When defunding the police experiment backfires

neloangelo

Surging crime rates in the US have prompted a hurried rethinking of plans to defund the police. Following the latest deadly shooting in California, a White House spokesperson said gun violence is spiraling out of control. Meanwhile, more than 20 major US cities have reduced their police budgets since last year.

neloangelo

Hawa ni hao makarao wanafanya hayo maovu ndio ikae hii plan haifanyi kazi...

Lakini the average americans are bonobos. Who am I to say it's not them shooting each other
Shida ni when hakuna enough police the usual thugs take advantage. Kwanza New york ni kubaya.

The US has its fare of nut jobs. Kwanza Hawa rethugligangs are spreading propaganda by mischaracterizing the police funding model. The police there are too violent and get calls to deal with situations they are not trained in. For example, why should police be called to deal with a non violent mentally sick person. Campaigners are arguing that some of the funds used to fund militarization of the police should be used to fund other cadres of first responders.

Like Jazzman, who Im I to ask them to drop their weapons and stop slaughtering each other?

neloangelo

The US has its fare of nut jobs. Kwanza Hawa rethugligangs are spreading propaganda by mischaracterizing the police funding model. The police there are too violent and get calls to deal with situations they are not trained in. For example, why should police be called to deal with a non violent mentally sick person. Campaigners are arguing that some of the funds used to fund militarization of the police should be used to fund other cadres of first responders.

Like Jazzman, who Im I to ask them to drop their weapons and stop slaughtering each other?
Sasa hapo ni reforms that are needed sio defunding which is leading to higher crime rates. On that clip the democrat mayors and governors who defunded are refunding the cops. Hio sio conspiracy theory ya wakina Tirump.

What is your understanding of "defending the police"? See the article below. The US has a very high rate of imprisonment which disapropirtionately affects black people. This high rate of jailing people has not reduced crime, it has increased the cost of jailing people and law enforcement. Why not use some of that money on improving peoples chances in life. Tackle homelessness, drug abuse, mental health , vocational training.

neloangelo

What is your understanding of "defending the police"? See the article below. The US has a very high rate of imprisonment which disapropirtionately affects black people. This high rate of jailing people has not reduced crime, it has increased the cost of jailing people and law enforcement. Why not use some of that money on improving peoples chances in life. Tackle homelessness, drug abuse, mental health , vocational training.

I agree in theory it was a wonderful idea but in practice is has backfired. I agree dealing with some drug addicts and mental health problems you need social workers.
Even mzee Biden doesn't support defund the police.

Doc oga

Who owns Those jails in the first place? I am inclined to believe jails are profit making institutions.