Critical Thinking...

The importance of my knowing about my biases is that I will be aware when I defend a government issue that should be condemned. Many of us are not aware of our own biases. We therefore allow them to cloud our reasoning and decision making.
I was pro government until I started interrogating some of it's actions and then I switched to the other side of Jubilee 😁 I'm not totally anti government, I will support policies that I believe to be good for the country and the citizens, and I will condemn policies that negatively impact the citizenry.

I also recognize I'm totally anti Raila, based on his past actions and that's my chief bias.

I usually find that people hold on to their biases so strongly even in the face strong evidence to the contrary. People are usually too invested in their biases such that it becomes part of their identity, and they are unable to let go. So a lot of the time, they seek confirmation bias from like minded people just to feel good about themselves.

I see it play out here in several threads, especially political ones. That's why in many fields, progress usually comes from young folk because they are not too invested in certain biases that blind their seniors.
Exact reason I gave this thread a wide berth.
Mtu atasema vile they are good thinkers. Mention something negative about something they hold dear and their brains stop working. You become the enemy.

I was pro government until I started interrogating some of it's actions and then I switched to the other side of Jubilee 😁 I'm not totally anti government, I will support policies that I believe to be good for the country and the citizens, and I will condemn policies that negatively impact the citizenry.
When you made a rational decision to switch sides did you interrogate the other side or you just jumped because it was the available side? Must you belong to a side?

Mention something negative about something they hold dear and their brains stop working. You become the enemy.
They pigeonhole you because it is easier than dealing with the affront to their biases. They will even resort to invective if they feel continuing with the "debate" will expose their mental deficiencies leaving them vulnerable to further attacks.

On government I hold no bias, I judge each and every action according to it merits/demerits. My bias since time in memorial has been rooting for the underdog in any fight.

Even when they are wrong?

It is a social conditioning in our value system that we should support the weak especially if they are being preyed on by the strong. It is part of total group survival.
When they are in the wrong I withdraw my support, my support is not unconditional.

Listen to what the presenter says and then listen carefully to what Matiangi says.

@Okiya, sikiza hiyo clip usikie kama ile kitu @Pamba 1 anakatazwa ni kukula kifaranga.

The reporter claims that All relations between officers are banned.
But if you really hear Matiang'i he is out to kill all affairs between officers. But he zeroed in on seniors sampling sexy juniors,apparently that is a problem in the force. Further he says if it happens,one of the parties has to leave the force.

There is a certain company I worked for that actively discouraged relations between employees especially those working in the same department...

But if you really hear Matiang'i he is out to kill all affairs between officers. But he zeroed in on seniors sampling sexy juniors,apparently that is a problem in the force. Further he says if it happens,one of the parties has to leave the force.

There is a certain company I worked for that actively discouraged relations between employees especially those working in the same department...

It's unethical to be intimate with a person that reports to you. Its annoying when someone gets promoted for sleeping with the boss, and then you are bypassed. Na huna put#π¥! Saa hizo unaboeka na job.

It's dimoro-rizing.(haki hii rusungu, nikipatwa na Mwalimu ama introfart, nitakimbia mbio)

There is something new I learnt today about a debate. It should be about your opponent convincing you that his idea is better than yours. It should not be about that "I'm always right". Let me illustrate below.

I elected Sonko. True, I woke up in the morning and cast my vote for Sonko. I can't excuse myself for it even if he had the same ticket with Igathe. I made a stupid decision. Im trying to forgive myself. I will eventually do it.

Let me introduce the topic of the day:: Definition of an Argument.

Its formal disagreement about an issue. There is a pro side and a con side. The pro side is in agreement with the issue in question. The con side is in disagreement with the issue in question. In a formal debate the pro side is the Proposition and the con side is the opposition.

When you are trying to convince someone to to do something, you are using an argument. For example, convincing you child to make her bed. You want to be a more persuasive person.
Mzito sisi watu wa kutoelewa kiingereza tukae kona gani

There is something new I learnt today about a debate. It should be about your opponent convincing you that his idea is better than yours. It should not be about that "I'm always right".
You are coming short on the details...
1. Everyone needs to have an open mind
2. It is not just about you being convinced but you should also try and convince the others....not just rejecting ideas because you feel you have not been convinced.

Mzito sisi watu wa kutoelewa kiingereza tukae kona gani

Tukae tu hapa. I will tone it down and use clearer language. Ask me for an explanation whenever you don't understand me. I'm also learning. When I have a deep understanding of a concept, I'm able to explain it better and give a lot of examples and counter examples. If I'm unable to explain an idea in a simple form, I don't understand it fully. Please point it out so that I can learn some more.

You are coming short on the details...
1. Everyone needs to have an open mind
2. It is not just about you being convinced but you should also try and convince the others....not just rejecting ideas because you feel you have not been convinced.

I agree with you on point 1. Lakini point 2 needs further clarification. A sound argument is a truthful argument. If I can prove that all the statements in an argument (including the conclusion) are truthful, that argument is truthful. It does not matter what I feel about it.