What the mainstream media wont show you

JazzMan

No, but probably the husband ni mtu wa juakali who has been affected by all of these things...so the 100m can be used to keep them abreast ata kama ni chakula
Instead of helping needy cases,tunalipa artists ambao back wanalipwa na youtube
there are many types of artists. The term artists can cover the painters, artisans, as well as musicians. When it comes to musicians they have been the most affected since the places they need to make money from are places where people have to gather. With the ban on gatherings where are they expected to make money? Does the average mugithi one man guitarist in some dingy club make money on YouTube?

Mwendawazimu

there are many types of artists. The term artists can cover the painters, artisans, as well as musicians. When it comes to musicians they have been the most affected since the places they need to make money from are places where people have to gather. With the ban on gatherings where are they expected to make money? Does the average mugithi one man guitarist in some dingy club make money on YouTube?
I get your point.but do you want to say artists should get preferential treatment? Aren't there more needy Kenyans? Aren't there more urgent needs that could help a larrger population ?

JazzMan

I get your point.but do you want to say artists should get preferential treatment? Aren't there more needy Kenyans? Aren't there more urgent needs that could help a larrger population ?
Almost everywhere you look, there will be needy Kenyans. Just picking one group and leaving the rest will be bound to bring up all manner of discontent from other groups who feel they are more worthy to receive that money, but they tend to forget that art is also a part of a functioning society.

Mr Black

I had said this earlier...
What you are doing is tiptoeing around the subject of evictions defending government inaction and lethargy.

Yes the GoK cannot afford to pay rent for Kenyans who are unable to pay-millions will not make rent given our poor savings rate and high cost of living- but they should be proactive in their engagement with landlords not just by freezing evictions but in finding ways to ease the blow for landlords who will have to do with depressed earnings, what we have now is a situation where landlords are getting no direction from the government and are left to their own devices.

emali

and what is the public doing? since we all know the capabilities of out politicians... if everybody who could afford a few coins sent it to a trustworthy say organisation who would identify the very needy on the ground and help

He he he he he! Mimi hucheka sana. At the pain of sounding more like a condescending asshole, let me ask; if tenants don't pay their rents, landlords are supposed to eat those houses or what? Use their paint to pay loans? Feed their children hot air?

I am sori to say if this is what passes as the thinking of educated youth hii Kenya tuna shida sana. NIMESEMA NA NITASEMA; IF YOU ARE FERKING POOR THAT IS YOUR FERKING PROBLEM, ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE BRED LIKE A RAT AND HAVE 8 BRATS IN TOW. Harsh but real. Nobody, NO FERKING ANYBODY owes you a living. On the scale of things you can die tomorrow and nobody will miss you beyond two days so don't think you are that important to the human gene pool.

If you understand this basic premise, then you'll know that the primary duty of care is to yourself. YOURSELF. To expect others to step in every time you hit a challenge is stupid, and not least people who ave spent years saving and toiling to put up a few rentals (I am tempted to go tribal here but I won't)

Unfortunately. since colonialism low-IQ Africans have been conditioned to think of themselves as little children who EVERYBODY BUT THEMSELVES should look after. Locusts? Call in the WB and IMF. HIV? Call in Pepfar and the US gavament. Drought and starvation? Call in FAO. Covid? Call in the WHO. A little economic shock? Punish the relatively rich!

This stupid dependency syndrome is what makes some here think landlords don't have rights. THAT'S A FERKING PRIVATE BUSINESS, not a socialist commune. Kama huwezi lipa toka na watoto wako mkakufie mbali.

And if we make - as the inept drunk is wont to do to please the clueless masses - landlords absorb the shocks for the rest of us, let supermarkets too fling open their doors for free. Food is a far more basic need than rent. And let hospitals not charge too. And matatus so that we can get to the free supermarkets to get the free food to go eat in our free homes. Let's see how far that will go......................

Ujinga kweli ni kipawa..............

Montecarlo

There have been stories like this on TV in the last three days; at least NTV which I watch.
But let me ask you, can the government be able to pay rent for everyone who claims they can't pay?

ION - Na huyo mama amebarikiwa kwa uzazi.
Developed nations can and are doing it....

nakujua

Nimeona. If Uhuru uses the taxes I pay to bail out such idiots then he should be deposed. Personally I cannot be bothered. Condoms na contraceptives are free yet unapata nugu inazaa watoto kumi eti ni baraka. Apambane na hali yake...
some humanity kidogo, I understand you slating the parent(s) but these are kids and its not fair that they start life disadvantaged in that way, sane societies dont throw kids to the dogs, at least some safety nets for kids.

Sori but I find this excuse defeatist. It gives the parents a through pass. If a parent cannot love their kids enough to plan for them, wakakufie mbali. Nature is never wasteful, and if you have read basic biology not all living things are meant to survive to adulthood................Darwin......

nakujua

Sori but I find this excuse defeatist. It gives the parents a through pass. If a parent cannot love their kids enough to plan for them, wakakufie mbali. Nature is never wasteful, and if you have read basic biology not all living things are meant to survive to adulthood................Darwin......
Its not about giving the parents a through pass, its about punishing the grownups but looking after the kids, I believe a society that neglects its young ones is a doomed society, even in biology, the animal kingdom some animals will go to great lengths to ensure as many of their young ones in a pride or pack or whatever grouping survive.

Darwin is mostly about the fittest, one thing to consider is that the rich kids might not necessarily be the fittest from a society view, for a sane society you protect all the young ones, because you just never know the future.

nakujua

He he he he he! Mimi hucheka sana. At the pain of sounding more like a condescending asshole, let me ask; if tenants don't pay their rents, landlords are supposed to eat those houses or what? Use their paint to pay loans? Feed their children hot air?

I am sori to say if this is what passes as the thinking of educated youth hii Kenya tuna shida sana. NIMESEMA NA NITASEMA; IF YOU ARE FERKING POOR THAT IS YOUR FERKING PROBLEM, ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE BRED LIKE A RAT AND HAVE 8 BRATS IN TOW. Harsh but real. Nobody, NO FERKING ANYBODY owes you a living. On the scale of things you can die tomorrow and nobody will miss you beyond two days so don't think you are that important to the human gene pool.

If you understand this basic premise, then you'll know that the primary duty of care is to yourself. YOURSELF. To expect others to step in every time you hit a challenge is stupid, and not least people who ave spent years saving and toiling to put up a few rentals (I am tempted to go tribal here but I won't)

Unfortunately. since colonialism low-IQ Africans have been conditioned to think of themselves as little children who EVERYBODY BUT THEMSELVES should look after. Locusts? Call in the WB and IMF. HIV? Call in Pepfar and the US gavament. Drought and starvation? Call in FAO. Covid? Call in the WHO. A little economic shock? Punish the relatively rich!

This stupid dependency syndrome is what makes some here think landlords don't have rights. THAT'S A FERKING PRIVATE BUSINESS, not a socialist commune. Kama huwezi lipa toka na watoto wako mkakufie mbali.

And if we make - as the inept drunk is wont to do to please the clueless masses - landlords absorb the shocks for the rest of us, let supermarkets too fling open their doors for free. Food is a far more basic need than rent. And let hospitals not charge too. And matatus so that we can get to the free supermarkets to get the free food to go eat in our free homes. Let's see how far that will go......................

Ujinga kweli ni kipawa..............
hapo i agree, for the biashara its absurd to expect some to sacrifice, the landlord or the matatu owner should not be expected to play a part in this good fight, especially when the taxes are still expected to be paid, and the supermarket does not recognize that 'heroism' as a form of payment.