exists a socially prescribed timetable for the ordering of major life events: a time in the life-span when men and women are expected to marry, a time to raise children, a time to retire."
-Bernice Neugarten, 'Dynamics of transition from middle to old age' (1970).

Calls to mind the pressure of your 40s, or what someone called 'middlescence'. The mid-life crisis.
The deadline decade where we take stock and reappraise, get shocked that from our peak what we sometimes see is the downward curve to death...then buy a motorbike, a gold chain and chase skirt.
Life.
We sometimes try to deny/cheat ourselves. YOU CANNOT CHANGE/ALTER how the biologocal clock.0-25 formation stage you study,date and form the person who moves to the other stage. Between 25-55yrs when you are usually healthiest and strongest its time to achieve (marry/not marry,raise kids,educate and save for retirement) beyond that you are on the other side of the normal curve and your production level drops.

Most people don't think things through. The only real advantage of living in Nairobi to a young person without medical issues is the ability to do business. For professionals e.g that banker, it is alot easier to get ahead in life in a smaller town.
The largest beneficiaries of living in Nairobi are businessmen because there is more money here. Kama huna biashara Kanairoh, and rely on a fixed salary, you would be better off in your hometown where you can stretch that shilling with zero downgrading in lifestyle e.g the house you get in South B for 60k you will get for 25k in a smaller town.
He will lose touch with the crew.

There is a price to be paid for long term success.
Your income must exceed your expenses significantly, and you must invest your savings wisely. This means living way below your means. The formula applies whether you earn 30k, 300k, 3M or 30M. We have seen very wealthy people go bankrupt abroad akina Nicholas Cage etc.

Live within your means at all income levels.

Afadhali useme mwalimu

I think he meant outliers, even me most makangas i knew from as far as from 2002, most have graduated from kondas to deres, 2 have their own mats, a few are still doing the same job in different routes, na wengine "retired" but they are just hustling mtaani

But in life we have outliers in all sectors but a big chunk just follow the norm, retire ,move up country, start small scale faming or rentals ,reminisce the days you were calling the shots

Most people don't think things through. The only real advantage of living in Nairobi to a young person without medical issues is the ability to do business. For professionals e.g that banker, it is alot easier to get ahead in life in a smaller town.
The largest beneficiaries of living in Nairobi are businessmen because there is more money here. Kama huna biashara Kanairoh, and rely on a fixed salary, you would be better off in your hometown where you can stretch that shilling with zero downgrading in lifestyle e.g the house you get in South B for 60k you will get for 25k in a smaller town.
Umegonga ndipo. Wacha ninunue kutunguu pekee.

The pleasures in life are to be enjoyed e.g German vehicles, premium whiskey, travel experiences, side chics, steaks and wine, mansions etc.

The big question is whether you can afford them and still secure your future.

Unfortunately, most people e.g professionals cant because their incomes dont allow it. Due to social pressure they choose the lifestyle every time and then live paycheck to paycheck.

With the current inflation in Kenya, just sustaining a family is becoming increasingly problematic, we all know people who never used to ask for soft loans, are now requesting it due to hard times. Hiyo living within your means is now becoming a dream, just feeding your family is an expensive affair, that investment is a mere pipe dream unless you are a tenderprenuer or the likes.

Today's economic realities mean that fresh graduates are more likely to start getting stable jobs well into their late twenties or early thirties.

Nimeona hii statement nikashtuka sana. As a bona fide, card-carrying disciple of Lord Azhor Ahai, the beginner and finisher of wealth, I thought if you don't have two Lamborghinis in your driveway, 126m in the bank, and a 23nd floor penthouse in Kilimani by 30 you are a ferking loser who should never marry or sire children?

You ferking under-achievers..................

Materialism can afflict both rich and poor, and is both socially destructive and self-destructive. Preoccupation with possessions and social image kills happiness and peace of mind.
Many out here are depressed and anxious trying to keep up with the 'Joneses'.
I often consider going off the grid and living minimally. I think I'd be truly happy.
Kuja Ndeiya ka-mum I show you how it's done. I will never feed you putrid roadkill...............

We sometimes try to deny/cheat ourselves. YOU CANNOT CHANGE/ALTER how the biologocal clock.0-25 formation stage you study,date and form the person who moves to the other stage. Between 25-55yrs when you are usually healthiest and strongest its time to achieve (marry/not marry,raise kids,educate and save for retirement) beyond that you are on the other side of the normal curve and your production level drops.
I disagree and cite one telling statistic; the average age at which people in the richest country on earth become millionaires, that is, having a net worth of Sh108million is 58-59.

Net worth is the value of everything you own (shambas, plots, dogs, cows, shares, bonds, trees) minus all your debts.

58-59 years. In the richest country on earth.

Wacheni kujipatia pressure back here in Vumbistan. If you are worth a net of Sh30 million by 50 uko sawa.................mengine ni kujipanga (there's no need, for example, to have a Sh200million hacienda like I do which doesn't bring in any money. Dead capital.)

Mpaka umeweka Simba ya @Meria na nguno ya @Kasaman :LOL: 😄 😂
I disagree and cite one telling statistic; the average age at which people in the richest country on earth become millionaires, that is, having a net worth of Sh108million is 58-59.

Net worth is the value of everything you own (shambas, plots, dogs, cows, shares, bonds, trees) minus all your debts.

Wacheni kujipatia pressure back here in Vumbistan. If you are worth a net of Sh30 million by 50 uko sawa.................mengine ni kujipanga (there's no need, for example, to have a Sh200million hacienda like I do which doesn't bring in any money. Dead capital.)

😂😂😂😂😂

Breaking the poverty ceiling and securing you and your broods future needs a sacrifice some time in your life if your were not born into wealth.
But Nobody else is responsible for your success but yourself.
The thing most people miss is the balance between two things; investing something for the future against going for today's gratification. In Africa, unfortunately, instant gratification has almost always trumped planning for the future. This is why we did not explore new lands or even invent a lot of new things; you grew rich, married many wives and lived merrily thereafter, for the moment.

The mzungu has a different mindset. Once he meets his immediate needs, he starts investing in the future and related matters like science and art. He doesn't marry new wives or spend the whole day under a tree drinking murat. Rather he spends his wealth benefiting local universities and charities, sponsoring voyages to distant lands etc. Kirubi couldn't even sponsor an education scholarship, but Bezos is going to space! Result? The mzungu came to rule the world, including our rich who he found drinking murat under a tree. And from his scienticts he had guns...

Now, I am not saying eti ujinyime kama the old Kikuyu tycoons who are now dying off. Drive a V8 if you can afford it, drink choice wine or your five WhiteKAPS (ahem!). Have a side-dish or two somewhere and have fun. BUT DON'T BE THE KIND OF IDIOT WHO RENTS A SH90,000 APARTMENT IN KILIMANI COZ YOU HAVE A SALO OF 300k. Hiyo apartment what does it add to you life which a similar apartment in South C going for 35K cant?

And about that choice 40K bottle of single-malt whiskey - Hallo, all portable alcohol is ethanol. Hata Ace ni ethanol tuu kama hiyo whiskey. Marketing and packaging, and a slight, very slight, difference in taste is what is making the difference between sh150 and 40K. Buy the whiskey for your kid's birthday bash, once in a while, but don't be like those educated professors and engineers I see every weekend at Nairobi West downing bottles of Glenfiddich in between complaining how UASU has let them down in negotiating for higher salos........