Squid Game

1634629166211.png

Quite weird that no one in this kijiji has made mention of the biggest show currently.

The premise is hundreds of cash-strapped players accept a strange invitation to compete in children's games. Inside, a tempting prize awaits with deadly high stakes. A survival game that has a whopping 45.6 billion-won prize at stake.

Obviously, I know most TV show junkies must have watched the South Korean hit show already ahem ahem @Burner @Relic Hunter @Female Perspective @kijanamrefu @Mishale etc.

Anyway, the reason that I haven't posted this on the Entertainment section is that Squid Game is more of a social commentary show despite all the relatable memes and incredible records including being named the most successful debutant show on Netflix and being valued at approximately $1B!

I mean, the records speak for themselves and none more than the generic Google reviews;
1634628951237.png

As well as the critics:
1634629218575.png

Anyway, if you have watched the show...what's your biggest take-out?

For those not familiar with it, here's a preview...

And also a couple of exclusive moments (spoilers ahead)

Lastly, these Nigerian kids aced it!

it's a nice show but still I doubt it can reach got levels .
have watched it but my take apart from the violence, it doesn't have a mind boggling storyline
It's definitely not at the level of such shows like GOT, Breaking Bad and even The Wire/Sopranos but it is different and quite refreshing and with multiple real-life lessons.

You know....when Parasite won the biggest accolades at the Oscars of 2020...
1634630801750.png

I got drawn to non-American productions and they are not just good but absolutely incredible and also don't have the LGBT agenda which is a quite welcome.

Will you anticipate season 2 of Squid Game?

@mzeiya, it was an interesting show. However, I studied a lot of Korean films when I was in film and it pales in comparison, storywise, to a lot of Korean content which carry similar themes. A very good example is Parasite(2019) and Oldboy, which serve the same social commentary but executed with better skill.

When I leave my filmakers brain at home, it's an entertaining piece of work, albeit a bit too bloody :ROFLMAO:.

Regarding rankings, I rarely pay attention to them because a shit film like Fast 10 tops charts of most kinds yet is utter garbage.

@mzeiya, it was an interesting show. However, I studied a lot of Korean films when I was in film and it pales in comparison, storywise, to a lot of Korean content which carry similar themes. A very good example is Parasite(2019) and Oldboy, which serve the same social commentary but executed with better skill.

When I leave my filmakers brain at home, it's an entertaining piece of work, albeit a bit too bloody :ROFLMAO:.

Regarding rankings, I rarely pay attention to them because a shir film like Fast 10 tops charts of most kinds yet is utter garbage.
Mr. Film Maker,I am bit confused 👆

I think Alice in Borderland was more entertaining but it seems like it didn't catch on like squid game has, i find that squid game has a lot of impractical situations but it's entertaining.

Watched it to the end but not sure I’ll lookout for season 2 that much!
Thought the whole essence of Netflix is having the whole show ready for viewing so you can binge and don’t have to wait for new episodes.Hii kitu hunibore sana.
Also they need to improve their acting skills can’t compare to Hollywood.

View attachment 45782
Quite weird that no one in this kijiji has made mention of the biggest show currently.

The premise is hundreds of cash-strapped players accept a strange invitation to compete in children's games. Inside, a tempting prize awaits with deadly high stakes. A survival game that has a whopping 45.6 billion-won prize at stake.

Obviously, I know most TV show junkies must have watched the South Korean hit show already ahem ahem @Burner @Relic Hunter @Female Perspective @kijanamrefu @Mishale etc.

Anyway, the reason that I haven't posted this on the Entertainment section is that Squid Game is more of a social commentary show despite all the relatable memes and incredible records including being named the most successful debutant show on Netflix and being valued at approximately $1B!

I mean, the records speak for themselves and none more than the generic Google reviews;
View attachment 45781

As well as the critics:
View attachment 45783

Anyway, if you have watched the show...what's your biggest take-out?

For those not familiar with it, here's a preview...

And also a couple of exclusive moments (spoilers ahead)

Lastly, these Nigerian kids aced it!

Im on like episode 4 and struggling. The acting is what throws me off more than anything not even the english dubbing. The premise of the show is alright, but when i watch these shows I consider the universe they are set in and things are off. You have 400 people who seemingly disappear for a couple of days, some never to return and no one seems to be filing missing reports. And its not like they are chokosh. Many of them have family that they live with. Not to mention all the guards who do all the killing and body disposal and noone is snitching (at least not yet as far i as i got.)
And what about all the people who left the game and didnt come back? Arent they telling people that there are murder games going on?

And if there is a zombie series that was good, its korean too.
Kingdom