Woman Trampled To Death By Marauding Jumbo In Kieni

A marauding Jumbo trampled on a woman killing her instantly yesterday at Tagwa area, Maragima in Kieni constituency, Nyeri county.
The woman identified as Rose Njogu was killed just some few metres away from her home where she was returning to after alighting from a matatu at Tagwa - State lodge road accompanied by another woman who was rescued by area residents.
Area residents are now living in fear saying that they have noted about the rogue elephant has been roaming in the area since Sunday.
Three people have been killed and crops destroyed by elephants in the area and local residents appeal to the Kenya Wildlife Service (KWS) to tame their wild animals.
The jumbo is still roaming in the area and the
residents now want KWS to intervene and drive back the animal and contain it.

328761538_724566125916458_1849043308892280815_n.jpg

A marauding Jumbo trampled on a woman killing her instantly yesterday at Tagwa area, Maragima in Kieni constituency, Nyeri county.
The woman identified as Rose Njogu was killed just some few metres away from her home where she was returning to after alighting from a matatu at Tagwa - State lodge road accompanied by another woman who was rescued by area residents.
Area residents are now living in fear saying that they have noted about the rogue elephant has been roaming in the area since Sunday.
Three people have been killed and crops destroyed by elephants in the area and local residents appeal to the Kenya Wildlife Service (KWS) to tame their wild animals.
The jumbo is still roaming in the area and the
residents now want KWS to intervene and drive back the animal and contain it.

View attachment 84153
It is very saddening to witness the worsening Human-wildlife conflict that is becoming more and more prevalent in the present times.

One is always left to wonder whether the Politicians and the Surveyors who hived off large portions of Wildlife Parks consulted with Wildlife Experts to avoid cutting off wildlife from their most preferred regions and their “playgrounds” as it were.

I am talking this from experience as my family owns a farm that borders Ol-Pejeta Conservancy in Laikipia.
Every year and without any exceptions, the Pachyderms break lose out of the Park by tramping and destroying the electric fence and wandering into people’s shambas and homesteads.
The damage they cause to people’s livelihoods and sometimes to people’s health and safety is immense.

As a reasonable and rational person, I am always left to wonder who is to blame for this state of affairs. Is it the pachyderms breaking the fences or the Government which sliced off this land, without as much as a little consultation with the affected animals, to their eternal detriment.
I am always bemused as to whether this situation can ever be rectified as we did a right blunder by denying these animals roaming and grazing rights.

Just last week and attached, find a video of the marauding elephants who broke out forcing people to gather all the rudimentary tools at their disposal to chase them away.

Might it be time to surrender some of our land to the rightful original owners - the animals, to avoid a prolonged and an unwinnable war?

I use this road quite frequently when I am in the village. In the night it is not uncommon to spot an elephant crossing or just hanging about on the road. People know this but you will still see people walking about in the dark, kwanza drunk guys. I am not surprised people have been trampled.

One of my living nightmares as a young man was a fear that I would one day meet a jumbo as I waddled home from a beer session near Kereita forest, part of the Aberdares.

Fortunately it never happened, though I think I saw a leopard once...

One of my living nightmares as a young man was a fear that I would one day meet a jumbo as I waddled home from a beer session near Kereita forest, part of the Aberdares.

These things are very dangerous especially if they have their calves. They look big and slow but you cannot outrun them. They will turn you into chewing gum, uokotwe na spades. They always come to the road at night because of the warmth radiating from the tarmac.

Ziii.

We wonire kiiiromi kana kiana kia ngari.

Guka @Field Marshal wewe ukiona Leopard, kwaza a fully grown male, Uta anguka na pace maker iko currupt bios.