Why are you still using Windows 7

There is literally nothing without an alternative. The money you will spend on regaining foot after an attack will be way more than what you will spend updating to windows 10
Let's cross the bridge when we get there.
I have some POS software that works on XP only. I don't have the money to buy an alternative software running on Win10, and migrate the data there. So I will hold on until... Sijui.

AU5

Administrator
Let's cross the bridge when we get there.
I have some POS software that works on XP only. I don't have the money to buy an alternative software running on Win10, and migrate the data there. So I will hold on until... Sijui.
There are a million POS out there. It's not that you don't have money to buy an alternative, you are just Stingy

Ule Msee

Although it is good to be security conscious, in Kenya we are a low risk to zero day hacks than other countries. I once found a hanged atm and guess what it was using? Windows 2000

AU5

Administrator
It's just updates, you are ok. Usibabaike.
New feature updates stopped in 2015, this was not a problem. security updates stopped this week, this is a problem. That's enough reason to be worried

There are a million POS out there. It's not that you don't have money to buy an alternative, you are just Stingy
Why fix it when it ain't broken?
I remember the effort it took to get the system running without issues. Wouldn't want to try that with a new system.
Na sina pesa.

AU5

Administrator
Except updates, what other support do I need? And since I had the latest update, shouldn't I be safe?

Because new vulnerabilities are discovered every day and people who create malware don't sleep. That's why you need frequent security updates which Windows 7 now lacks

AU5

Administrator
Why fix it when it ain't broken?
I remember the effort it took to get the system running without issues. Wouldn't want to try that with a new system.
Na sina pesa.
When you will be attacked and critical data get encrypted/wiped ndipo utajua How expensive it will be

AU5

Administrator
Although it is good to be security conscious, in Kenya we are a low risk to zero day hacks than other countries. I once found a hanged atm and guess what it was using? Windows 2000

Usidanganywe, I have seen lots of companies here in Kenya loose their data after ransomware attacks on their servers

Sabuni

the british and american navy still run on windows XP.
most ATM until recently ran on XP.
Personally windows 8.1 and Ubuntu are preferred.

AU5

Administrator
the british and american navy still run on windows XP.
most ATM until recently ran on XP.
Personally windows 8.1 and Ubuntu are preferred.
The military can afford to pay for Patches from MS, while:

1. You are not military
2. You are broke and cannot afford the monthly payments MS charges
3. The cost of those monthly charges are worth 2 licenses of Windows 10 Pro
4. You don't have the technical skill of the military to use on your own to spot malware and harden your system

unless that computer is completely isolated from the internet or from other humans and external storage peripherals, you are at a very high risk of being attacked

Oh
5. The US Military no longer uses XP