Solar power, Which is the best option?

Jasusi

I am planning to install solar to power my home. After some consultations here and there, I am made to understand a 5kva system will be enough to do the job. Further I have learnt that there are two types of batteries, the normal ones and the lithium-ion batteries with the lithium type being the more costly but longer lasting. Is there someone in this forum who has experience in this area who can assist especially those who are already using solar? Is it also true that lithium ion batteries can explode if installed wrongly?

Let's start by the load you intend to support and also let us know if want to have an off-grid system or its a hybrid (you have KPLC) .
I am not sure you will get a lithium ion battery in the market instead you will get Lithium Iron Phosphate (LiFePO⁴). The later composition is safe unlike lithium ion which is know to furiously explode and catch fire .
If you compare the lead acid and lithium based batteries ,you will realise the later is value for your money since the depth of discharge and number of cycles is almost three times that of lead acid .

@zapp_brannigan & Co, as you answer the Lister, can you also let share the best brands for 250-300W solar lights and what's the best way to combine them with motion-sensor CCTV?
With most LED lights having average rating of 1w /80 lumens hizi taa zako za 250 watts zitamulika mpaka dhambi bwana 😁 .Anyway hayo kando .Do you already have the CCTV equipment ?

Anyway hayo kando .Do you already have the CCTV equipment ?
No I don't. Just considering it for now.
Kwa hivyo ata 200W ni sawa tu. I need them for mulikaing beyond the walls at night. Ni za perimeter, not for indoors or within the compound. Saw all manner of brands at Sheikh Karume and didn't know which to settle for. Bei mostly ni hapo around 7K per piece.

Check if Metsec ,chloride or Felicity wako nazo

With most LED lights having average rating of 1w /80 lumens hizi taa zako za 250 watts zitamulika mpaka dhambi bwana 😁 .Anyway hayo kando .Do you already have the CCTV equipment ?
Watu wakikuwa wakulima huwezi jua nini ingine inaendelea. Unaona vile updates za shamba zilipotea ghafla? Halafu uskie kijana anaulizia chopper gani haina maintenance mingi.

Jasusi

Let's start by the load you intend to support and also let us know if want to have an off-grid system or its a hybrid (you have KPLC) .
I am not sure you will get a lithium ion battery in the market instead you will get Lithium Iron Phosphate (LiFePO⁴). The later composition is safe unlike lithium ion which is know to furiously explode and catch fire .
If you compare the lead acid and lithium based batteries ,you will realise the later is value for your money since the depth of discharge and number of cycles is almost three times that of lead acid .
Thanks for the reply. I want a hybrid system where the main power will come from solar with backup being kplc. The load is the usual home appliances - Tv, fridge, two water pumps (1.2 hp and 1hp), security lights and a treadmill.

Jasusi

I have a 200w solar floodlight and a 300w. By 2am the 300w light is usually dead, but the smaller one stays strong all night. So the 200w will serve you fine.

Use a hybrid inverter that supports batteries for now, when solar goes kaput they switch to kplc, don't buy batteries just yet. In a year or so sodium ion batteries will hit the streets, they will be cheaper than lithium ferrous and will last even longer.

Jasusi

Use a hybrid inverter that supports batteries for now, when solar goes kaput they switch to kplc, don't buy batteries just yet. In a year or so sodium ion batteries will hit the streets, they will be cheaper than lithium ferrous and will last even longer.
You mean I buy the solar panels and the inverter to tap direct sun without having to store the extra power? I did not know it was possible, thanks for that tip.

Thanks for the reply. I want a hybrid system where the main power will come from solar with backup being kplc. The load is the usual home appliances - Tv, fridge, two water pumps (1.2 hp and 1hp), security lights and a treadmill.
Whatever brand you settle on make sure it is a low-frequency hybrid inverter.

Ole Waru

sodium ion batteries will hit the streets, they will be cheaper than lithium ferrous and will last even longer.
I doubt this will happen any time soon, always take battery Technology news with a pinch of salt, unless you have stock in transit