HELB dryfry

People here are arguing from a moral superiority standpoint.

Ati

Mwingine

Na Tena

Let me give you my example and why I don't pay.

I was employed immediately I graduated. I started repaying 3,660 and I paid for about 3 years. That figure was arbitrarily reached upon by HELB and my employer without my input. But that's not important at this point.

Kisha nikafutwa. My balance was 58k then.

I survived from hand to mouth for several years. Kama hata bado sijapata a firm financial footing I started getting demand letters zao kwa P.O. Box ya mzee. Ya kwanza ilikua around 180k. Nikajipeleka kuwaona juu I thought it was a mistake.

Nikaambiwa mistake ilikua yangu ati sikuenda kujieleza vile nilifutwa so waka-apply penalties. I told them I didn't know that was possible. But now since they were aware of my situation would they please not apply those penalties until I start repaying again?

Ati apana. For the penalties to be waived, you have to pay in lump sum. Ukishindwa na hutaki penalties ziongezeke uanze kulipa Ile 3,660 ulikua unalipa. Nikashindwa both options. All our communication is in writing.

So the last demand letter came in August. It was 480k na upuzi. Now tell me honestly, would you pay 480k from a debt of 58k? Even if the penalties were to be waived, the interests on those penalties are not waived and even then, only 80% of the penalties are written off. So if I decided to pay a lump sum, I'd have to pay about 200k. Would you pay that?

So it's not that we just don't want to pay juu ati sisi ni vichwa ngumu.
Let's go back kijana. Pesa ulikopa? Why do you want to treat helb as an optional debt. Had you borrowed that money from a bank what would have happened?

People here are arguing from a moral superiority standpoint.

Ati

Mwingine

Na Tena

Let me give you my example and why I don't pay.

I was employed immediately I graduated. I started repaying 3,660 and I paid for about 3 years. That figure was arbitrarily reached upon by HELB and my employer without my input. But that's not important at this point.

Kisha nikafutwa. My balance was 58k then.

I survived from hand to mouth for several years. Kama hata bado sijapata a firm financial footing I started getting demand letters zao kwa P.O. Box ya mzee. Ya kwanza ilikua around 180k. Nikajipeleka kuwaona juu I thought it was a mistake.

Nikaambiwa mistake ilikua yangu ati sikuenda kujieleza vile nilifutwa so waka-apply penalties. I told them I didn't know that was possible. But now since they were aware of my situation would they please not apply those penalties until I start repaying again?

Ati apana. For the penalties to be waived, you have to pay in lump sum. Ukishindwa na hutaki penalties ziongezeke uanze kulipa Ile 3,660 ulikua unalipa. Nikashindwa both options. All our communication is in writing.

So the last demand letter came in August. It was 480k na upuzi. Now tell me honestly, would you pay 480k from a debt of 58k? Even if the penalties were to be waived, the interests on those penalties are not waived and even then, only 80% of the penalties are written off. So if I decided to pay a lump sum, I'd have to pay about 200k. Would you pay that?

So it's not that we just don't want to pay juu ati sisi ni vichwa ngumu.
Same case for me, I repaid almost 3/4 of my loan within the 3 years I was employed. A few months ago I was told I owe them more than the principal. Yaani it is as if I never repaid even a cent. That's the same reason why I also won't repay. HELB knows they can do whatever they like coz when you're employed you must repay the debt regardless of the figure they quote. And I support the fact that the 5k penalty is an illegality. When you take the loan it is not one of the conditions.
And the penalty starts exactly one year after you leave campus. They don't care if you're working or not.

you would have added my quote to your list ;) . I had the same predicament but i had to know someone for all the penalties to be waived off. HELB has a broken system but at the same time our younger generation need that money to assist them study.

Here is my point , i don't blame defaulters nor HELB but the inability of the government to create job opportunities for the youth to ensure there is a steady flow of cash to HELB. As usual you cant fight the gaament unless people wake up and stop reasoning using bonobo minds and realize BBI wouldn't help them pay the loans ....

HELB need to come up with a better way of dealing with that matter.What of those who don't have someone to call,do they go ahead and pay those exorbitant amounts,Kichwa maji kabisa

Same case for me, I repaid almost 3/4 of my loan within the 3 years I was employed. A few months ago I was told I owe them more than the principal. Yaani it is as if I never repaid even a cent. That's the same reason why I also won't repay. HELB knows they can do whatever they like coz when you're employed you must repay the debt regardless of the figure they quote. And I support the fact that the 5k penalty is an illegality. When you take the loan it is not one of the conditions.
And the penalty starts exactly one year after you leave campus. They don't care if you're working or not.
Hata wacha one year, mine started accruing after 7months, Na sikuwa Na job
Anyway as much as I wrote to them numerous times that I’m still not employed waliendelea ku pile up penalties, I repaid a lot of money mpaka inanimate, but itabidi nizoee
Vijana wanataka kulipa but hakuna job and helb policies don’t give a damn on them

They waived 600k of penalties without knowing anyone I just paid the remaining 85k principal in lump-sum and I was free from the stress of monthly deductions, the fuckers tried to convince me to take a loan for the master's program I was undertaking then.

You didn't enter box?