Our world this morning...a cold war loading on two fronts

CNN
March 19, 2021

Stephen Collinson and Caitlin Hu
'Hold on one second'
----------
To incite one Cold War might be regarded as a misfortune. To trigger two looks like carelessness.

As President Joe Biden's envoys trade barbs with China in Alaska, he’s going mano-a-mano with Russian President Vladimir Putin.

After US spy agencies accused Moscow of meddling in yet another US election to support Donald Trump, the new US President unloaded on Putin in a television interview. He agreed that the Russian leader was “a killer” and said Putin would “pay a price” for interfering in the US election. Russia, which never really stopped fighting the Cold War, has recalled its ambassador to Washington. And Putin, with the ambiguity of a mafioso, wished Biden “good health.”
Biden wants to strike a contrast with Trump’s toadying to the former KGB man in the Kremlin, and he appears to be trying to counter an impression in Moscow -- that is shared in Beijing -- that both he and his country are weak and in decline. (He might also fancy stoking political tensions simmering in the Russian population.)

But is it smart to personalize the clash? While Biden did extend the New START nuclear treaty with Putin for the sake of humanity, stirring up enmity is dangerous for nations whose armed forces shadow-box at close quarters, in the skies, on the oceans and in Syria.
Back in the 1970s, one rationale of President Richard Nixon’s “opening” with China was to convince its communists not to join forces with their Marxist cousins in the Soviet Union. Biden was a young senator back then. Now as President, he’s trying to get tough on both at the same time. Meanwhile, Moscow and Beijing are planning to get together next week, and have already agreed to go halfsies on a space station.

The buzzword Cold War doesn’t really describe the breadth and complexity of the tensions between Washington and Beijing; disputes over Taiwan, Hong Kong, the South China Sea, repression of Uyghur Muslims, espionage and other issues dwarf the old US-Russia showdown. And Xi Jinping’s China is deeply embedded in the global market, with an industrial base and supply chains crucial to wide swaths of Western economies and a proliferation of technological back doors into foreign infrastructure.

Biden wants to call out US adversaries on differences but still find areas of common strategic interest, like climate mitigation with Beijing. But so far he’s mostly providing material for the heirs of John le Carré

WAR OF WORDS OVER ‘KILLER’ COMMENT
MOSCOW-WASHINGTON TIES SINK TO NEW LOW AFTER COLD WAR OF WORDS BETWEEN RUSSIAN AND AMERICAN LEADERS
  • Gulf News
  • 19 Mar 2021
  • BY ISABELLE KHURSHUDYAN
img

‘It takes one to know one’, Vladimir Putin said in response to Joe Biden calling him a ‘killer’ as long-running tensions turned into a furious exchange of taunts yesterday
President Vladimir Putin retorted yesterday that it takes one to know one after US President Joe Biden said he thought the Russian leader was a killer and already poor relations between Moscow and Washington sank to a new postCold War low.
Putin was speaking on television after Biden, in an ABC News interview that prompted Russia to recall its Washington ambassador for consultations a day earlier, said “I do” when asked if he believed Putin was a killer.
Biden also described Putin as having no soul, and said he would pay a price for alleged Russian meddling in the November 2020 US presidential election, something the Kremlin denies.
Russia is preparing to be hit by a new round of US sanctions in the coming days over that alleged meddling as well as over an alleged hack. In a highly unusual move following Biden’s interview, Moscow recalled its ambassador to the United States for consultations.
I remember in my childhood, when we argued in the courtyard with each other we used to say: it takes one to know one. And that’s not a coincidence, not just a children’s saying or joke. The psychological meaning here is very deep.”
Vladimir Putin | Russian President
The conversation [with Putin] started off, I said, ‘I know you and you know me. If I establish this occurred, then be prepared’. He will pay a price… you’ll see shortly.”
‘Bloody events’
Putin, responding to Biden’s characterisation of him, said he knew the US leader personally, and, in an apparent reference to Biden’s age (78), said he sincerely wished him good health.
Suggesting Biden was hypocritical in his remarks, Putin said that every state had to contend with “bloody events” and added Biden was accusing the Russian leader of something he was guilty of himself.
“I remember in my childhood, when we argued in the courtyard with each other we used to say: it takes one to know one. And that’s not a coincidence, not just a children’s saying or joke. The psychological meaning here is very deep,” Putin said.
“We always see our own traits in other people and think they
Joe Biden | US President
are like how we really are. And as a result we assess (a person’s) activities and give assessments,” he said.
Really bad remarks
Shortly before Putin’s remarks, his spokesman said Biden’s comments showed he had no interest in fixing ties with Moscow, which are strained by everything from Syria to Ukraine to Russia’s jailing of opposition politician Alexei Navalny.
Biden was quick to extend a key nuclear arms pact with Russia after he took office in January. But his administration has said it will take a tougher line with Moscow than Washington did during Donald Trump’s term in office, and engage only when there is a tangible benefit for the United States.
“These are really bad remarks by the US president. He has clearly shown that he doesn’t want to improve relations with our country,” Dmitry Peskov, Putin’s spokesman, said. “We will now proceed from that.”
“Of course, this hasn’t happened before in history,” Peskov told reporters, commenting on Biden’s remarks.
Konstantin Kosachyov, deputy chairman of parliament’s upper house, said Moscow’s recall of its ambassador was the only reasonable step to take in the circumstances.
“I suspect it will not be the last one if no explanation or apology follows from the American side,” Kosachyov said in a Facebook post.

Fighting a war on two fronts, these people never learn.
They have always been prepared for it. They call it Near Peer conflicts (Hubris).

Their doctrine has always been to prepare to fight two consecutive major conflicts. That is why they have combatant commands like USPACOM for pacific covering Asia, and EUCOM covering Europe while still maintaining homeland defence with NorthCOM.

Whether they will prevail is another matter...

Uncle Joe hajielewi. That's why China and Russia wanacheka huyu mzee.
The old man forgot he was president during a public address, he called Kamala Harris president.
https://www.newsweek.com/joe-biden-kamala-harris-gaffe-mental-state-poll-1577270
China is busy trying to make their military manly while the 'woke' USA is busy inserting tranies in its army in the name of being inclusive. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
https://www.reuters.com/article/us-china-society-masculinity-idUSKBN2A30LV
If USA continues in this far-left liberal path watacharazwa in future war.

Uncle Joe hajielewi. That's why China and Russia wanacheka huyu mzee.
The old man forgot he was president during a public address,
https://www.newsweek.com/joe-biden-kamala-harris-gaffe-mental-state-poll-1577270
China is busy trying to make their military manly while the 'woke' USA is busy inserting tranies in its army in the name of being inclusive. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
https://www.reuters.com/article/us-china-society-masculinity-idUSKBN2A30LV
If USA continues in this far-left liberal path watacharazwa in future war.
Maybe this is a premonition.... hata saa hii, majirani zetu Watanzania wana rais mwanamke courtesy of the grim reaper.

20 years in the Afghani desert means the US was distracted from preparing for peer conflict. Besides the Americans don't have a stomach for war anymore. So i agree, its hubris, the weakest point of American strategy has always been its allies, if they are not willing to fight, then its crumbles quite quickly.