Gd evening fellow fossils
Schools closed today. Tumeanza kuona texts za xaxa na 208, bado najifundisha hii lugha.
Enzi zetu closing day in primary late 70s we used to go as a bunch to what we called "discovery"
As soon as we were released at 11am of we went to areas that had been discussed earlier. We were the explolers, only one pupil knows where he is taking us and we followed.
I come from Dagoretti south near Ngong forest. (Sadly it's no more, not like I knew it)
One day we went to Ondiri swamp. This swamp is unique. In English its called old lake. Rumour has it that it was a lake that silted over. The water is two feet below a layer of silt. You can walk over the lake but the silt covering it is unstable.
It's like walking on waves.
Back to story.
Sisi hao tukafika ondiri, like 6km from our school, walking on the wavy silt is not for the faint hearted but after an hour we got the hung of it.
Then Githeshe baddest boy in school had an idea.
Why dont we dig a hole here and another 2 meters away and we swim and emerge yonder. Seemed like a great idea
We all agreed and dug the holes.
Alpha male Githeche went first and emerged.
We were afraid
He went again and tokelezead tena.
So it was this easy.
Yours truly took the dip and emerged at the other end.
Haiya it's this easy.
Soon even girls were doing it.
Wueh
Machos inatoka nikikumbuka hii.
One class 5 kid aliingia hole one tunamgojea hole 2 hakutokea.
Tukagoja 3 minutes
Kijanaa hatokei.
Githeche was no where to be found.
Shaking nikaingia hole one and emerged hole 2
Didnt find the boy in the blackness.
We ran away and went home.
At 8pm is when villagers came knocking at our door.
A kid was missing niseme ako wapi.
All the kids who had gone on the "discovery" were brought home.
Tuliimba kama cassette iko na battery mpya after kichapo kaa ya mbwa ameingia mskitini.
Our friend was gone never to be seen again.
Villagers took turns disciplining us that night.
Early morning we went back to ondiri swamp and we showed them our 2 holes.
Another kichapo.
Rest in peace my friend wherever you went.
Rumour has it that ondiri which is the source of Nairobi river is connected to lake Naivasha.
Sijui kama wewe ushawai Sikia hivo.
During a past discovery we had gone deep into Ngong forest and found a body.
Story for another day