Mt. Nyiragongo: the aftermath

Ata kama 100kph are wind speeds. Even rivers dont flow that fast

On January 10,1977, a lava lake at Nyiragongo, a stratovolcano in Zaire, drained in less than one hour. The lava erupted from fissures on the flank of the volcano and moved at speeds up to 40 miles per hour (60 km/hr).

Google ‘pyroclastic flow’.

On January 10,1977, a lava lake at Nyiragongo, a stratovolcano in Zaire, drained in less than one hour. The lava erupted from fissures on the flank of the volcano and moved at speeds up to 40 miles per hour (60 km/hr).

Pyroclastic flow is not lava flow, and there was none of that in goma

There were some geologists being interviewed on BBC Swahili News last evening. They’d predicted and warned the gov’t to prepare but gava ikasema hamna hela.

Most goverments would have behaved the same way. That area has been mapped countless times. All the weak areas are known. Some areas of that city should not be habitable! Lakini you cannot tell De-Mainas how to run a country. Can you?

Pyroclastic flow is not lava flow,

A pyroclastic flow is a dense, fast-moving flow of solidified lava pieces, volcanic ash, and hot gases. It is extremely dangerous to any living thing in its path.

You can't predict that sir. Not with the current technology.

That place in the photos is called Munigi and it's on the slopes of Nyiragongo. At least 500 houses were destroyed there during Saturday's eruption. No direct fatalities were reported. Reported deaths were caused by a freak road accident (9) as people were fleeing and an attempted jail break(5 shot).

It would have been a disaster if the lava flow went into Goma rather than Virunga park. Mt Nyiragongo produces magma with relatively low viscosity, once it breaks into the surface it forms very fast flowing lava. Imagine a liquid flowing downslope at a speed of around 100km/h. I know you imagined water. Try being more creative, imagine you can melt stone and make it flow that fast. Yes, molten rock 1100°C! Now make it flow from Munigi all the way down across the airport, across the city and into lake Kivu. That was a close shave, too close!
If they had a functional geology department they would've detected some seismic waves....it is not the first time that mountain is erupting is it? Consistent monitoring helps detect such

I posted a map from USGS earlier in the thread. Go to that website and show me any seismographic data for Gonna that was abnormal. That eruption even caught the Rwandese government unaware. The epicenter of some of the quakes and tremors being experienced in Goma are originating right in Rubavu district of Rwanda.

Read this statement.

I posted a map from USGS earlier in the thread. Go to that website and show me any seismographic data for Gonna that was abnormal. That eruption even caught the Rwandese government unaware. The epicenter of some of the quakes and tremors being experienced in Goma are originating right in Rubavu district of Rwanda.

Read this statement.

You missed the gist of my post.....Africa does not monitor anything effectively. Period. Outdated equipment, silly politics, upside down priorities is our forte.....

You are free to feel inferior if you feel deeply inferior. Why should I have this discussion with you when you clearly think the likes of you are stupid? Why should I engage in a conversation with you wear those racist lenses?

Can we adress the elephant in the room and ask you why you hold such a pejorative view of Africans?

I know that quote, but @bigDog wasn't talking about and emptying lava lake.

You are free to feel inferior if you feel deeply inferior. Why should I have this discussion with you when you clearly think the likes of you are stupid? Why should I engage in a conversation with you wear those racist lenses?

Can we adress the elephant in the room and ask you why you hold such a pejorative view of Africans?
Chief.....why are you emotional? This is not personal my virtual friend. I offered a clarification to my post and you just took it to an effeminate level.
Let it end here.....

I know that quote, but @bigDog wasn't talking about and emptying lava lake.

Muache aseme tu. I know Goma like the back of my hand. Biko aye? Najua hata Majengo. Nayebi ndenge basalaka Kuna. Je connait, botika koloba lokola boyebo nyoso. Tumwonaki Vulcan ndenge etobakaki na miso ya biso. Tomwonaki ba-tremblement de terre. Ibomaki Batu. Batu bakufaki na miso ya biso.

Botika biloba-loba. Sieeet!

Muache aseme tu. I know Goma like the back of my hand. Biko aye? Najua hata Majengo. Nayebi ndenge basalaka Kuna. Je connait, botika koloba lokola boyebo nyoso. Tumwonaki Vulcan ndenge etobakaki na miso ya biso. Tomwonaki ba-tremblement de terre. Ibomaki Batu. Batu bakufaki na miso ya biso.

Botika biloba-loba. Sieeet!
tiga ngoma
mimi niko goma saa hii