Posta and Telkom are poster child's of planned obsolescenceI don't know about privatization coz Kenya is signatory to the Universal Postal Union Convention on maintaining postal services throughout all a country's territory
I don't know what took Posta so long to collapse? Faced with a technological frontal assault and cut-throat competition from private couriers, the grey-suits who called themselves a Board, consisting of political rejects and brothers of appointing authorities, often made weird decisions. Some highlights -
-They derisively dismissed the coming of email, and the SMS, as a passing fad that would never replace "the culture of letter-writing"
- By the time they were seeing the wisdom of investing in cyber services (powered by expensive satelite communications) there was a private cyber cafe at every street corner so customers did not see the need to walk to the posta.
-Around 2007 their then revolutionary money transfer service, whose name I forget, that enabled a recipient to get their money the following day, was soon brushed aside by the advent of Mpesa.
- Faced with a serious drop in POB rentals, they decided to shore up revenues by increasing box rental charges year on year. Private renters dropped out leaving only corporate and government customers. Eventually even them opted for electronic communications leading to serious drop in stamp sales.
- They priced themselves out of the courier biz. The last time I tried to use EMS they were charging me 408 to deliver a letter to my destination address, Securicor charged 238 for the same service.
The proliferation of matatu couriers also ate into their lunch.
-In response to the matatu courier competition, the board announced that they were also going to invest in matatus. The idea was stillborn.
-My most recent encounter with them was when I went to buy a 40 bob stamp to send a success card only to be told to pay to e-citizen and add 50 bob convenience fee (for Kasongo Yay yay!). I left.
The services will remain, the premium real estate will be gone. A private investor will come in, sell off the juiciest assets in the name of restructuring, then dispose the remainder to a third-party.I don't know about privatization coz Kenya is signatory to the Universal Postal Union Convention on maintaining postal services throughout all a country's territory
When you employ people based tribalism and nepotism instead of competence you get people who cannot adapt to change.I don't know about privatization coz Kenya is signatory to the Universal Postal Union Convention on maintaining postal services throughout all a country's territory
I don't know what took Posta so long to collapse? Faced with a technological frontal assault and cut-throat competition from private couriers, the grey-suits who called themselves a Board, consisting of political rejects and brothers of appointing authorities, often made weird decisions. Some highlights -
-They derisively dismissed the coming of email, and the SMS, as a passing fad that would never replace "the culture of letter-writing"
- By the time they were seeing the wisdom of investing in cyber services (powered by expensive satelite communications) there was a private cyber cafe at every street corner so customers did not see the need to walk to the posta.
-Around 2007 their then revolutionary money transfer service, whose name I forget, that enabled a recipient to get their money the following day, was soon brushed aside by the advent of Mpesa.
- Faced with a serious drop in POB rentals, they decided to shore up revenues by increasing box rental charges year on year. Private renters dropped out leaving only corporate and government customers. Eventually even them opted for electronic communications leading to serious drop in stamp sales.
- They priced themselves out of the courier biz. The last time I tried to use EMS they were charging me 408 to deliver a letter to my destination address, Securicor charged 238 for the same service.
The proliferation of matatu couriers also ate into their lunch.
-In response to the matatu courier competition, the board announced that they were also going to invest in matatus. The idea was stillborn.
-My most recent encounter with them was when I went to buy a 40 bob stamp to send a success card only to be told to pay to e-citizen and add 50 bob convenience fee (for Kasongo Yay yay!). I left.
Tragedy of our times.When you employ people based tribalism and nepotism instead of competence you get people who cannot adapt to change.
Like that fella in charge of 'development' who said the Internet should be shut down so that we get all our news from TV and Radio
That was that fool Ruku, right?When you employ people based tribalism and nepotism instead of competence you get people who cannot adapt to change.
Like that fella in charge of 'development' who said the Internet should be shut down so that we get all our news from TV and Radio
The name escapes me for nowThat was that fool Ruku, right?
When you employ people based tribalism and nepotism instead of competence you get people who cannot adapt to change.