Will the Kasarani Murder be a Competency Test for Crime Busters?

1705829220856.png

Image of the murder suspect as captured on a CCTV. Interestingly, there is no CCTV-quality video in public circulation, forcing the public to rely on the poor quality videos that media houses broadcast.

The murder of Rita Waeni Muendo, which was executed in an airbnb in Kasarani, is likely to expose systemic weaknesses in the country’s crime-fighting outfits. In the past, when the DCI successfully solved similar crimes, there were always doubts whether it was out of competence, luck, or careless/dumb criminals. Investigators may not be as lucky this time around as the suspect made sure to avoid using his phone for calls or transactions. Luckily or unluckily for the investigators, the suspect was captured in a CCTV camera. The images the suspect left behind will either prove the competency of the DCI or expose them as a bunch of amateurs (I could have called them fools but I know they are easily triggered) who have been running on luck all along. That they went hunting for a Nigerian with no proof that he was Nigerian tells a lot. Why would anyone believe the words of a criminal who needs to keep his identity concealed?

So far, a number of glaring weaknesses have become apparent. First, the DCI seems to have no protocols or systems in place to enlist the help of the public in securing information. Why do I say this? For a number of reasons. One, there lacks a well-constituted image of the suspect, which should be in every social media platform by now. Any decent artist could easily reproduce the picture of the criminal with 99% accuracy, and perhaps higher if you motivate them with a glass of cham. By now, posters bearing the image of the suspect should have been plastered in all areas he is suspected to have visited. Somebody must have seen him.

The other weakness is the lack of integration of civilian/private security assets with those of the state. Thousands of businesses and private premises collect terabytes of video footage every second. However, there lacks a central system for collecting and collating this data in a useful format. I bet the suspect has been captured before in the security cameras of countless supermarkets, ATM outlets, and private residences. If all this data had a common repository accessible by state security, it would be much easier to mine it for clues using technology.

Finally, I have a feeling that the family of the deceased girl could be holding onto information that could be useful to the investigation but which might injure the image of the girl. It would be interesting to have all the communications between the girl and suspect made public. In there might lay a clue that could unravel the case. Someone might recognize a phrase or words they have seen or heard before. All in all, with the right effort, it should not be that difficult to trace a left-handed fellow who does not look like 99% of the population.

Security begins with you !
As a Kenyan citizen it's your duty to ensure you are safe a nd any other human being is safe ,the Security agencies comes later and I'm sure they are capable of getting the culprit !
NB
You are entitled to your opinions

However, there lacks a central system for collecting and collating this data in a useful format
Lets assume its worthwhile for government to save terabytes worth of video footage from private facilities, how many people would be comfortable with this?
Finally, I have a feeling that the family of the deceased girl could be holding onto information that could be useful to the investigation but which might injure the image of the girl.
How do you know they have told investigators everything and they playing it close to their chest

Lets assume its worthwhile for government to save terabytes worth of video footage from private facilities, how many people would be comfortable with this?

How do you know they have told investigators everything and they playing it close to their chest
Whe you install cctv cameras and a crime happens within the camera ranges, it's only fair as a citizen to submit the footage to authorities

One, there lacks a well-constituted image of the suspect, which should be in every social media platform by now. Any decent artist could easily reproduce the picture of the criminal with 99% accuracy, and perhaps higher if you motivate them with a glass of cham.
Hii ilinishangaza, the guy they arrested looked nothing like the cctv guy

Is it only me who gets the feeling that the 500000 shillings ransom story was made up as damage control, to deflect from the fact that their daughter had become malware after going to school in Nairobi.

A woman's head has been found thrown at a dam in Kiambaa, Kiambu. It has been collected and taken to City Mortuary. It is not known kama ni ya Waeni.

1705853767184.png

Hii ni ile dam ya
Is it only me who gets the feeling that the 500000 shillings ransom story was made up as damage control, to deflect from the fact that their daughter had become malware after going to school in Nairobi.
Yes, it seemed made up, lakini niliwapa benefit of doubt

Of course, people may not be comfortable, but not if you sell the idea as a security arrangement that allows for quick response and investigation of crime. If you think about it, as an individual, the idea of being filmed every time you enter a supermarket is not exactly agreeable. However, you waive those concerns when you consider the security benefits.

As a business owner, it would be comforting to know that the thugs who struck at your place can be traced back to several other places even if your systems did not capture them from the best angle. Add to that the benefit of free storage space that you can consult for years. How about getting free consultancy from security experts when installing security devices? Similarly, as a home owner, it is in your best interest if the thugs that raided the neighboring estate are arrested. If volunteering your feed helps this process, you would not think much about it. In short, the idea would be easy to sell if presented as a security measure to benefit homes and businesses. But, of course, you have to include stringent data protection clauses.

As a Kenyan citizen it's your duty to ensure you are safe a nd any other human being is safe ,the Security agencies comes later and I'm sure they are capable of getting the culprit !
NB
You are entitled to your opinions
How much is a basic 2mp IP camera?

Introvert

View attachment 91848

Image of the murder suspect as captured on a CCTV. Interestingly, there is no CCTV-quality video in public circulation, forcing the public to rely on the poor quality videos that media houses broadcast.

The murder of Rita Waeni Muendo, which was executed in an airbnb in Kasarani, is likely to expose systemic weaknesses in the country’s crime-fighting outfits. In the past, when the DCI successfully solved similar crimes, there were always doubts whether it was out of competence, luck, or careless/dumb criminals. Investigators may not be as lucky this time around as the suspect made sure to avoid using his phone for calls or transactions. Luckily or unluckily for the investigators, the suspect was captured in a CCTV camera. The images the suspect left behind will either prove the competency of the DCI or expose them as a bunch of amateurs (I could have called them fools but I know they are easily triggered) who have been running on luck all along. That they went hunting for a Nigerian with no proof that he was Nigerian tells a lot. Why would anyone believe the words of a criminal who needs to keep his identity concealed?

So far, a number of glaring weaknesses have become apparent. First, the DCI seems to have no protocols or systems in place to enlist the help of the public in securing information. Why do I say this? For a number of reasons. One, there lacks a well-constituted image of the suspect, which should be in every social media platform by now. Any decent artist could easily reproduce the picture of the criminal with 99% accuracy, and perhaps higher if you motivate them with a glass of cham. By now, posters bearing the image of the suspect should have been plastered in all areas he is suspected to have visited. Somebody must have seen him.

The other weakness is the lack of integration of civilian/private security assets with those of the state. Thousands of businesses and private premises collect terabytes of video footage every second. However, there lacks a central system for collecting and collating this data in a useful format. I bet the suspect has been captured before in the security cameras of countless supermarkets, ATM outlets, and private residences. If all this data had a common repository accessible by state security, it would be much easier to mine it for clues using technology.

Finally, I have a feeling that the family of the deceased girl could be holding onto information that could be useful to the investigation but which might injure the image of the girl. It would be interesting to have all the communications between the girl and suspect made public. In there might lay a clue that could unravel the case. Someone might recognize a phrase or words they have seen or heard before. All in all, with the right effort, it should not be that difficult to trace a left-handed fellow who does not look like 99% of the population.
Ni kama nimeingiliwa mahali na hii glass yangu ya cham.