Schools Will Reopen Any Time - CS Magoha Now Declares

Mishale

• By John Mbati on 29 August 2020 - 7:38 am

a

Education CS George Magoha (left) assess the level of preparedness at Rongo University on Wednesday, August 26.
    File

Education CS George Magoha has alerted parents to brace themselves for earlier school resumption dates if the Coronavirus (Covid-19) curve flattens in the next two or three weeks.
The CS spoke while assessing the level of preparedness at the Wote Technical Training College in Makueni County on Friday, August 28.

Magoha stated that the Covid-19 committee will meet to prepare new reopening dates if the curve flattens in a fortnight or three weeks.
"We are observing the curve and when it hits 5% in the next three weeks, we then can sit down and make hard decisions together.

a

Education CS George Magoha (right) assesses the level of preparedness at Wote Technical Training College in Makueni County on Friday, August 28, 2020
File

"We really must get our children to schools. We want to see whether we can reopen earlier and conditions will determine," Magoha alerted.
However, he reiterated that the choice to reopen schools was solely based on President Uhuru Kenyatta's decision.

Magoha further criticised technical and vocational training institutions countrywide for not hastening and preparing themselves for resumption.
He urged institution heads to rely on youths under the Kazi Mtaani initiative to prepare schools as they offered cheap labour rather than having schools incur extra costs.
The CS also disclosed that he was working in tandem with his Interior Ministry colleague Fred Matiang'i to curb corruption against public resources designated towards reopening of schools.

"We are creating a system where every public secondary school gets between 50 and 100 desks. However, we are going to implement this with the help of the Interior Ministry to ensure no public money is lost and also have onboard all youth leaders in every sub-county," the CS stated.
On Tuesday, August 25, he hinted that schools might re-open before January 2021 as planned. Magoha scrapped off the entire 2020 academic year and cancelled the KCPE and KCSE exams.

He, however, has been under pressure from Parliament, the World Health Organisation and a section of education stakeholders to reopen schools before September 2020.
a

File image of a congested classroom in Kenya
File

i don't know whether we should take this guys remarks or statements seriously of late but this is his latest remarks.

wenye mumekula school fees, sasa mutafanya?

• By John Mbati on 29 August 2020 - 7:38 am

a

Education CS George Magoha (left) assess the level of preparedness at Rongo University on Wednesday, August 26.
    File

Education CS George Magoha has alerted parents to brace themselves for earlier school resumption dates if the Coronavirus (Covid-19) curve flattens in the next two or three weeks.
The CS spoke while assessing the level of preparedness at the Wote Technical Training College in Makueni County on Friday, August 28.

Magoha stated that the Covid-19 committee will meet to prepare new reopening dates if the curve flattens in a fortnight or three weeks.
"We are observing the curve and when it hits 5% in the next three weeks, we then can sit down and make hard decisions together.

a

Education CS George Magoha (right) assesses the level of preparedness at Wote Technical Training College in Makueni County on Friday, August 28, 2020
File

"We really must get our children to schools. We want to see whether we can reopen earlier and conditions will determine," Magoha alerted.
However, he reiterated that the choice to reopen schools was solely based on President Uhuru Kenyatta's decision.

Magoha further criticised technical and vocational training institutions countrywide for not hastening and preparing themselves for resumption.
He urged institution heads to rely on youths under the Kazi Mtaani initiative to prepare schools as they offered cheap labour rather than having schools incur extra costs.
The CS also disclosed that he was working in tandem with his Interior Ministry colleague Fred Matiang'i to curb corruption against public resources designated towards reopening of schools.

"We are creating a system where every public secondary school gets between 50 and 100 desks. However, we are going to implement this with the help of the Interior Ministry to ensure no public money is lost and also have onboard all youth leaders in every sub-county," the CS stated.
On Tuesday, August 25, he hinted that schools might re-open before January 2021 as planned. Magoha scrapped off the entire 2020 academic year and cancelled the KCPE and KCSE exams.

He, however, has been under pressure from Parliament, the World Health Organisation and a section of education stakeholders to reopen schools before September 2020.
a

File image of a congested classroom in Kenya
File

i don't know whether we should take this guys remarks or statements seriously of late but this is his latest remarks.

wenye mumekua school fees, sasa mutafanya?

Stand off loading....
Suppose parents refuses, which is very possible !

Nimekuwa niki order for my children ile mkate kubwa ya round, packed in a square box ,chopped in triangles !
I only see those boxes at night or screen shots in my WhatsApp ,kutoka kwa watoto . Now a whole professori, who is paid using my taxes, is unable to make decisions ! Kwani ile forced leave imeisha ?

They Really Need To Re-open,but The Worry Is How Will The Students Cope The Measures Set To Prevent Covid-19?
the kids are already interacting with other kids who have interacted with parents who have interacted with other people.
so the only difference now is they'll be interacting in schools.

Stand off loading....
Suppose parents refuses, which is very possible !
the problem is most parents are between a rock and a hard place.

stay with the kids at home for an extended period, which most are already tired off and troubled with the risks involved with the kids at home and idle or have the kids learning online and parents still paying full fees

or

the kids go back to school, hence reduced risks and expenses to the parents.

and either way, the kids are interacting with each other and also with their parents who are interacting with others, so the transmissions of COVID 19 is already in full force.

Nimekuwa niki order for my children ile mkate kubwa ya round, packed in a square box ,chopped in triangles !
I only see those boxes at night or screen shots in my WhatsApp ,kutoka kwa watoto . Now a whole professori, who is paid using my taxes, is unable to make decisions ! Kwani ile forced leave imeisha ?
I guess you understand women...

the problem is most parents are between a rock and a hard place.

stay with the kids at home for an extended period, which most are already tired off and troubled with the risks involved with the kids at home and idle or have the kids learning online and parents still paying full fees

or

the kids go back to school, hence reduced risks and expenses to the parents.

and either way, the kids are interacting with each other and also with their parents who are interacting with others, so the transmissions of COVID 19 is already in full force.
Think of those in boarding schools, your son in Mangu ,you're from siaya , his classmates are from all corners of 254 wakutane waabukizane !

i see a scenario where schools open in October and run through December for the first term, then Jan to March for the second term and May to July for the third term and KCSE plus KCPE exams.

this will be the new school calendar for the foreseeable future which will also ensure the school calender runs concurrently with the national budget and also ensure kids have finished the school year before the elections.

Think of those in boarding schools, your son in Mangu ,you're from siaya , his classmates are from all corners of 254 wakutane waabukizane !
that's scary to any parent, but by the end of the day, something has to give.

no cure is on the horizon and b the look of things, COVID 19 will be here to stay and we might go back to "normal" and readjust ourselves.

unless the cure from Russia and that being used in China work and are freely or affordably available.

i see a scenario where schools open in October and run through December for the first term, then Jan to March for second term and May to July for the third term and KCSE plus KCPE exams.

this will be the new School calender for the forseable future which will also ensure the school calender runs in concurrently with the ntional budget and also ensure kids have finsished the school year before the elections.
Soon there will be a stakeholders meeting, to give views on all matters covid19. By the time a decision is reached and implemented 2020 will be no more !

let's wait and see, but the pressure from all around is increasing and it might be a matter of when.

also, with the scandal on COVID Funds, what better way to have the story disappear than to have parents or the country busy with kids and fees.

let's wait and see, but the pressure from all around is increasing and it might be a matter of when.

also, with the scandal on COVID Funds, what better way to have the story disappear than to have parents or the country busy with kids and fees.

Another scandal is in waiting, from Kenya school supplier millionaires
When schools open ,God know when.
Utasikia
Sanitized choke....@5000 a PC
Sanitized desk ....@ 10000 a PC
Sanitized sanitizer at @2000 a bottle of 200ml
Sanitized mask @200
Sanitized....
God have mercy !