Benjamin Ayimba Medical Fund

We are concerned but we lack industry knowledge, one of the things GoK has succeeded at over the years is in providing just enough information to look compliant but not enough to foster serious debate.

Professionals on the other tulilalia maskio, we decided it is not our job to interrogate public matters, spur public discussion and lobby for better alternatives.

We need to fix that in every sector of the economy

I agree. We need to take things like agriculture, education and public health much more seriously. Knowledge is there, it’s just that most of us are preoccupied with political news in our media.

Professionals, relative to the numbers of general citizens impacted by some of these policies, are a minority. Lazima kila mtu achukue jukumu lake.

I always find it very complex, I think we have gotten or been taken to a place where mediocrity has been normalized and in some way the political leadership has managed to convince us that poverty is normal and ok.

Some of the basic resources that we lack say in the health sector is mind boggling, a president and his CS getting to the point of procuring beds for hospitals is just sad, and then as a country we flag of 500 beds to hospitals just shows a lack of concern from the policy makers and those incharge of the dockets. all in all its a very sad situation.

The way to accomplish a complex job is to break it down into small manageable tasks (and assign competent people for the job). But our system, riddled as it is with influence-peddling, prefers other approaches. The two things they detest most is professional opinion(s) and independently minded professionals. Na tukiendelea hivi, we’ll soon be nostalgically longing for 2021.

Fake friends everywhere, DJ Master Flex juzi alikashifu celebrities "friends" of DMX kupost picha IG "wishing him well" na they have not been in contact for 15-10 yrs

There was a story online the other day of a Kenyan whose friends donated too little an amount of what she required for some medical procedure. But once she died they contributed over 5 times what she needed for the medical procedure. The illusion that is social media.

Some still chasing clouts... likes.
I thought with the outbreak of covid we would fix our health sector just from last year. Most in this kijiji were very optimistic... lakini wapi....bbi was the priority

The priority right now is to get medics out of all matters concerning management of healthcare as we know it today. From where I’m standing the future looks bleak. Already some of your governors and their acolytes are forcing confirmed COVID19 +ve healthcare workers to continue offering services arguing that they’re asymptomatic.

Please elaborate where our healthcare system has failed?

Tuanze na human resource management.
Nowadays it’s quite commonplace to be approached for bribes in order to be employed or promoted. Imagine being asked for a 250k bribe in exchange for a 1 or 2-year contract paying you 20k per month. Or being asked for 100k bribe to secure a promotion you’ve already earned, sio eti ni ya magendo!!

In as much as I agree with you @Luther12. I think the answer we seek is closer home than we think:
We need to tackle corruption and wastage in Government. The savings to be realised from these efforts should be directed to prevention and cure of diseases.
It’s that easy Sir.

I agree there’s just too much wastage and corruption. Did you see the Auditor-General’s reports in the media the other day? 🙆🏾‍♂️

Don't even bother sir. Let them wank themselves silly with 'gavament is to blame'. It makes them sleep better.

(have you noticed nobody is asking the real questions - whether Ayimba had medical insurance, for example? As a national hero he should have had NHIF AND another cover.)

Being a largely devolved function, we are also to blame for electing fellows with questionable morals to be in charge.

One thing many might have noticed is the slow but sure shift towards ‘commercialization’ of public healthcare.

Many counties view it as a business now. And a business must make profit. How to do that? Either increase prices (user fees) or reduce cost of inputs. The former is a political hot potato (dude wants to be re-elected in a short while) so they go for the former. How? By not employing, not promoting, not purchasing required supplies, etc etc.

By the way when we interrogated some of the figures from the Controller of Budget’s Office a while back, we noticed one very odd thing: most (all?) counties seem to have hit the ceiling (many have exceeded) in terms of funds they’re allowed to spend on salaries (and other recurrent expenditure) yet there’s glaring shortages of staff in departments like agriculture, irrigation, and healthcare, among others.

Tuanze na human resource management.
Nowadays it’s quite commonplace to be approached for bribes in order to be employed or promoted. Imagine being asked for a 250k bribe in exchange for a 1 or 2-year contract paying you 20k per month. Or being asked for 100k bribe to secure a promotion you’ve already earned, sio eti ni ya magendo!!
Okay...but in terms of medical treatment and inability of people to pay where are we failing?

sometime I really try hard to convince myself that if such a thing were to happen to me, God forbid that my friends or rather all those who call me a friend would be ready to chip in, I mean 2m is an amount that some of those who are posting the the messages can easily contribute and raise without dragging their friend in what I would call the online social media mud.
Most people don't have anything, especially the so called 'celeb'.
They posted him on social media because he's, was a national player and coach for the national team.
Wacha tumsaidie

The priority right now is to get medics out of all matters concerning management of healthcare as we know it today. From where I’m standing the future looks bleak. Already some of your governors and their acolytes are forcing confirmed COVID19 +ve healthcare workers to continue offering services arguing that they’re asymptomatic.
Isn't it absurd? Medics are needed to manage the healthcare system.
This country is really breaking down to failure day by day...