Ugikuyu

Murang'a welcomed the colonialists with open arms, (... (🤔)) the reason most yellow yellow are from Murang'a (they are humble)
On the other hand, Nyeri pipo were resistant to the whites, hence the dark complexion compaired to their relatives...
You are not serious..... hehehe...do you know the majority of Kikuyus in Limuru came from Murang'a? Find out how they found themselves there....you can read Ngugi wa Thiong'o's personal history

Saaasa na vile nimenyonya mingi.....ní ndírafatara gúthahúrúo
A kikuyu man was supposed to abstain (fast) before passing through any rite or sacrifice (gwĩtheria) Anyway i am a "kĩhĩĩ" . You should also not drink from the pubs since they are unclean places.

This group had all the identifiers of a dangerous cult all in the guise of promoting Kikuyu culture...things such as oath taking, weird religious practices and female genital mutilation.
Propaganda to discredit it. I am not a member but NB ask yourself who is to benefit from the disunity of the people.

I don't think so. I may not be very conversant with how they do their thing, but i have had occasion to talk to one or two of them, and to say the least they are radicalized. Theirs is just too complicated.
Now, growing up in my village, the wazee never stopped following the Gikuyu culture (and all of them were Christians). I can remember as little boys we used to be very happy going kuria mburi cia athuri. It was a very simple thing, no complications, a young man would toa the goats required and graduate gradually.
My village mates have not stopped the practice. In fact juzi I enquired on how I can toa mburi ya Kiama, ya hako nindutiirwo ni muciari.
It was diluted by Nyakeru for his benefit.

Kikuyu culture is on the rebound. Yesterday at a Mzee called Binaisa murat almost killed me (there needs to be research on why I can take 16 WhiteKAPS and still stay relatively sober, but four glasses of murat knock me out cold).

As to the young men here, a good beginning is to start by giving athuri indo ciao - ie, kuruta mburi cia athuri. Do this in your rural area. As you go through the various stages you will learn quite a bit.

A caveat though. There are some stupid 'purists' who'll want you do things as they were done in 1600. Right up here you see an old fool saying eti if you suck your wife's titties then she becomes your matha? Silly. Culture is dynamic and adaptable. For example in old Gikuyu culture you could only ferk your wife missionary. And she didn't even sleep with you the whole night unless she was a gacungwa newly-wed - alikuwa anagawa kwa 'thingira' anarudi 'nyumba' kuangalia watoto. Can we say we mantain these practices surely na vile kadoggie hupandisha?

Kikuyu culture is on the rebound. Yesterday at a Mzee called Binaisa murat almost killed me (there needs to be research on why I can take 16 WhiteKAPS and still stay relatively sober, but four glasses of murat knock me out cold).

As to the young men here, a good beginning is to start by giving athuri indo ciao - ie, kuruta mburi cia athuri. Do this in your rural area. As you go through the various stages you will learn quite a bit.

A caveat though. There are some stupid 'purists' who'll want you do things as they were done in 1600. Right up here you see an old fool saying eti if you suck your wife's titties then she becomes your matha? Silly. Culture is dynamic and adaptable. For example in old Gikuyu culture you could only ferk your wife missionary. And she didn't even sleep with you the whole night unless she was a gacungwa newly-wed - alikuwa anagawa kwa 'thingira' anarudi 'nyumba' kuangalia watoto. Can we say we mantain these practices surely na vile kadoggie hupandisha?
Ni maa , hìa ìgìri ,ùranjì kùina thenge ! Never take muratina and drive.

Thanks Guks, I think this is a good start.

Wale wanafuata gwata ndai cultural centre are too radicalized to my liking. Every other misfortune has to be linked to a debt your family has not given the ancestors
You have to keep removing this and that goat to appease them. Also, they have started building little hits calling them thingira and having their wives forcefully circumcised. When they refuse wanainsist waongeze another child wanahonga doktari mama akipewa mtoto she has her clit cut ostensibly to do away with the grandma's curse

Wale wanafuata gwata ndai cultural centre are too radicalized to my liking. Every other misfortune has to be linked to a debt your family has not given the ancestors
You have to keep removing this and that goat to appease them. Also, they have started building little hits calling them thingira and having their wives forcefully circumcised. When they refuse wanainsist waongeze another child wanahonga doktari mama akipewa mtoto she has her clit cut ostensibly to do away with the grandma's curse
Back when I lived in ndumberi, I used to frequent a pub called Sam’s and one thing I noted is that there was a cabal of ‘wazees’ who thrived in those social events. They started a chama, ‘welfare’ which I just watched from the sidelines, and soon realized that it was actually a money making venture for some of them. So what would happen is that a guy would be in like 5 of those welfare chamas, then he decides to racia for his wife. Each chama would give money and also people’s contributions via the committees. Kidogo kidogo unaona mtu na fielder mpya.

Mtu hawezi changiwa kama hachangii wengine. Chamas are peer pressed savings schemes.

I feel like monetizing them in such a big way breaches some level of integrity......but then when I see it from your perspective, you’re right, coz that’s why they exist,

So you left Ndumberi, I see you know Sam's Pavilion, well it's a cool place, relaxed. Well some few metres headed to Kiambu a few others sprouted like Chemi Chemi. Container doesn't have the shine of yester years.
About the topic at hand I feel like some chamas are exploitive in nature coz we are endowed differently. What I can gift you is not the same as the other one unless it's a uniform contribution.

I was missing your post , it always has a crooked ending bigup guks