Cheki maneno: TDF 2020

short hekaya ya young Meria.
A puncture, a burst and a crazy bend.

In late 1999 and the early 2000s before the Nrb - Msa charity ride, i used to ride like crazy, i had a strict exercise regime ungethania niko kambi ya jeshi. Its very important to map your route on every ride, never leave home if you dont know where you are going. Weekdays mon - fri was off road on an MTB, would ride hard for an hour then turn back to be home by 7pm, weekends was group ride masafa ya mbali, roadbike manenos. In Mombasa roadbike riding there are only three directions

1- North to Kilifi -Malindi

2- South to Diani or Kwale

3- West to Mariakani or Kaloleni.

During the day nikiwa hustle used to look forward to my evening ride while waiting eagerly weekend ifike haraka niede masafa, i used to eat, breath and dream cycling all day. well, this day nilifika home 4:30pm after hustle changed to cycling kit nikatoka, with me i always had a puncture kit, a spare tube and several spanners, 10-11, gatwelo, 14-15, a screw driver, a pump and a pair of pliers, my bike had 2 bottle cages but i always had a 3rd water bottle in my jersey pocket, not the fancy bottles you have today but the kawaida mineral water bottles.

My program that day said Bamburi - Ribe 20kms going 20kms back, btw this is the road guys from North coast use if they have no business in msa town while on the way to nairobi, it takes you to Kaloleni then Mariakani, you bypass nyali bridge, i had done the route several times and loved the guys on the route who always cheered as i passed, kabla ufike mwakirunge kuna a place called Nguu Tatu, a series of 3 tough hills, the first hill is the highest in Momasa county, you can see the ocean, the airport and Mombasa town, its a great viewing point but as on many a day i was not there for the view, nilikua zoezi, panda shuka panda tena nikashika flat road mimi huyo tearing up the murram, mlima zingine ningepata huko karibu na Ribe in Kilifi county, the breeze felt good on my face, it was a great day for riding, the kids wakitoka shule didnt disappoint either, lots of shikamoo as they tried to run along and catch me wengine wakiomba ride, this always made me pedal faster and you could hear their disappointed criies, btw bike yangu hadi wa leo sipeanagi, hata uwe nani.

On a downhill about 3kms from Ribe i suffered a puncture on the front tyre, it was nearly 6 oclock, faster faster i removed the tyre and changed tubes, before fixing the tube i probed the tyre with my fingers to find out what had caused the puncture nikapata ni msumali, the kind used for barbed wire fences ile inakaa "U", i pumped up the new tube had a small meeting with myself nifike Ribe au nisifike decided against it juu ya time lost and turned back, kumaliza kamlima hivi i heard a small explosion , the same front tyre had burst, hii ni kurogwa ama nini, guess i had over exceeded the recommended psi. tyre ata ilikua imetoka kwa rim.

Kutoa tube it had a 5 inch tear, (ferk indian tubes) it was beyond repair, there was no otherwise, all was not lost as i still had the other tube with two punctures from the fencing nail. Nikianza kuziba some young men and a few kids going home from school came to watch, a lively discussion ensued wewe hua unatoka wapi? hua unachoka? uko na bike ingine unipee? wish i had, hawa ni potential future champs, i was working in a hurry lakini sikusahau kukata kiraka mara mili, i have never used a full kiraka to patch a puncture, if you know you know. nilipomaliza i glanced at my watch and saw i was behind schedule, i had like 15kms to do nifike home.

This time i was a bit cautious as i pumped up the tyre and and when i was satisfied i had enough i collected my tools and jumped on the bike, kijana mmoja akaniomba hio spoilt tube nikampatia, najua alienda kutengeza feaa (sling shot).

Nilichomoka hapo kaa mshale, sikua nataka kufika na giza, about 10kms to base nikaamua kupitia shortcut ili to recover the lost time, i left the main road and took a path in the bushy grassland, iliaza na ka dowhill and was flying down the path at a terrific speed when all of a sudden nikajipata chini, infact i somersaulted and landed on my back, haha, nikasimama kajiskiza kidogo apart from a few bruises i was alright, the jersey on my left shoulder were torn but there was no broken bone. let me add that while riding always wear a short sleeve t-shirt under your jersey, hii husaidia sana wakati wa crash as it reduces the bruises. As i picked my bike nikaagalia what made me crash, waah, workers who were laying a water pipe had dug a trench across the foot path and had not filled it in properly, this is what i had hit at full speed and crashed. to add insult to injury the front wheel had a crazy bend, 3 spokes were broken, kujaribu kuistaighten na mkono nikaharibu maneno kabisa, nikajua mimi kwisha.

Well, what a situation i found myself in, here i was 10 kms from home with a busted bike, i had like 200 bob with me lakini hazigenisaidia, this main road had almost no cars and bodas were like 5 yrs away, hazikua zimeland bado, kikwetu kuna msemo inasema Kuvua nguo ni kuoga na mtoto akizaliwa hua ananyonyeshwa, mimi huyo nikaweka mtoto wangu kwa mabega and started the long walk home. Right left right left mguu nipoye haha the roles were now reversed, uzuri hizo sides hazikua na watu wengi siku hizo, very few people saw me.

My frens after half an hour of walking ndio nilijua that an alluminum bike can also be heavy,it felt like i was carrying a pregnant elephant, ilibidi nitupe my 3 water bottles to reduce weight, alafu kumbe nilikua nimeumia on my left shoulder, this made me use my right shoulder only to carry the bike, i soldiered on, kutoka kitambo ili kujipa moyo nikichoka hua na switch to autopilot mode, it easy, over the years i had perfected it, i hum to myself the Desiderata song, ata nikiwa on long masafa rides kama nimeisha kabisa na nimeachwa peke yangu na peleton its what i do, so nikaanza "You are the child of the universe, no less than the trees and the stars, you have a right to be here ....." with that song playing in my mind i can complete any task. up the mountains and down the valleys i went singing along.

i got home at around 9pm watu kuniona nimebeba bike na vile nimechafuka hadi jersey kupasuka wakacheka wegine walikua wanaokotwa chini ya meza, "wewe utaachana na hizi baiskeli lini?" ndio niliulizwa. sikujibu, niliweka bike kwa store, took a shower, chemushad some water nikajichoma bega nikaruka bed, ata sikua na njaa. Tomorrow was another day.
118176600_3332015253486089_2294045959669648830_n.jpg

My program that day said Bamburi - Ribe 20kms going 20kms back, btw this is the road guys from North coast use if they have no business in msa town while on the way to nairobi, it takes you to Kaloleni then Mariakani,

In the past 3 years I have used this route twice to go from SGR to Watamu. Scenic, easy, probably safer than the rest for cyclists.

Wonderful hekaya!!

lance armstrong the cheat
he was deleted from history
He once had a series of wins in the Tour Dr France. He later went on a break after suffering from cancer. He got healed and came back to race. After retirement, he confessed to having doped in order to win. What a wimp!