Kind of messed up painting a storage shelve ? Baptisim by fire

So i decided to set up a simple storage shelf to store food items. I used blockboard ,painted then allowed it to dry for 2 days. I installed it and started using it. Big problem all the flour and Ugali when cooked smells of mafuta ya taa. I have washed the shelf let it to dry more only for the same shit to happen again, i truly am having a nightmare with the whole thing. Anyone with experience on this understand what is causimg this and how should i go around fixing it ???

Labda tuulize experts @It's Me Scumbag , @upepo and General @Mongrel

The shelves need time for all the kerosene vapors to escape. The food items are most likely absorbing the vapor from the air and through direct contact. While the shelves dry further, you can prevent contamination by wrapping your items in well sealed polythene bags or plastic buckets and keeping the room well aerated. The vapors will disappear with time.

Did you use paraffin as your paint mixer?

One: Block board na rangi - a no no. Block board is pieces of wood glued together and covered with a sheet of ply wood. It has failed the paint test for me enough times. The glue used to bind everything together messes up with paint penetration.
Two: As an alternative you could have used MDF board 18mm
Three: For painting,NC paint together with thinner works okay. NC ya Seweco na Thinner ya Jasmi is a good combi for me at least.
Four: Did you sand the board?
Five: Do a solid timber shelf. Wachana na boards.. 12x1 or bigger solid foot board should produce enough shelf space depending on your space and dimensions.

One: Block board na rangi - a no no. Block board is pieces of wood glued together and covered with a sheet of ply wood.
Three: For painting,NC paint together with thinner works okay. NC ya Seweco na Thinner ya Jasmi is a good combi for me at least.
Five: Do a solid timber shelf. Wachana na boards.. 12x1 or bigger solid foot board should produce enough shelf space depending on your space and dimensions.

@It's Me Scumbag is it true that milk, iriia or geetha ati hua ina guucia munungo whether it's a fragrance or otherwise?

I am not a chemistry. Hiyo class I missed.

Actually,I think I try this at home...

Good.

Start from here

Screenshot_20210707-182256_Facebook.jpg

The shelves need time for all the kerosene vapors to escape. The food items are most likely absorbing the vapor from the air and through direct contact. While the shelves dry further, you can prevent contamination by wrapping your items in well sealed polythene bags or plastic buckets and keeping the room well aerated. The vapors will disappear with time.

One: Block board na rangi - a no no. Block board is pieces of wood glued together and covered with a sheet of ply wood. It has failed the paint test for me enough times. The glue used to bind everything together messes up with paint penetration.
Thanks guys is there anything i can do to fasten this process so that there is absolutely no vapour at all?

Unga has a way of absorbing smells from stuff in its vicinity.
One day coming from Northern Kenya we realized we were too tired to drive on to Isiolo. So we called a contact to wait for us at Merti, some 200K Northeast of Isiolo. We arrived at one AM famished. Our contact tried to rouse the owner of the only hotel but she dismissed him, saying hakuna chakula.
We retreated to his house where he got the wife to cook a sizable lump of kuon with strungi.

We were tucking in merrily when our team wag made the observation that the ugali ina tumarashi.
It was not that we had not noticed but because of the way we were hungry nobody had wanted to say it.
The ugali was packed with the Wariah perfume!
Needless to say appetite zilikwishia hapo, tukamimina strungi and lay our heads on the sand for what remained of the morning.
When daylight came the hotel owner revealed that she could have opened to give us food if she had known we were visitors. Apparently our contact didn't have a very good name in the community.

Thanks guys is there anything i can do to fasten this process so that there is absolutely no vapour at all?

Umeharibu DIY sasa unaingilia Osungu.dll? Vile umeambiwa hapo juu, blockboard is not very good with oil paint.

Next time, prime it with thinner-based undercoat, and then look for water-based, washable finishing paint. Nowadays mambo ya terpentine yamepitwa.

Umeharibu DIY sasa unaingilia Osungu.dll? Vile umeambiwa hapo juu, blockboard is not very good with oil paint.

Next time, prime it with thinner-based undercoat, and then look for water-based, washable finishing paint. Nowadays mambo ya terpentine yamepitwa.
And make sure you use sand paper. Start with course sand paper and finish with the smooth one before applying the primer paint.

Properly applied paint takes about three to four hours to feel dry when touched. And 24 hours to completely dry with no fumes.
So you do your primer,let it dry for four hours,apply your spot putty,let that dry the sand it with water proof sandpaper and water. Then apply your first coat and let it dry completely before applying your last and final coat of paint. You can do this from Friday to Sunday and install your shelves on Monday.

Those smelly things are called Volatile Organic Compounds and they are bad for you.

VOC stands for volatile organic compound–any of several chemical additives found in numerous consumer products, from gasoline and glue to correction fluid and colored markers. Even cosmetics, mothballs, air fresheners, and household cleaning supplies contain VOCs.

Because they're volatile, these compounds vaporize and emit gasses, even long after they've dried. Paint, for example, emits only half of its VOCs in the first year.

Many years ago we had to roll out a commercial project that was aiming for the Gold status of an environmental certification called LEED.
Being greenhorns in this new 'thing' we had to familiarize ourselves with related literature aimed at specifying paints, adhesives and even MDF boards that had low VOC content.
The result...
No gloss paint, or spray paint.
Local contact adhesive did not meet VOC requirements. You can imagine not being able to use good ol' CONTA.
MDF boards had to be imported from Thailand as locally available did not meet the requirements.

These things are bad enough just to be near.
Now when @Mwalimu-G says he ingested marashi-flavoured ugali.....😁😁
Shait.

Those smelly things are called Volatile Organic Compounds and they are bad for you.

VOC stands for volatile organic compound–any of several chemical additives found in numerous consumer products, from gasoline and glue to correction fluid and colored markers. Even cosmetics, mothballs, air fresheners, and household cleaning supplies contain VOCs.

Because they're volatile, these compounds vaporize and emit gasses, even long after they've dried. Paint, for example, emits only half of its VOCs in the first year.

Many years ago we had to roll out a commercial project that was aiming for the Gold status of an environmental certification called LEED.
Being greenhorns in this new 'thing' we had to familiarize ourselves with related literature aimed at specifying paints, adhesives and even MDF boards that had low VOC content.
The result...
Local contact adhesive did not meet VOC requirements. You can imagine not being able to use good ol' CONTA.
MDF boards had to be imported from Thailand as locally available did not meet the requirements.

Shait.

Great insight,

SSKPMG.

You used the wrong paint. Also i bet the "store" is not well aerated so the odour is seeping into the foods.

The result...

Shait.
When painting zile shaving machine zako huwa una import rangi from Thailand, were sasa unatubebaje?