Ruto, Arsenal, Champions League and Misplaced Priorities

I'm am Arsenal fan.

Been one for quarter of a century now and I'll always love that football club. Anyone who is a shabiki knows that you can change lovers or even stuff like a beloved car, but never a sports team.

Sometimes I actually wonder if it's OK that I hold dear the memories of the two Arsenal games I've watched live at the Emirates, than of significant days such as my wedding and birth of first child. Story for another day lakini!

Anyway, I still fully support this rant. Just read for yourse 👇🏾

1000386840.webp

The thing about facts is that they're stubborn and can't be wished away. I hope the president realizes sooner, rather than later, that grassroots football has an acute need, even that of simple things such as playing boots... Considering he has shoes aplenty flying all over. Pun much intended.

Forget about stadiums. They'd be useless project which will end up draining more loan money with -ve ROI. Even in Europe, not all clubs do have their own stadiums. It's the growth of the club that necessitate building of their own stadium. Arsenal's Highbury belonged to the county I guess? Atletico's stadi belongs to metropolitano etc. Focus shld be growth of the game. But how comes it never grows?

We all know people love the game. But the lack of identity is the biggest problem. Back in the day, clubs used to associate themselves with tribes- best way we could use ethnicity positively. To end tribalism, professor Moi abolished the ethnic club names, resulting to loss of identity.
In Europe, the clubs identify by location. If you are from mercyside, you are automatically rooting for Pool or Everton. If you're from Manchester, you root for City of Utd, coz it's your homeland club.
And if you observe keenly, utapata clubs with real followers are Gor and AFC leopards, coz they never removed their identity entirely. AFC- Abaluhya Football club. Gor, initially Luo Union. Embu FC was renamed Posta sjui rangers. Sasa nani atasupport posta surely? MeruFC became Mafuko Bombers - the name of the company sponsoring them. Ata wewe ukizaliwa leo unaesa associate yourself with such a name? Ata Europe they can't support a Heineken FC. Even Redbull had to use prefix in the original name Salzburg or Leipzig Huku zinaitwa sjui Tusker.

So we'd begin by giving clubs identity. Identity gives them followers. Sponsors won't be a problem mkipata followers.

Forget about stadiums. They'd be useless project which will end up draining more loan money with -ve ROI. Even in Europe, not all clubs do have their own stadiums. It's the growth of the club that necessitate building of their own stadium. Arsenal's Highbury belonged to the county I guess? Atletico's stadi belongs to metropolitano etc. Focus shld be growth of the game. But how comes it never grows?

We all know people love the game. But the lack of identity is the biggest problem. Back in the day, clubs used to associate themselves with tribes- best way we could use ethnicity positively. To end tribalism, professor Moi abolished the ethnic club names, resulting to loss of identity.
In Europe, the clubs identify by location. If you are from mercyside, you are automatically rooting for Pool or Everton. If you're from Manchester, you root for City of Utd, coz it's your homeland club.
And if you observe keenly, utapata clubs with real followers are Gor and AFC leopards, coz they never removed their identity entirely. AFC- Abaluhya Football club. Gor, initially Luo Union. Embu FC was renamed Posta sjui rangers. Sasa nani atasupport posta surely? MeruFC became Mafuko Bombers - the name of the company sponsoring them. Ata wewe ukizaliwa leo unaesa associate yourself with such a name? Ata Europe they can't support a Heineken FC. Even Redbull had to use prefix in the original name Salzburg or Leipzig Huku zinaitwa sjui Tusker.

So we'd begin by giving clubs identity. Identity gives them followers. Sponsors won't be a problem mkipata followers.
Well said. You don't even need full fledged stadiums. Just quality, standard pitches. Most clubs in the UK start with sheds. Simple terraces for their few fans. The more popular and successful they are, they end up building North-End, a South-End behind each goal post.

But what they all have in common are nice, quality pitches and dressing rooms.

Huku Kenya we want to skip all the stages of growth and whine about people supporting teams abroad. Some of those teams are more than a century old and that is why they have global fanbases.

Nailed it.
Well said. You don't even need full fledged stadiums. Just quality, standard pitches. Most clubs in the UK start with sheds. Simple terraces for their few fans. The more popular and successful they are, they end up building North-End, a South-End behind each goal post.

But what they all have in common are nice, quality pitches and dressing rooms.

Huku Kenya we want to skip all the stages of growth and whine about people supporting teams abroad. Some of those teams are more than a century old and that is why they have global fanbases.
Absolutely.